Trouble with power saver

Open discussion on or around SGI; software/hardware related posts should go in the appropriate subforum.
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
RageX
Donor
Donor
Posts: 490
Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2003 5:32 pm
Location: New York

Trouble with power saver

Unread postby RageX » Fri May 23, 2003 10:01 pm

I have an Indy running IRIX 6.5.13m and a GDM17E21 monitor with a 13w3 to HD15 cable. For some reason IRIX does not recognize this monitor as supporting power save.

My previous monitor was a GDM17E11 and it went into power save mode just fine.

The cable should be fine, I've used it with another Indy and a GDM5021PT monitor as power save worked fine.

Anyone have any ideas on how to get my monitor to go to sleep?

User avatar
nekonoko
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8145
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 1:31 am
Location: Pleasanton, California
Contact:

Re: Trouble with power saver

Unread postby nekonoko » Sat May 24, 2003 1:22 am

My Philips 200P3 TFT doesn't sleep either; not sure if the 13W3 -> HD15 adapter doesn't pass the signal or if it's something else. It would be nice if it worked though. Does power save work for anyone else using a non-SGI display?
Twitter: @neko_no_ko
IRIX Release 4.0.5 IP12 Version 06151813 System V
Copyright 1987-1992 Silicon Graphics, Inc.
All Rights Reserved.

SparcV
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu May 22, 2003 5:31 am
Location: Providence, RI
Contact:

Unread postby SparcV » Sat May 24, 2003 9:54 am

I have functioning power saving on both my SGI's. My Octane is attached to a Mitsubishi Diamond Pro 2070sb using a 13w3 to hd15 adapter and it goes to sleep. My O2 is attached to a Dell P1110 and it sleeps fine too.

User avatar
RageX
Donor
Donor
Posts: 490
Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2003 5:32 pm
Location: New York

Re: Trouble with power saver

Unread postby RageX » Sat May 24, 2003 1:36 pm

nekonoko wrote:My Philips 200P3 TFT doesn't sleep either; not sure if the 13W3 -> HD15 adapter doesn't pass the signal or if it's something else. It would be nice if it worked though. Does power save work for anyone else using a non-SGI display?

About the only thing I can think of trying is to switch to using a 13W3->4/5BNC, which is surprisingly expensive. BTW all the monitors I have are SGI badged Sonys which do support power save, so this is very frustrating.

I was under the impression that when power saving all that happens is the video signal is just killed and the monitor acts accordingly. Not sure how the computer detects that power save is supported though.


Return to “SGI: Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest