Question about ram and swap

Open discussion on or around SGI; software/hardware related posts should go in the appropriate subforum.
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
squeen
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2933
Joined: Fri May 09, 2003 6:10 am
Location: Maryland, USA

Unread postby squeen » Mon Jun 30, 2003 1:58 pm

Me too! Me too!

Code: Select all

RIX64 holmesIV  6.5 IP30        load averages: 0.08 0.05 0.04                    16:48:43
83 processes:  80 sleeping, 2 zombie, 1 running
2 CPUs: 98.8% idle,  0.5% usr,  0.5% ker,  0.0% wait,  0.0% xbrk,  0.2% intr
Memory: 3584M max, 3380M avail, 2596M free, 1152M swap, 1152M free swap


Should I have 6.2 GB of swap? :shock:

vegac
Posts: 745
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 11:34 am
Contact:

Unread postby vegac » Mon Jun 30, 2003 2:04 pm

Yes, yes you should :)

Really now, if you can afford 3+ gigs of ram you can't say you can't afford a cheapo 9gig drive to dedicate to swap :)

Though to be fair, you still need SOME swap, but I don't think the 2x ram thing applies to you :)

Maybe 256mb or 512mb or something to be safe, but definately don't need 6gigs...

User avatar
somecodemonkey
Posts: 277
Joined: Mon May 19, 2003 12:51 pm
Location: Oxford UK
Contact:

Unread postby somecodemonkey » Tue Jul 01, 2003 1:46 am

looking at the stats its not using any of the swap anyway so doesn't seen you need more
1995: Real Audio released, allowing users to listen to halting bursts of static in real time.

User avatar
lisp
Posts: 274
Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2003 5:23 am
Location: England
Contact:

Unread postby lisp » Wed Jul 02, 2003 1:08 am

Code: Select all

IRIX64 topaz 6.5 IP30          load averages: 0.45 0.36 0.29           09:07:39
104 processes: 103 sleeping, 1 running
CPU: 79.5% idle, 18.0% usr,  2.4% ker,  0.0% wait,  0.0% xbrk,  0.0% intr
Memory: 512M max, 450M avail, 203M free, 128M swap, 126M free swap
--
lisa

User avatar
Shtoink
Posts: 839
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2003 1:46 am
Location: Port Orchard, WA

Unread postby Shtoink » Wed Jul 02, 2003 1:49 am

So, if I am understadig this correctly, I should be OK with my swap set 128MB, right? I have 512MB of ram and it was set as default by IRIX. I'm not doing any compiling either, as I have not much room for all the dev stuff yet.


Return to “SGI: Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest