What do you use your SGI for?

Open discussion on or around SGI; software/hardware related posts should go in the appropriate subforum.
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
foetz
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6592
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2003 4:34 am
Contact:

Re: What do you use your SGI for?

Unread postby foetz » Fri May 15, 2015 3:00 pm

GIJoe wrote:it is a bit of a forgetful one though. make sure you backup the work done with it/save multiple versions. it sometimes just fails to load in old projects. you can always access the layers separately in the filesystem and reimport but it can be a bit of a bummer.

that's a folder issue. just like alias itself it "expects" its special folder structure to be there from where you start it

User avatar
nongrato
Posts: 215
Joined: Thu May 15, 2014 5:24 am
Location: SPb, RU
Contact:

Re: What do you use your SGI for?

Unread postby nongrato » Thu Sep 17, 2015 5:40 pm

Working together with a friend of mine on making her portrait in 3D. And no - in reality she doesn't have a nose piercing or that weird haircut.

Image
:Octane2: :320:

User avatar
vishnu
Donor
Donor
Posts: 3189
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 3:25 pm
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota USA

Re: What do you use your SGI for?

Unread postby vishnu » Tue Sep 29, 2015 7:09 pm

^^^Not to be too shallow or anything but Russian women are just so spankin' hot... :twisted:

Okay, that was pretty shallow. :lol:
Project:
Temporarily lost at sea...
Plan:
World domination! Or something...

:Tezro: :Octane2:

User avatar
jimmer
Donor
Donor
Posts: 483
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2004 3:54 pm
Location: London, Ingerlund

Re: What do you use your SGI for?

Unread postby jimmer » Wed Sep 30, 2015 2:46 am

vishnu wrote:Not to be too shallow or anything but Russian women are just so spankin' hot...


Happy to see that somebody out there is still able to put some life into the 'graphics' part of the name. Just a little sad that I have to use a cobbled together vanilla PeeCee instead of redbox to do my Virtual Worlds stuff. Oh well.
Attachments
cathedral annex.jpeg
cathedral vaulting.jpeg
cathedral buttresses.jpeg
:Fuel: redbox 800Mhz 4Gb V12
:O2: bluebox 200Mhz 256Mb AV1+O2Cam

User avatar
uunix
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1808
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 12:48 pm
Location: Stourbridge / England / UK

Re: What do you use your SGI for?

Unread postby uunix » Wed Sep 30, 2015 2:54 am

vishnu wrote:^^^Not to be too shallow or anything but Russian women are just so spankin' hot... :twisted:

Okay, that was pretty shallow. :lol:


ermmm :roll:
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Hey Ho! Pip & Dandy!
:Octane2: :O2: :Indigo: :Indy:
-----------------------------------------------------------------------

User avatar
BLAiSE
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri May 14, 2004 10:33 am
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Contact:

Re: What do you use your SGI for?

Unread postby BLAiSE » Thu Oct 29, 2015 9:13 am

Hi all!

Not a recent work (I graduated in 2009), but I used my SGI Visual Workstation 320 to create my graduation film at the university.

Parental advisory explicit content! :D
:320: 2x1GHz PIII, 1GB RAM, 300GB 10K Hitachi HDD, 1600SW, Medea VideoRAID, Windows 2000 :1600SW:

robespierre
Posts: 1578
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2011 2:28 pm
Location: Boston

Re: What do you use your SGI for?

Unread postby robespierre » Thu Oct 29, 2015 11:50 am

That was great, thanks!
:PI: :O2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP:

User avatar
Ryan Fox
Posts: 428
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2004 11:03 am
Location: Cape Town, South Africa

Re: What do you use your SGI for?

Unread postby Ryan Fox » Tue Nov 24, 2015 6:36 am

BLAiSE wrote:Hi all!

Not a recent work (I graduated in 2009), but I used my SGI Visual Workstation 320 to create my graduation film at the university.

Parental advisory explicit content! :D



Now that was bloody brilliant work :D

I myself used to work for an animation studio but decided to join the fibre brigade and start my own ISP.
However I still on and off after hours work on an an animation project I started round 2010 :)
Need to post pictures
MAYA, nut-
:Octane2: :Octane2: Octane 2 R14k 600 V12 4GB, Octane2 R14K 600 V10 1GB ,
:Onyx2: :Onyx2: Onyx2 IR3 4GB Quad R14K 500 DIVO, Onyx2 IR Quad R12K 400 2GB,
:Indigo2: SGI Indigo 2 R8K75 TEAL Extreme 256MB,
:Indigo2IMP: SGI Indigo 2 R10K 195 Solid Impact 256MB, MAX Impact Pending
,
Apple G5 Quad, NV Quadro 4500 + 7800GT, 12GB RAM
Sun Blade 1000 Dual 900 XVR 1000 4GB
Sun Blade 2000 Dual 1200 XVR 1200 8GB

User avatar
nongrato
Posts: 215
Joined: Thu May 15, 2014 5:24 am
Location: SPb, RU
Contact:

Re: What do you use your SGI for?

Unread postby nongrato » Wed Nov 25, 2015 1:59 pm

Doing room planning with Maya is like hunting squirrel with a howitzer, but who cares? :D
room.jpeg
:Octane2: :320:

User avatar
dexter1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2743
Joined: Thu Feb 20, 2003 6:57 am
Location: Zoetermeer, The Netherlands

Re: What do you use your SGI for?

Unread postby dexter1 » Wed Nov 25, 2015 11:44 pm

Like your room, it's small though :o

Just thinking out loud, would it be easy to make pictures of furniture and create textures that way?
:Crimson: :PI: :Indigo: :O2: :Indy: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP:

User avatar
Ryan Fox
Posts: 428
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2004 11:03 am
Location: Cape Town, South Africa

Re: What do you use your SGI for?

Unread postby Ryan Fox » Thu Nov 26, 2015 1:18 am

Okay .. so I've been working on a project involving character animation and mo-cap (ipisoft) So basically a short animated piece in my spare time..
Time that I really don't have too much of these days :)

Character rigging texturing and partial animations blend-shapes, finer details such as hands ears etc all done by hand on an onyx2/octane2 v12.
Though rendering in mental ray with final gather turned out to be a pain on even a R14K quad based system. Still its pretty much fun.. Might end up
resorting to using maxwell render for the eye-candy shtuff. Stil using my serial-based Wacom UD-1218-R in photoshop/gimp

Its fantastic to see people still use their Sgi gear for animation/CAD work!
Attachments
sb001ah.jpg
sb002ah.jpg
MAYA, nut-
:Octane2: :Octane2: Octane 2 R14k 600 V12 4GB, Octane2 R14K 600 V10 1GB ,
:Onyx2: :Onyx2: Onyx2 IR3 4GB Quad R14K 500 DIVO, Onyx2 IR Quad R12K 400 2GB,
:Indigo2: SGI Indigo 2 R8K75 TEAL Extreme 256MB,
:Indigo2IMP: SGI Indigo 2 R10K 195 Solid Impact 256MB, MAX Impact Pending
,
Apple G5 Quad, NV Quadro 4500 + 7800GT, 12GB RAM
Sun Blade 1000 Dual 900 XVR 1000 4GB
Sun Blade 2000 Dual 1200 XVR 1200 8GB

User avatar
nekonoko
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8145
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 1:31 am
Location: Pleasanton, California
Contact:

Re: What do you use your SGI for?

Unread postby nekonoko » Thu Nov 26, 2015 4:01 am

Cool, Sabrina with an Amiga shirt. :)
Twitter: @neko_no_ko
IRIX Release 4.0.5 IP12 Version 06151813 System V
Copyright 1987-1992 Silicon Graphics, Inc.
All Rights Reserved.

User avatar
commodorejohn
Posts: 658
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2012 1:22 pm
Contact:

Re: What do you use your SGI for?

Unread postby commodorejohn » Thu Nov 26, 2015 10:59 am

Heh, nice :D
Computers: Amiga 1200, DEC VAXStation 4000/60, DEC MicroPDP-11/73
Synthesizers: Roland JX-10/SH-09/HS-80/MT-32/D-50, Yamaha DX7-II/V50/TX7/TG33/FB-01, Korg MS-20 Mini/ARP Odyssey/DW-8000/M1, Ensoniq SQ-80, E-mu Emax HD/Proteus-2, Casio CZ-5000, Moog Satellite, Sequential Circuits Prophet-600

User avatar
BLAiSE
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri May 14, 2004 10:33 am
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Contact:

Re: What do you use your SGI for?

Unread postby BLAiSE » Thu Nov 26, 2015 11:46 am

Ryan Fox wrote:Its fantastic to see people still use their Sgi gear for animation/CAD work!


I think lot of "old" software are capable to do serious work.
I worked in a studio around 1999 and we used Softimage|Toonz 4.x and Softimage|3D 3.x animation software (the same ones what I used for create my own film). We were official Softimage beta-testers and we used mostly sgi servers, sgi o2's and sgi NT workstations for creating animation series for UK producers. (Toonz was the very same animation software what Studio Ghibli used at the same time in Japan for animated movies, and the first traditional animation software on IRIX - even the NT port of the program used the gui of the IRIX version :) and it was capable of interactive work in mixed IRIX / NT environment.
The system and the software was almost flawless so I can't imagine at the time, what will be the next step, because with Toonz you were capable to do everything what was needed for traditional animation work. The software had all the features what we needed, it was well written optimized code, the workflow was fast and efficient on those 200-300MHz computers.
So they fucked up the whole thing, just as the XSI. (Although this was an independent coder division in Italy). Toonz 5.0 was a totally new ware with pure Windows only codebase, new user interface and full Flash support. It was slow (even with 1000 MHz processors), buggy, it had lost a lot of features (they added them one-by-one, slowly in the following ten years). This was my first encounter with the new era: the 21th century software development.

People have to use these computers with these well written, optimized and reliable software. With just collecting them, we cannot save them. We have to use them, without it they will become only rusty boxes and fading memories.

Keep it up with your animation short. Sabrina looks great!
:320: 2x1GHz PIII, 1GB RAM, 300GB 10K Hitachi HDD, 1600SW, Medea VideoRAID, Windows 2000 :1600SW:

armanox
Posts: 206
Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2014 9:31 pm
Location: Baltimore, MD, USA

Re: What do you use your SGI for?

Unread postby armanox » Thu Nov 26, 2015 6:00 pm

BLAiSE wrote:People have to use these computers with these well written, optimized and reliable software. With just collecting them, we cannot save them. We have to use them, without it they will become only rusty boxes and fading memories.


You have a very good point there, but it's still invisible to the general eye. I love my Octanes (and used to love my O2, but it's kinda dead), but I don't use them in the same sense that most people should be using SGIs. I'm basically using my Octane along side my RPi and NetraT1 as server (my love has more to do with the IRIX backend then it does with the desktop). I think visibility is important and often overlooked.

Also, availability of good software is lacking. I know there used to be a lot of IRIX software, but getting it can be troublesome. I had Photoshop on my O2 (and used it quite often), but the license information is lost and trying to get Adobe to even understand that Photoshop ran on IRIX seems to be pointless from other people's accounts - they just say that versions that old are not supported and you need to buy an upgraded copy.
"Apollo was astonished, Dionysus thought me mad."
:Octane: :Octane: :O2:


Return to “SGI: Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest