Mental Ray renderfarm

Open discussion on or around SGI; software/hardware related posts should go in the appropriate subforum.
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
whiter
Posts: 975
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2003 2:02 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Mental Ray renderfarm

Unread postby whiter » Mon Jul 21, 2003 2:54 am

Cool!
I have been dreaming about this since I was 15 years old: My own Mental Ray renderfarm.

And now I finaly have it!!!!!

Code: Select all

$ /usr/Softimage/Soft3D_4.0/mental_ray/bin/ray2.sh -verbose on test.mi

MAIN  .0 info : mental ray, version 2.1.47.51
(...)
MSG  0.1 info : render thread 1 starting
MSG  0.0 info : reading hosts file ./.rayhosts
MSG  0.0 info : connecting host ozzy:7002
MSG  0.0 info : connecting host amelie:7002
MSG  0.0 info : connected ozzy:7002 as host 1
MSG  0.0 info : connected amelie:7002 as host 2
MSG  0.0 info : total number of hosts:  3
MSG  0.0 info : total number of cpus :  4
(...)
RC   0.0 progr:  95.2%  from   2.0   amelie
RC   0.0 progr:  96.0%  from   1.0   ozzy
RC   0.0 progr:  96.3%  from   0.1   miriel
RC   0.0 progr:  96.7%  from   0.0   miriel
RC   0.0 progr:  97.1%  from   0.1   miriel
RC   0.0 progr:  97.5%  from   2.0   amelie
(...)


This is sooooo neat.

amelie: Indigo2 r10000 195MHz 768MB
ozzy: Octane r12000 300MHz 1.5GB
miriel: Origin200 dual r12000 270MHz 512MB

A dream come true :)))

Just HAD to share this with the world :)))
Shall I describe it to you? Or do you want me to get you a box?

mr_ripley
Posts: 87
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2003 5:05 am
Location: UK

Unread postby mr_ripley » Mon Jul 21, 2003 4:17 am

I too have such a dream.

Tell me, are you using the distributed rendering system or bog standard net rendering? I've never tried distributed rendering and am curious as to how it works in a mixed CPU-speed environment.

Cheers

-Tom

User avatar
whiter
Posts: 975
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2003 2:02 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Unread postby whiter » Mon Jul 21, 2003 7:17 am

bog ?
I'm afraid I don't understand what you are trying to say.

I just have Mental Ray set up to use other systems on the network too. Don't think there are any other network related config options for it.

The render slaves can be of any kind you like (including OS, architecture, speed, etcetera).
Shall I describe it to you? Or do you want me to get you a box?

mr_ripley
Posts: 87
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2003 5:05 am
Location: UK

Unread postby mr_ripley » Mon Jul 21, 2003 11:13 am

oops, sorry bog-standard is a British term. I forgot. What I meant by bog-standard net rendering is when all the machines on the network render a frame of an animation individually. This is only good if your actually rendering an animation of course and doesn't work at all for single images. Distributed rendering on the other hand is when the image itself is split up into different processes and split across the network.

I'm just wondering how mental ray does it?

shrek
Posts: 260
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2003 1:32 pm
Location: Vleuten, The Netherlands
Contact:

Unread postby shrek » Mon Jul 21, 2003 12:16 pm

Mental ray with softimage can do both. You can ask start the Softimage Mental Ray rendering proces by starting it on several machines by yourself this will make every instance render one frame and then continue with the next frame that is not being rendered and hasn't been rendered yet.
Second option is to create a .rayhost file where you place al the systems that can render for you. Mental Ray normally renders the image in small tiles of the image. Every processor listed in the rayhost file will be assigned to rendere one tile.

I hope you understand.

mr_ripley
Posts: 87
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2003 5:05 am
Location: UK

Unread postby mr_ripley » Mon Jul 21, 2003 1:56 pm

Yep, I understand perfectly, thanks for clearing that up forme :)

Now I have a week off work and some idle time I think it's time to get my little renderfarm up and running.

Cheers

User avatar
Onyx_RE2
Posts: 120
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2003 4:55 pm
Location: Long Island, NY

Unread postby Onyx_RE2 » Mon Jul 21, 2003 6:13 pm

Congratulations on setting up your rendering farm!!! :D
Please be sure to share some of your artwork from your endeavor!!
I sure would like to see it.

User avatar
whiter
Posts: 975
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2003 2:02 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Unread postby whiter » Sat Jul 26, 2003 1:51 pm

Oh.
I am using the .rayhost file ofcourse so all systems work on the same frame at once.
Pretty neat.

Whenever I am great enough to realy make something cool I'll post it ofcourse. Which can take a while since I work more than fulltime as a software engineer. :))
Shall I describe it to you? Or do you want me to get you a box?

mr_ripley
Posts: 87
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2003 5:05 am
Location: UK

Unread postby mr_ripley » Sun Jul 27, 2003 6:43 am

Yeah, I got this working the other day. I was surprised how easy it is to set up. The only problem is that for basic scenes it can actually be a lot slower rendering accross the network than using a single CPU, even on an I2 r10k.

shrek
Posts: 260
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2003 1:32 pm
Location: Vleuten, The Netherlands
Contact:

Unread postby shrek » Mon Jul 28, 2003 1:52 am

Yes that's correct. Mental ray needs to build a description file about the scene that is send to all nodes that are going to render. Somehow it doens't need to build this file when rendering on the local CPU only.
So for animations its better to have each CPU render it's own frame.
I have a client with a total config of 16 195MHz R10k and he uses seperate jobs for rendering with softimage instead of using .rayhosts

mr_ripley
Posts: 87
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2003 5:05 am
Location: UK

Unread postby mr_ripley » Mon Jul 28, 2003 2:34 am

I think if your rendering from Softimage then the scene discription file is not needed. Avid has obviously spent a lot of time integrating MR into Softimage. I've used MR with 3DSMAX though, and it has to make the scene file every time you hit the render button. This can take quite a while even on a speedy PC.


Return to “SGI: Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest