Octane FS Ebay

Open discussion on or around SGI; software/hardware related posts should go in the appropriate subforum.
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
ajw99uk
Posts: 253
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 4:59 am
Location: Yorkshire, UK

Re: Octane FS Ebay

Unread postby ajw99uk » Thu Jan 29, 2015 5:55 am

Dans34 wrote:if you do part it out put me down for the drive sled ;)


Bad news - when I went to collect it, the seller attempted to pull one drive out to show me the capacity and the sled-handle came off in his hand. So that drive is now mounted just using the rails - with a bust handle (and such a tight fit), not much else to grip onto, the metal strip (EMR suppression?) was slicing my thumbs so I took it and the front plastic off.

Not sure what will happen to the machine as a whole, but will keep you in mind in case the other sled becomes surplus. In the meantime, have you tried resting drives on CD cases?
Last edited by ajw99uk on Thu Jan 29, 2015 6:22 am, edited 1 time in total.
Fuel; Indigo2; Inspiron 531 WinXP/Win10/debian-buster; Inspiron 4100 debian-buster; RiscPC Kinetic/448MB/RISCOS4.39; RPi B/256MB RISCOS5.23; RPi2 Raspbian-buster; A5000/33MHz/FPA11/8MB/RISCOS3.11; A540/25MHz/FPA10/16MB/RISCOS3.11 or RISCiX1.21

ajw99uk
Posts: 253
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 4:59 am
Location: Yorkshire, UK

Re: Octane FS Ebay

Unread postby ajw99uk » Thu Jan 29, 2015 6:03 am

ajw99uk wrote:
chicaneuk wrote:Awesome result :) Hopefully it's a reasonably decent spec!

Not expecting much - the model number indicates 175MHz R10K i.e. lowest processor in an Octane.


But that was without knowing this Octane had come from the SGI office at Reading and had some upgrades. Fuller info in the hinv section in due course, but headlines are:

dual R10K at 250MHz though one of them is dead or dying
1152MB RAM
EMXI and SI graphics, though I've not yet had dual-screen output
OCO card in 4th XIO slot
2x 9GB drives, 7200rpm IBM models
IRIX 6.5.30

with a full XIO bay, the fans run fast and it gets very loud a few seconds into booting up (except last night, when the failing/failed CPU held up diagnostics for a while) - but it seems a waste to relegate it somewhere out of the way
Fuel; Indigo2; Inspiron 531 WinXP/Win10/debian-buster; Inspiron 4100 debian-buster; RiscPC Kinetic/448MB/RISCOS4.39; RPi B/256MB RISCOS5.23; RPi2 Raspbian-buster; A5000/33MHz/FPA11/8MB/RISCOS3.11; A540/25MHz/FPA10/16MB/RISCOS3.11 or RISCiX1.21

User avatar
vishnu
Donor
Donor
Posts: 3174
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 3:25 pm
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota USA

Re: Octane FS Ebay

Unread postby vishnu » Thu Jan 29, 2015 5:17 pm

Ian's got an Octane dual R10K 250 for sale for 125UKP, about halfway down the page: http://www.sgidepot.co.uk/sgidepot/partsspares.html#OCTANE
Project:
Temporarily lost at sea...
Plan:
World domination! Or something...

:Tezro: :Octane2:

ajw99uk
Posts: 253
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 4:59 am
Location: Yorkshire, UK

Re: Octane FS Ebay

Unread postby ajw99uk » Fri Jan 30, 2015 2:16 am

vishnu wrote:Ian's got an Octane dual R10K 250 for sale for 125UKP, about halfway down the page: http://www.sgidepot.co.uk/sgidepot/partsspares.html#OCTANE

Thanks for the reference. Without a specific application needing dual-CPU in mind I might be more tempted to spend less on a faster single CPU - but not spending anything for the time being: last might both CPUs came up first time and I got a picture from the SI card by tweaking /var/X11/xdm/Xservers (not dual-head yet, but a step in the right direction). I then pulled out the main module to see how the RAM is made up - all slots used so I guess 2x256, 4x128 and 2x64 (seems more likely that 4x256 and 4x32) - and hope re-seating the compression connectors will help.

Also noticed that the upper fan is loose, which probably does not help the noise level. Was gearing up to take the frontplane off to get at it when noticed how late it was ...
Fuel; Indigo2; Inspiron 531 WinXP/Win10/debian-buster; Inspiron 4100 debian-buster; RiscPC Kinetic/448MB/RISCOS4.39; RPi B/256MB RISCOS5.23; RPi2 Raspbian-buster; A5000/33MHz/FPA11/8MB/RISCOS3.11; A540/25MHz/FPA10/16MB/RISCOS3.11 or RISCiX1.21

User avatar
vishnu
Donor
Donor
Posts: 3174
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 3:25 pm
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota USA

Re: Octane FS Ebay

Unread postby vishnu » Fri Jan 30, 2015 12:07 pm

Nothing like a little delicate Octane surgery to stretch your day into the wee hours. How dusty was it inside the poor thing? Octanes are notorious dust collectors... :x
Project:
Temporarily lost at sea...
Plan:
World domination! Or something...

:Tezro: :Octane2:

ajw99uk
Posts: 253
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 4:59 am
Location: Yorkshire, UK

Re: Octane FS Ebay

Unread postby ajw99uk » Fri Jan 30, 2015 1:26 pm

vishnu wrote:How dusty was it inside the poor thing? Octanes are notorious dust collectors... :x

Not too bad - a fluffball stuck above one of the top grills, but most of the honeycomb looked clear - and the system module seemed pretty clean as well.

Only one R10K showing up tonight and the MXI has disappeared from hinv :(
Fuel; Indigo2; Inspiron 531 WinXP/Win10/debian-buster; Inspiron 4100 debian-buster; RiscPC Kinetic/448MB/RISCOS4.39; RPi B/256MB RISCOS5.23; RPi2 Raspbian-buster; A5000/33MHz/FPA11/8MB/RISCOS3.11; A540/25MHz/FPA10/16MB/RISCOS3.11 or RISCiX1.21

User avatar
vishnu
Donor
Donor
Posts: 3174
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 3:25 pm
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota USA

Re: Octane FS Ebay

Unread postby vishnu » Sat Jan 31, 2015 12:26 pm

How do the compression connectors look? Warped or oxidized? Any evidence of overheating, charred PC boards in the system unit or power supply? Non-Vpro graphics are pretty cheap these days when they show up on Ebay. Or you could pay the premium price for a brand new one at Ian's depot... ;)
Project:
Temporarily lost at sea...
Plan:
World domination! Or something...

:Tezro: :Octane2:

ajw99uk
Posts: 253
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 4:59 am
Location: Yorkshire, UK

Re: Octane FS Ebay

Unread postby ajw99uk » Thu Feb 19, 2015 5:15 am

vishnu wrote:How do the compression connectors look? Warped or oxidized? Any evidence of overheating, charred PC boards in the system unit or power supply? Non-Vpro graphics are pretty cheap these days when they show up on Ebay. Or you could pay the premium price for a brand new one at Ian's depot... ;)

Bit of a hiatus while I took over the study as a computer room, put up some shelves and added a second desk - more elbow room for tinkering, and s second monitor!

Compression connectors looked OK, though I've only photos for comparison never having seen one "live" before.

Current status:
graphics - after a bit of research on running dual head, I added a "+xinerama" option to the Xservers file and got a two-screen desktop. Unfortunately the LH half shows up on the monitor to the right, but that's just a matter of cabling (or playing with "-hw board= ..." options). So those CCs are OK!

CPUs - PROM hinv now shows two, but IRIX hinv shows one. Need to run the diagnostics again, but maybe it is a software/kernel/config issue? This machine once had a CADduo card in a cardcage, I am sure - there is a "Xservers.2key" file which would have configured the two heads for two kbd/mouse inputs (/dev/input and /dev/input1). Since CADduo was intended for dual-CPU machines, I am wondering if there is some legacy configuration that I need to clean out in the absence of the CADduo card to reinstate normal "single-seat" operation, or perhaps I should create a new kernel file (though that might not help if IRIX can only see one CPU - is there a "force 2-cpus" switch?). This may be a red herring - AIUI CADduo did not dedicate one CPU to each user - so other ideas welcome. Does PROM hinv get system info in a different way and cannot spot that a CPU is "dud"? Does IRIX set a lower fault threshold?
Fuel; Indigo2; Inspiron 531 WinXP/Win10/debian-buster; Inspiron 4100 debian-buster; RiscPC Kinetic/448MB/RISCOS4.39; RPi B/256MB RISCOS5.23; RPi2 Raspbian-buster; A5000/33MHz/FPA11/8MB/RISCOS3.11; A540/25MHz/FPA10/16MB/RISCOS3.11 or RISCiX1.21

User avatar
vishnu
Donor
Donor
Posts: 3174
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 3:25 pm
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota USA

Re: Octane FS Ebay

Unread postby vishnu » Fri Feb 20, 2015 2:26 pm

I think the first thing to do would be to check the installed software and remove any CADduo driver(s) you see there...
Project:
Temporarily lost at sea...
Plan:
World domination! Or something...

:Tezro: :Octane2:

User avatar
hamei
Posts: 10433
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 4:10 pm
Location: over the rainbow

Re: Octane FS Ebay

Unread postby hamei » Fri Feb 20, 2015 6:58 pm

vishnu wrote:I think the first thing to do would be to check the installed software and remove any CADduo driver(s) you see there...

Even before that, I'd do a < printenv > from the prom, write down anything interesting, then do < enableall > and < resetenv >. That way you're starting out with a clean foundation.
I spent a fortune on booze, birds, and fast cars ... the rest I just squandered

ajw99uk
Posts: 253
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 4:59 am
Location: Yorkshire, UK

Re: Octane FS Ebay

Unread postby ajw99uk » Mon Feb 23, 2015 4:06 am

hamei wrote:
vishnu wrote:I think the first thing to do would be to check the installed software and remove any CADduo driver(s) you see there...

Even before that, I'd do a < printenv > from the prom, write down anything interesting, then do < enableall > and < resetenv >. That way you're starting out with a clean foundation.


PROM env was vanilla aside from "netaddr". "enableall" was rejected (IP35 only?) but "enable 1" told me that CPU1 had been marked as "enabled" but in fact "disabled" (not apparent from PROM hinv). So I ran PROM diagnostics, which reported nothing. May need to try again with a serial console attached, then remove/reseat the PM.

In IRIX, nothing calling itself "CADduo" (or similar) in swmgr's list of installed, and nothing obvious in /var/sysgen. Given the PROM "enable" status, I think it's hardware after all. The DUO notes in Techpubs indicate that switching from DUO to dual head is simply a matter of changing the /var/X11/xdm/Xservers file - no mention of an additional software package (though the Dual Head manual does refer to a CD - but not what was on it!).
Fuel; Indigo2; Inspiron 531 WinXP/Win10/debian-buster; Inspiron 4100 debian-buster; RiscPC Kinetic/448MB/RISCOS4.39; RPi B/256MB RISCOS5.23; RPi2 Raspbian-buster; A5000/33MHz/FPA11/8MB/RISCOS3.11; A540/25MHz/FPA10/16MB/RISCOS3.11 or RISCiX1.21


Return to “SGI: Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests