upgrade to dual processor?

Open discussion on or around SGI; software/hardware related posts should go in the appropriate subforum.
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
SparcV
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu May 22, 2003 5:31 am
Location: Providence, RI
Contact:

upgrade to dual processor?

Unread postby SparcV » Fri May 23, 2003 5:31 pm

Would I notice any difference in overall speed of my Octane if I were to upgrade it to a Dual 10k? Or would only apps that are written for dual cpus notice a speed up. Right now I only use my Octane for web browsing, playing mp3's and trying to compile software.

vegac
Posts: 745
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 11:34 am
Contact:

Unread postby vegac » Fri May 23, 2003 7:40 pm

Compiling software might speed up a bit...

Other than that, well, doing MORE than one of those things at once and you'll notice a difference. So if you were listening to mp3's while surfing the web because you're bored waiting for something to finish compile, you'll still be doing ok...

In general things should feel more responsive, because the interface isn't fighting with that web browser that's fighting with your mp3 player all at the same time...

User avatar
lisp
Posts: 274
Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2003 5:23 am
Location: England
Contact:

Unread postby lisp » Sat May 24, 2003 12:15 pm

vegac wrote:In general things should feel more responsive, because the interface isn't fighting with that web browser that's fighting with your mp3 player all at the same time...


This is what I use my Indy for - MP3 playing and as a remote terminal for the Octane.

Teleffect++++
--
lisa

SparcV
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu May 22, 2003 5:31 am
Location: Providence, RI
Contact:

Unread postby SparcV » Fri May 30, 2003 8:01 am

Ok, I bought a dual R10k 195 cpu module for my Octane. I should have it today. The question I have is: Do I have to reinstall irix to be able to use the second cpu?

User avatar
squeen
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2933
Joined: Fri May 09, 2003 6:10 am
Location: Maryland, USA

dual CPUs

Unread postby squeen » Fri May 30, 2003 8:13 am

I just upgraded my Octane2 from dual 400Mhz to dual 600Mhz. The SGI support tech then
took my old 400's an put them straight into a single CPU Octane. No OS changes required.
(I actually had a CPU go down on a dual Octane system once...WITHOUT CRASHING THE OS!).

In general, I would say there is a big difference in overall system responsiveness when a second CPU is added, but most application don't make use of the multiprocessing.
I am trying now to rewrite some of my simulations to take advantage of multiple CPUs and it's a tricky business. Look into OpenMP as a quick means of recompiling to take advantage of parallelization.

User avatar
semi-fly
Posts: 786
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 5:29 am
Location: Ypsitucky, MI
Contact:

Re: dual CPUs

Unread postby semi-fly » Fri May 30, 2003 10:07 am

squeen wrote:I actually had a CPU go down on a dual Octane system once...WITHOUT CRASHING THE OS!


That's pretty amazing. :shock:

DaJuice
Posts: 159
Joined: Fri May 09, 2003 11:51 pm
Location: Arizona

Unread postby DaJuice » Fri May 30, 2003 1:08 pm

I just upgraded my Octane2 from dual 400Mhz to dual 600Mhz.


Bastard! :lol:

User avatar
squeen
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2933
Joined: Fri May 09, 2003 6:10 am
Location: Maryland, USA

I wish...

Unread postby squeen » Fri May 30, 2003 1:45 pm

my = @work :!:

DaJuice
Posts: 159
Joined: Fri May 09, 2003 11:51 pm
Location: Arizona

Unread postby DaJuice » Fri May 30, 2003 11:10 pm

Ah, too bad.
I wouldn't mind swapping my 195mhz R10K for one of those. How much did the upgrade cost (not that I could afford it)?

SparcV
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu May 22, 2003 5:31 am
Location: Providence, RI
Contact:

Unread postby SparcV » Sat May 31, 2003 8:57 am

I got my dual 195Mhz R10k module and I installed it, I noticed right away the machine feels much more responsive, even Mozilla shows a big improvement.

User avatar
squeen
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2933
Joined: Fri May 09, 2003 6:10 am
Location: Maryland, USA

Cost of new CPUs

Unread postby squeen » Mon Jun 02, 2003 3:39 am

The dual 600Mhz CPU was about $7500 from SGI. You get a discount of $1000/CPU you
return. I believe dual 400Mhz CPU's (also very nice and noticably faster than the 300MHz) go
for $4500 at http://www.xsnet.com. Very expensive for the home hobbist; better to
watch ebay for a deal.

One note however, the 400MHz and 600Mhz require a Rev. J (?) heartchip in the motherboard
and can act flaky or not work at all on the eariler revisions.


Return to “SGI: Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest