How frequently you use your SGI (in 2017)?

Open discussion on or around SGI; software/hardware related posts should go in the appropriate subforum.
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.

How often you use your main SGI workstation?

Poll runs till Wed Dec 27, 2017 11:44 am

Daily for your work.
4
8%
Daily at home.
9
18%
Weekly.
13
26%
Monthly.
8
16%
Few times per year.
10
20%
Have not started it this year.
6
12%
 
Total votes: 50

User avatar
jirka
Donor
Donor
Posts: 211
Joined: Tue May 04, 2004 7:55 am
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: How frequently you use your SGI (in 2017)?

Unread postby jirka » Fri Sep 01, 2017 10:23 am

necron2600 wrote:

Code: Select all

ssh  -XC4c arcfour,blowfish-cbc -l usernamehere linuxhostnamehere "export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=\$PWD ; export LD_PRELOAD=xkb.so ; chromium-browser"



Thank you very much! I never played with ssh parameters (used just "ssh -CX") so it was my fault.

It's not exactly fast but on my O2 it's way better than the native Ff3! I use Intel Computes Stick as my Linux desktop (an Atom-based thing with 1 GB of RAM).

I only tried the Firefox and the LibreOffice. Both seemed to be usable. :D
:O2: :O2: :1600SW: :1600SW: :Indy: :Indy: :Indigo: :Indigo:

User avatar
vishnu
Donor
Donor
Posts: 3183
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 3:25 pm
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota USA

Re: How frequently you use your SGI (in 2017)?

Unread postby vishnu » Fri Sep 01, 2017 2:31 pm

I'm on the dillo developers mail list and traffic has slowed to almost nothing, I guess some people are still coding but the last release was in June 2015. Links is more active, two releases last year, but for reasons that defy logical explanation it looks like they've decided to give up completely on supporting Javascript/ECMAScript... :shock:
Project:
Temporarily lost at sea...
Plan:
World domination! Or something...

:Tezro: :Octane2:

diegel
Donor
Donor
Posts: 352
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 2:08 am
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Re: How frequently you use your SGI (in 2017)?

Unread postby diegel » Fri Sep 01, 2017 2:43 pm

vishnu wrote:logical explanation it looks like they've decided to give up completely on supporting Javascript/ECMAScript...

Javascript is and was low priority: https://www.dillo.org/Plans.html
:Tezro: :Fuel: :Octane2: :Octane: :Onyx2: :O2+: :O2: :Indy: :Indigo: :Cube:

User avatar
ClassicHasClass
Donor
Donor
Posts: 2097
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 7:12 pm
Location: Sunny So Cal
Contact:

Re: How frequently you use your SGI (in 2017)?

Unread postby ClassicHasClass » Fri Sep 01, 2017 5:37 pm

I guess there's always NetSurf to try porting.
smit happens.

:Fuel: bigred, 900MHz R16K, 4GB RAM, V12 DCD, 6.5.30
:Indy: indy, 150MHz R4400SC, 256MB RAM, XL24, 6.5.10
:Indigo2IMP: purplehaze, 175MHz R10000, Solid IMPACT
probably posted from Image bruce, Quad 2.5GHz PowerPC 970MP, 16GB RAM, Mac OS X 10.4.11
plus IBM POWER6 p520 * Apple Network Server 500 * RDI PrecisionBook * BeBox * Solbourne S3000 * Commodore 128 * many more...

User avatar
vishnu
Donor
Donor
Posts: 3183
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 3:25 pm
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota USA

Re: How frequently you use your SGI (in 2017)?

Unread postby vishnu » Fri Sep 01, 2017 8:44 pm

ClassicHasClass wrote:I guess there's always NetSurf to try porting.

According to their documentation their Javascript support is pretty alack too. :roll:

Apparently, the only homegrown browser that supports it is TenFourFox, guess I'll have to get me a Power Mac... 8-)
Project:
Temporarily lost at sea...
Plan:
World domination! Or something...

:Tezro: :Octane2:

User avatar
ClassicHasClass
Donor
Donor
Posts: 2097
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 7:12 pm
Location: Sunny So Cal
Contact:

Re: How frequently you use your SGI (in 2017)?

Unread postby ClassicHasClass » Fri Sep 01, 2017 8:53 pm

They don't really have a fully-fledged DOM, which is actually a bigger issue than simply running JavaScript, for which they were simply going to adopt Mozilla SpiderMonkey. This makes good sense since it runs just fine on architectures for which no JIT is defined (unlike V8).
smit happens.

:Fuel: bigred, 900MHz R16K, 4GB RAM, V12 DCD, 6.5.30
:Indy: indy, 150MHz R4400SC, 256MB RAM, XL24, 6.5.10
:Indigo2IMP: purplehaze, 175MHz R10000, Solid IMPACT
probably posted from Image bruce, Quad 2.5GHz PowerPC 970MP, 16GB RAM, Mac OS X 10.4.11
plus IBM POWER6 p520 * Apple Network Server 500 * RDI PrecisionBook * BeBox * Solbourne S3000 * Commodore 128 * many more...

User avatar
jodys
Donor
Donor
Posts: 129
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 1:33 am
Location: Denver, CO

Re: How frequently you use your SGI (in 2017)?

Unread postby jodys » Sat Sep 02, 2017 9:51 am

I'm powering up a SGI every couple of months. I think I used an SGI almost daily from 2001 to 2009. Last time I booted up the Octane I tried to do some C programming. I ended up being pretty frustrated getting a recent version of vim running with my various plugins as well as getting vim to work with xwsh (I've simply forgotten all of my skills about getting termcap/terminfo working). I ended up running vim on a linux machine and sharing the results via NFS, then running the compiler on the SGI. That didn't feel too good.

Oddly the most recent failure was my LCD panel that supported SOG. I'm very interested to see if upscaling a VGA-HDMI adapter looks good on the newer panel (Dell UltraSharp U2515H) that I bought as a replacement. I'd be pretty stoked if 1280x1024 from the Indy was usable.

This is making me remember that I really need to get good backup images of all the machines.
:Octane2: :Indy: :O2: :O2: :O3x0: :Indigo2IMP:

User avatar
HurricaneJames
Posts: 103
Joined: Thu Jul 06, 2017 10:08 pm
Location: Santa Clara, CA

Re: How frequently you use your SGI (in 2017)?

Unread postby HurricaneJames » Sat Sep 02, 2017 3:45 pm

I have the Teorder VGA to HDMI upscaler. It works, but the colors a bit bit washed out and it stretches the 4:3 display to fit my 16:10 monitor.
:320: :1600SW: :O2: :1600SW: :Octane: :Octane: Image

User avatar
spiroyster
Donor
Donor
Posts: 145
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 8:24 am
Location: Somerset, UK

Re: How frequently you use your SGI (in 2017)?

Unread postby spiroyster » Sun Sep 03, 2017 6:30 am

My Irix boxen have sadly been sat dormant for the last 4 years :(. My use for them ran out back in 2009 ish :( :(. The defib is out on my VW's (540/320), unfortunately not a quick revival given current 'life shite' going on, o.0 ... as sure as I am that portions of the ram will prematurely die... reanimation will occur! :lol:

devv
Posts: 135
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2012 6:04 pm

Re: How frequently you use your SGI (in 2017)?

Unread postby devv » Sun Sep 03, 2017 6:55 am

I ended up using a Tezro rarely because of the following:

1) The noise while running is too loud to keep the machine anywhere near me, and it's too heavy so I can't keep it around in a visible place even when turned off
2) The software support for IRIX simply didn't keep the pace and many projects dropped support for it
3) I tried using OpenBSD on it, and while it does support multiprocessor mode, versions 6.0 and 6.1 just don't boot the installer successfully, so the last OpenBSD that works (at least without too much trouble) is OpenBSD 5.9
oOoO :Tezro: oOoO

User avatar
necron2600
Posts: 275
Joined: Tue May 26, 2015 10:38 pm
Location: Boston

Re: How frequently you use your SGI (in 2017)?

Unread postby necron2600 » Sun Sep 03, 2017 8:00 pm

jirka:
It's not exactly fast but on my O2 it's way better than the native Ff3! I use Intel Computes Stick as my Linux desktop (an Atom-based thing with 1 GB of RAM).


I also use an Intel Compute Stick.. I consider it a type of pseudo 'Intel Co-Processor' for my SGI Octane. (like how SUN had SUN PCI devices to run full Intel based PCs on SPARC hardware).

Note: Intel Compute Stick's WIFI stinks. Running apps remotely to it over WIFI was quite sluggish for me. I ended up using a USB-Ethernet adapter and remote applications perform a lot better that way.

User avatar
Dodoid
Posts: 635
Joined: Mon Jul 04, 2016 1:36 pm
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Contact:

Re: How frequently you use your SGI (in 2017)?

Unread postby Dodoid » Sun Sep 03, 2017 9:41 pm

Someday I would like to build an ODROID-XU4S onto an Alteon gigabit ethernet card and power it off the PCI so that I could build a true accelerator card for any PCI-enabled SGI. Would probably need a 3D printed cooling shroud and a small fan to cool the network card and ODROID, but I can do that. Slot into an O2 or Octane and instantly create a powerful, modern SGI that can do anything a modern computer can.

Heh, I should experiment with that. I would love to use an O2 as a daily driver...
:Onyx: :O2000: :Fuel: :Octane: :Octane: :Octane: :O2: :O2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indy: :Indy:
and a small army of Image

User avatar
jirka
Donor
Donor
Posts: 211
Joined: Tue May 04, 2004 7:55 am
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: How frequently you use your SGI (in 2017)?

Unread postby jirka » Mon Sep 04, 2017 11:03 am

necron2600 wrote:Note: Intel Compute Stick's WIFI stinks. Running apps remotely to it over WIFI was quite sluggish for me. I ended up using a USB-Ethernet adapter and remote applications perform a lot better that way.


I use USB-Ethernet adapter from, too (actually, I didn't tried to use the WiFi at all).
:O2: :O2: :1600SW: :1600SW: :Indy: :Indy: :Indigo: :Indigo:

User avatar
vishnu
Donor
Donor
Posts: 3183
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 3:25 pm
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota USA

Re: How frequently you use your SGI (in 2017)?

Unread postby vishnu » Tue Sep 05, 2017 11:38 am

jirka wrote:I use USB-Ethernet adapter from, too (actually, I didn't tried to use the WiFi at all).


I don't use WiFi either, my home LAN is completely ethernet. I do have a WiFi antenna pointed out my second story window though, by which I can surf the net using any one of my clueless neighbor's WiFi networks... 8-)
Project:
Temporarily lost at sea...
Plan:
World domination! Or something...

:Tezro: :Octane2:

User avatar
uunix
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1808
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 12:48 pm
Location: Stourbridge / England / UK

Re: How frequently you use your SGI (in 2017)?

Unread postby uunix » Tue Sep 05, 2017 12:36 pm

vishnu wrote:
jirka wrote:I use USB-Ethernet adapter from, too (actually, I didn't tried to use the WiFi at all).


I don't use WiFi either, my home LAN is completely ethernet. I do have a WiFi antenna pointed out my second story window though, by which I can surf the net using any one of my clueless neighbor's WiFi networks... 8-)

Or the clued-ish up ones if you set your SID to someone else's and capture the attempted login attempts.. ;)
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Hey Ho! Pip & Dandy!
:Octane2: :O2: :Indigo: :Indy:
-----------------------------------------------------------------------


Return to “SGI: Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest