How do you get your SGI machines?

Open discussion on or around SGI; software/hardware related posts should go in the appropriate subforum.
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
vishnu
Donor
Donor
Posts: 3174
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 3:25 pm
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota USA

Re: How do you get your SGI machines?

Unread postby vishnu » Tue Jul 26, 2016 5:39 pm

josehill wrote:
vishnu wrote:
Dodoid wrote:Could they be crossbred?

Ack! My Sun Blade 2500 and my Tezro are sitting on the same desk, I'd better separate them, if they crossbreed the Universe could implode!

Even today, that kind of behavior is illegal in some jurisdictions! :mrgreen:

My Octane2 and my Linux box are sitting on the same desk too, I should be cuffed and stuffed, cuch cuch... :twisted:
Attachments
s-l300.jpg
s-l300.jpg (15.32 KiB) Viewed 669 times
Project:
Temporarily lost at sea...
Plan:
World domination! Or something...

:Tezro: :Octane2:

User avatar
Dodoid
Posts: 602
Joined: Mon Jul 04, 2016 1:36 pm
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Contact:

Re: How do you get your SGI machines?

Unread postby Dodoid » Tue Jul 26, 2016 7:59 pm

josehill wrote:
vishnu wrote:
Dodoid wrote:Could they be crossbred?

Ack! My Sun Blade 2500 and my Tezro are sitting on the same desk, I'd better separate them, if they crossbreed the Universe could implode!

Even today, that kind of behavior is illegal in some jurisdictions! :mrgreen:


If it has the potential to cause universe implosion, those jurisdictions are probably correct.
:Onyx: :O2000: :Fuel: :Octane: :Octane: :Octane: :O2: :O2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indy: :Indy:
and a small army of Image

User avatar
josehill
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3303
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 9:53 pm
Location: New England, USA
Contact:

Re: How do you get your SGI machines?

Unread postby josehill » Tue Jul 26, 2016 8:21 pm

vishnu wrote:My Octane2 and my Linux box are sitting on the same desk too, I should be cuffed and stuffed, cuch cuch... :twisted:

Hey, some people go as far as loading Linux on their Octanes, but if we follow this thread down that road, pretty soon someone will invoke Godwin's law, so maybe we should steer back to the OP's topic! :lol:

User avatar
Krokodil
Donor
Donor
Posts: 477
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2015 2:32 pm
Location: The House of Particular Individuals

Re: How do you get your SGI machines?

Unread postby Krokodil » Tue Jul 26, 2016 10:29 pm

Ebay.

SGI O2 - came from some guy in Saskatchewan who used it as his workstation at home. It appeared to be in his basement in the pictures.

SGI Octane - Came from some IT recycling company in Washington state. No idea what it's purpose was.

SGI Octane2 - Came from Surrey, British Columbia. It was formerly the workstation of a company called Rainmaker Entertainment. Apparently it had been sitting in storage for 7 years before I got it.
:Octane2: - :O2: - :Octane: - :Indigo2IMP:

User avatar
Dodoid
Posts: 602
Joined: Mon Jul 04, 2016 1:36 pm
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Contact:

Re: How do you get your SGI machines?

Unread postby Dodoid » Tue Jul 26, 2016 10:31 pm

Krokodil wrote:Ebay.

SGI O2 - came from some guy in Saskatchewan who used it as his workstation at home. It appeared to be in his basement in the pictures.

SGI Octane - Came from some IT recycling company in Washington state. No idea what it's purpose was.

SGI Octane2 - Came from Surrey, British Columbia. It was formerly the workstation of a company called Rainmaker Entertainment. Apparently it had been sitting in storage for 7 years before I got it.


Are you Canadian? Canadian here.
:Onyx: :O2000: :Fuel: :Octane: :Octane: :Octane: :O2: :O2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indy: :Indy:
and a small army of Image

User avatar
Krokodil
Donor
Donor
Posts: 477
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2015 2:32 pm
Location: The House of Particular Individuals

Re: How do you get your SGI machines?

Unread postby Krokodil » Tue Jul 26, 2016 10:35 pm

Dodoid wrote:
Krokodil wrote:Ebay.

SGI O2 - came from some guy in Saskatchewan who used it as his workstation at home. It appeared to be in his basement in the pictures.

SGI Octane - Came from some IT recycling company in Washington state. No idea what it's purpose was.

SGI Octane2 - Came from Surrey, British Columbia. It was formerly the workstation of a company called Rainmaker Entertainment. Apparently it had been sitting in storage for 7 years before I got it.


Are you Canadian? Canadian here.


Yes sir!.

Had to ship those 2 Octanes across the continent to Ontario. Not cheap. But with the acquisition of the Octane2, I see no need to get anymore SGI systems. I have enough computers around at the moment.
:Octane2: - :O2: - :Octane: - :Indigo2IMP:

User avatar
Trippynet
Donor
Donor
Posts: 783
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2013 6:22 am
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland, UK

Re: How do you get your SGI machines?

Unread postby Trippynet » Wed Jul 27, 2016 6:11 am

Dodoid wrote:Could they be crossbred?


Absolutely! This happened back in the late 90s when an SGI engineer accidentally left an O2 and a PC on the same desk. The next day when he came in, the Visual Workstation had been born...
Systems in use:
:Indigo2IMP: - Nitrogen: R10000 195MHz CPU, 384MB RAM, SolidIMPACT Graphics, 36GB 15k HDD & 300GB 10k HDD, 100Mb/s NIC, New/quiet fans, IRIX 6.5.22
:Fuel: - Lithium: R14000 600MHz CPU, 4GB RAM, V10 Graphics, 72GB 15k HDD & 300GB 10k HDD, 1Gb/s NIC, New/quiet fans, IRIX 6.5.30
Other system in storage: :O2: R5000 200MHz, 224MB RAM, 72GB 15k HDD, PSU fan mod, IRIX 6.5.30

User avatar
smj
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1661
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 7:54 pm
Location: Berkeley, CA, USA, NA, Earth, Sol
Contact:

Re: How do you get your SGI machines?

Unread postby smj » Wed Jul 27, 2016 12:46 pm

Krokodil wrote:... It was formerly the workstation of a company called Rainmaker Entertainment.

Hmm, from the folks who made ReBoot (before they renamed from Mainframe Entertainment). Cool, though not as cool as Pentium's autographed Indigo... :D
Then? :IRIS3130: ... Now? :O3x02L: :A3504L:- :A3502L: :1600SW:+MLA :Fuel: :Octane2: :Octane: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: ... Other: DEC :BA213: :BA123: Sun, DG AViiON, NeXT :Cube:

User avatar
Krokodil
Donor
Donor
Posts: 477
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2015 2:32 pm
Location: The House of Particular Individuals

Re: How do you get your SGI machines?

Unread postby Krokodil » Wed Jul 27, 2016 1:10 pm

smj wrote:
Krokodil wrote:... It was formerly the workstation of a company called Rainmaker Entertainment.

Hmm, from the folks who made ReBoot (before they renamed from Mainframe Entertainment). Cool, though not as cool as Pentium's autographed Indigo... :D


Yes, Reboot is on the list of shows produced by that company. I do remember that show from the 90's as well.

It appears they made that Weirdos show that used to be on Teletoon (Canada) in the early 2000's as well. Probably explains why it had some resemblance to Reboot.

They also apparently made Popeye's Voyage: The Quest for Pappy. It's funny cause I remember seeing that on TV right around Christmas of 2004. Who knows maybe my Octane2 had some role in its creation.
Last edited by Krokodil on Wed Jul 27, 2016 1:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.
:Octane2: - :O2: - :Octane: - :Indigo2IMP:

User avatar
uunix
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1793
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 12:48 pm
Location: Stourbridge / England / UK

Re: How do you get your SGI machines?

Unread postby uunix » Wed Jul 27, 2016 1:16 pm

Now I was going to ask.. "Anyone know what Max Headroom was produced on/using?" but then I looked it up..

Turns out the only computer graphics (produced on an Amiga) was the back ground.. Max was a bloke in latex!!!
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Hey Ho! Pip & Dandy!
:Octane2: :O2: :Indigo: :Indy:
-----------------------------------------------------------------------

armanox
Posts: 206
Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2014 9:31 pm
Location: Baltimore, MD, USA

Re: How do you get your SGI machines?

Unread postby armanox » Wed Jul 27, 2016 1:21 pm

All of the ones I have came from a Ham Radio festival (that is no longer held). The O2 that I purchased never powered on, and has sat in my room ever since. I do not remember what I spent on it. The Octanes I got both for $30 so that the owner didn't have to carry them back to the car.

I miss the ones we had in the Linux User's Group at college - they were donated by NASA. Sadly, I think the school tossed all of the equipment after the group was disbanded without giving the former members any access (quite a bit was personal equipment in there, but at this point, aside from the SGI stuff not to much in there would even be useful anymore).
"Apollo was astonished, Dionysus thought me mad."
:Octane: :Octane: :O2:

User avatar
spiroyster
Donor
Donor
Posts: 145
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 8:24 am
Location: Somerset, UK

Re: How do you get your SGI machines?

Unread postby spiroyster » Wed Jul 27, 2016 2:07 pm

smj wrote:Cool, though not as cool as Pentium's autographed Indigo... :D

Isn't there a special Spielberg Indigo floating around too. 1 of 1... sgifanatic?

uunix wrote:Max was a bloke in latex!!!

Regarded by many as the inspiration for Jim Carreys on screen persona in various movies. For some reason, I now need a Pepsi.

While we are talking about obtaining sgi's, I was heavily into Maya (2.5 - 4, approx. 2000) always wanted a purple indigo2, got an sgi 320 from liquidated stock about 2002 (so roughly the EOL of the visual workstation, maybe a year after EOL in fact). I had so much more software for x86 (including maya) at the time, so I was probably one of the very few non-MIPS sgi advocates :oops: . Later got my first programming job, first task, porting some irix software to windows. They let me keep the o2 used for development which was one of the last sgi machines they had (the software house used to be an sgi "Value Added Reseller", supplying both the specialised CAD software and the workstations to run it). Then finally got an *almost* maxed out Octane (dual R12K/300) in 2009 from ebay for about £40. Software pre-loaded on it. :)

User avatar
SPSDOD
Donor
Donor
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2010 6:43 pm
Location: Birmingham, AL
Contact:

Re: How do you get your SGI machines?

Unread postby SPSDOD » Wed Jul 27, 2016 3:10 pm

Dodoid wrote:How do you get your SGI machines?

I got my Irises (like Macs I guess :) ) from eBay and university surplus.
In the past five years my observation has been that the supply through both of those channels is diminishing. :|
ImageImageImageImageImageImageImage :Indigo2: :ChallengeL: :Indy: :Indy: :Indigo2IMP: :O2: :Octane:

devv
Posts: 133
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2012 6:04 pm

Re: How do you get your SGI machines?

Unread postby devv » Wed Jul 27, 2016 4:01 pm

1. Got my first SGI machine in 2008, it was a 2x400 Octane2 from a German Ebay auction for around 680 EUR.
2. Later also got a maxed out Indy + external Maxtor CD-Rom from the same Ebay for about 150 EUR.
3. Later got a mid-spec Indigo2, a low-spec Indy and SGI CRT from a local individual who was reselling surplus/decommissioned items. The Indigo had a Renault inventory number on it.
4. At some point also got another Indigo2, mid-specced but with a Floptical drive, don't remember from where or for how much.
5. Then got another 2x400 Octane1 from a local university, by giving an LCD in exchange for Octane. The university had received a donation of about 20 or 30 2x400 Octanes with CRTs and PCI cages from someone in England. The university didn't know what to do with SGIs though, so they kept the classroom set up and unused for a couple years, and then just moved everything downstairs to the basement into the garbage room, to be dumped to trash when the next truck comes in. I only managed to get that 1 Octane out of the whole lot.

This was the height of my collection, but in the period from 2012-2015 I sold all of it:

1. Sold the Octane1, maxed-out Indy, Indigo2 and CD-Rom on Ebay
2. Gave the other Indigo2 and low-spec Indy to a local collector
3. Sold Octane2 but it broke during transport, I lost the item and money

And finally in 2016 purchased a 4x800 Tezro on Ebay after like 4 years of looking for an acceptably priced one. That's my only SGI machine now.
oOoO :Tezro: oOoO

User avatar
Krokodil
Donor
Donor
Posts: 477
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2015 2:32 pm
Location: The House of Particular Individuals

Re: How do you get your SGI machines?

Unread postby Krokodil » Fri Jul 29, 2016 12:40 pm

devv wrote:3. Sold Octane2 but it broke during transport, I lost the item and money


It broke? Although I can't say for sure in this case it is a common scam tactic on fleabay.
:Octane2: - :O2: - :Octane: - :Indigo2IMP:


Return to “SGI: Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest