Should I take the dive?

Open discussion on or around SGI; software/hardware related posts should go in the appropriate subforum.
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
GIJoe
Posts: 898
Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2003 11:44 am
Location: Germany

Re: Should I take the dive?

Unread postby GIJoe » Sun Feb 14, 2016 11:24 am

vishnu wrote:I honestly don't find the fans in my unmodified octane2 to be that loud, though it's entirely possible that the reason why is that my hearing has been irrevocably damaged by my lifelong loud rock 'n roll obsession... :)


must be. mine always sounded like a vacuum cleaner on a low power setting. and that was with fastfan=off...
fit for the server room perhaps but not the home office.

should have gotten me some of that rock'n roll obsession from the sounds of it. ;)

User avatar
Krokodil
Donor
Donor
Posts: 478
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2015 2:32 pm
Location: The House of Particular Individuals

Re: Should I take the dive?

Unread postby Krokodil » Sun Feb 14, 2016 5:48 pm

GIJoe wrote:
vishnu wrote:I honestly don't find the fans in my unmodified octane2 to be that loud, though it's entirely possible that the reason why is that my hearing has been irrevocably damaged by my lifelong loud rock 'n roll obsession... :)


must be. mine always sounded like a vacuum cleaner on a low power setting. and that was with fastfan=off...
fit for the server room perhaps but not the home office.

should have gotten me some of that rock'n roll obsession from the sounds of it. ;)


Mine is moderately annoying, but my ears have acclimatized to it.
:Octane2: - :O2: - :Octane: - :Indigo2IMP:

User avatar
foetz
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6590
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2003 4:34 am
Contact:

Re: Should I take the dive?

Unread postby foetz » Sun Feb 14, 2016 6:10 pm

i could never relate to all the fuzz about noise. these things are real machines and those you usually hear; some might even say it's expected. same as if you would complain about a lamborghini being too loud :P

User avatar
vishnu
Donor
Donor
Posts: 3189
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 3:25 pm
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota USA

Re: Should I take the dive?

Unread postby vishnu » Sun Feb 14, 2016 11:21 pm

I have pretty bad tinnitus in both ears which I don't hear when my computers are on because they drown it out, so really the white noise from the fans is a relief for me. You kids out there; be careful with the volume levels on your headphones, you don't want to end up like this old fart! :lol:
Project:
Temporarily lost at sea...
Plan:
World domination! Or something...

:Tezro: :Octane2:

gijoe77
Posts: 242
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2003 2:20 pm
Location: NJ

Re: Should I take the dive?

Unread postby gijoe77 » Wed Feb 17, 2016 2:33 am

I would like to chime in - you can't go wrong with a maxed octane2, fuel or Tezro - maxed octane2 might be the easiest and cheapest to get (as opposed to maxed tezro or fuel). I would recommend a Tezro (V12, quad cpu), followed by maxed octane2(2x600mhz, V12) and last a fuel. I wouldn't consider anything less (indy, indigo2, o2). I suppose if you stumble across an Onyx system (it happens) that might be something else, but I don't have any insight into the big iron setups and how they rank compared to the workstations.

I wont repeat what others have said, but one point to keep in mind is that entire movies have been made on SGI's with the software mentioned so really great work is possible with some patience. I completely suck at 3d and video editing/compositing, but I putz around on SGI's just for fun, I Can't speak for using these things for a living.

ajw99uk
Posts: 261
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 4:59 am
Location: Yorkshire, UK

Re: Should I take the dive?

Unread postby ajw99uk » Tue Feb 23, 2016 6:13 am

IAMNOTDEFECTIVE wrote:my Dad actually has a RiscPC SA as his main workstation to get things done... I guess that my family just like working on "legacy" hardware... XD

Is your Dad helped by the fact that the OS for RiscPC is still being developed, albeit largely as a by-product of work for newer machines, and so long as someone compiles an ARMv4 version new software is generally compatible? (subject to other hardware dependent aspects, of course) Or does he use legacy software to get things done? (nothing wrong with that!)

There are a few RISCOS users among Nekochaners - and ivelegacy, who puts up with RISCOS because a RiscPC with a 486 inside gives him a useful DOS platform .... ;)
Fuel; Indigo2; Inspiron 531 WinXP/Win10/debian-buster; Inspiron 4100 debian-buster; RiscPC Kinetic/448MB/RISCOS4.39; RPi B/256MB RISCOS5.23; RPi2 Raspbian-buster; A5000/33MHz/FPA11/8MB/RISCOS3.11; A540/25MHz/FPA10/16MB/RISCOS3.11 or RISCiX1.21


Return to “SGI: Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest