What do you use your SGI for?

Open discussion on or around SGI; software/hardware related posts should go in the appropriate subforum.
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
uunix
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1796
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 12:48 pm
Location: Stourbridge / England / UK

Re: What do you use your SGI for?

Unread postby uunix » Thu Apr 02, 2015 6:11 pm

foetz wrote:
uunix wrote:Do we have a thread.. "Why you fell in love with SGI?" ?

i guess this one comes close viewtopic.php?f=6&t=4521746

I reckon that's close enough chap.. another nice long read. I hope by the time I get to the end I'll remember mine.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Hey Ho! Pip & Dandy!
:Octane2: :O2: :Indigo: :Indy:
-----------------------------------------------------------------------

User avatar
foetz
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6546
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2003 4:34 am
Contact:

Re: What do you use your SGI for?

Unread postby foetz » Thu Apr 02, 2015 6:39 pm

uunix wrote:I hope by the time I get to the end I'll remember mine.

:P

User avatar
vishnu
Donor
Donor
Posts: 3176
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 3:25 pm
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota USA

Re: What do you use your SGI for?

Unread postby vishnu » Thu Apr 09, 2015 9:51 am

I'll give the answer I always give, I use my SGI because the amount of money it would take to replace the software it has with their modern equivalents is vastly more than I care to spend. I'm talking about Maya, Pro/Engineer Wildfire, Shake, Catia, the final releases of those programs for Irix are still eminently useful...
Project:
Temporarily lost at sea...
Plan:
World domination! Or something...

:Tezro: :Octane2:

User avatar
vishnu
Donor
Donor
Posts: 3176
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 3:25 pm
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota USA

Re: What do you use your SGI for?

Unread postby vishnu » Sun Apr 12, 2015 12:32 am

ivelegacy wrote:unfortunately it's to applicable to electronic =(

i mean EagleCAD, OrCAD, Altium, Tina, etc: i can't see any equivalent software for Irix!

Well, fortunately for me we have OrCAD 16 at work, but if you can get by with just capture, which is to say no PCB layout capability, LT Spice is awesome and a much better simulator than PSpice... :mrgreen:
Project:
Temporarily lost at sea...
Plan:
World domination! Or something...

:Tezro: :Octane2:

armanox
Posts: 206
Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2014 9:31 pm
Location: Baltimore, MD, USA

Re: What do you use your SGI for?

Unread postby armanox » Sun Apr 12, 2015 8:15 am

ivelegacy wrote:yes, buy those applications are targeted for PC, while I wish i had these applications for Irix.

Dina is more productive than PSpice, and EagleCAD is more interesting than OrCad, especially for PCB 2 layers design, small projects (~ 160x110mm ), this because It costs the less, 300 euro for a decent license, and it does a great job! I had a macOSX basic license of EagleCAD on my laptop for hobby purposes.

The only open source CAD i know is KiCad, but i haven't tried to compile it for Irix, yet, and probably can't justify the use of Irix instead of linux on a common PC.


Well, IRIX doesn't have the wars like systemd vs init, Wayland vs Mir vs X11, bootloader wars, or any of that other nonsense for one. Sounds like justification to me.
"Apollo was astonished, Dionysus thought me mad."
:Octane: :Octane: :O2:

User avatar
vishnu
Donor
Donor
Posts: 3176
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 3:25 pm
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota USA

Re: What do you use your SGI for?

Unread postby vishnu » Sun Apr 12, 2015 11:44 am

xcircuit used to compile cleanly on Irix, I haven't diddled with it since the 90's so that may very well no longer be the case. Probably wouldn't be a bad idea to give it a try anyway. Or any of these for that matter:

http://www.gpleda.org/
Project:
Temporarily lost at sea...
Plan:
World domination! Or something...

:Tezro: :Octane2:

User avatar
guardian452
Donor
Donor
Posts: 3429
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 10:12 pm
Location: United States
Contact:

Re: What do you use your SGI for?

Unread postby guardian452 » Sun Apr 12, 2015 2:24 pm

I use eagle professionally (OSX) and tried kicad but didn't like it. I think for my next PCB project I will try to learn the gEDA packages, because I keep putting it off (I say this every time I start a new project, I will do it in, or at least try, gEDA... but it never happens) And I have to have my next project (new j1772 interface...) in time for summer. So maybe it will happen this time!

mystix
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2009 12:36 pm

Re: What do you use your SGI for?

Unread postby mystix » Thu May 07, 2015 6:28 pm

Id like to chime in on the value of this thread as well. I've been skulking around watching these forums for years now. While SGIs necessarily stand still the rest of the computing world shifts around. What we would use them for in 1995 is different from 2005 is different from 2015.

I myself came here looking specifically for this type of information, with current ideas. My specific google search being 'what can I do with my 02 SGI in 2015'. Seeing something come up that has a historical legacy is helpful. Someone like myself from today might just as well admit that I mainly use my SGIs to sit on a shelf, and thats just not helpful. Instead I get to go and read years worth of ideas without flitting about.

Keep it going people! :)

At the moment it seems the consensus is having a unix reference, media serving, and music playing. Works for me!
:O200: :Indigo2IMP:*2 :320:*5

User avatar
skywriter
Posts: 3290
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 5:22 am
Location: Trump-proof bunker
Contact:

Re: What do you use your SGI for?

Unread postby skywriter » Tue May 12, 2015 6:25 pm

Are you claiming to an Aerospace Engineer Donald?

Donald_ET3 wrote:
skywriter wrote:when does a perfectly good adjective like 'low voltage' get replaced by techno-colloquial slang-verb garbage like 'undervolt'?


skywriter wrote:i know what they mean. they're not words knowledgeable engineers I know use.


When Apollo 13 had its mishap, the astronauts described it as an "undervolt"

astronaut: "We've had a MAIN B BUS UNDERVOLT."
Houston: "Roger. MAIN B UNDERVOLT."
...one and a half minutes later...
astronaut: "We got a MAIN BUS A UNDERVOLT now, too, showing."
Houston: "MAIN A UNDERVOLT."

Apparently the term "undervolt" has been used by NASA since 1970.
:Skywriter:

DECUS Member 368596

User avatar
ClassicHasClass
Donor
Donor
Posts: 2080
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 7:12 pm
Location: Sunny So Cal
Contact:

Re: What do you use your SGI for?

Unread postby ClassicHasClass » Tue May 12, 2015 9:40 pm

No, he's obviously claiming to be a rocket scientist. :)

(scnr)
smit happens.

:Fuel: bigred, 900MHz R16K, 4GB RAM, V12 DCD, 6.5.30
:Indy: indy, 150MHz R4400SC, 256MB RAM, XL24, 6.5.10
:Indigo2IMP: purplehaze, 175MHz R10000, Solid IMPACT
probably posted from Image bruce, Quad 2.5GHz PowerPC 970MP, 16GB RAM, Mac OS X 10.4.11
plus IBM POWER6 p520 * Apple Network Server 500 * RDI PrecisionBook * BeBox * Solbourne S3000 * Commodore 128 * many more...

User avatar
vishnu
Donor
Donor
Posts: 3176
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 3:25 pm
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota USA

Re: What do you use your SGI for?

Unread postby vishnu » Wed May 13, 2015 11:47 pm

In the electrical pulse power world that I inhabit by profession we routinely make use of the term "overvolt." We never use "undervolt" because if the charge voltage stops short of our intended target it's never a disaster the way an overvolt always is... :shock:
Project:
Temporarily lost at sea...
Plan:
World domination! Or something...

:Tezro: :Octane2:

User avatar
nongrato
Posts: 215
Joined: Thu May 15, 2014 5:24 am
Location: SPb, RU
Contact:

Re: What do you use your SGI for?

Unread postby nongrato » Thu May 14, 2015 6:46 am

Recently with a help from another forum member, I obtained a very nice Wacom tablet(Intuos, A4 sized). Now a friend of mine uses my Octane to practice in drawing on a tablet. Drawings are made in Alias StudioPaint 9.5.

My portrait:
Image
Her self-portrait:
Image
a couple of other drawings:
Image
Image

User avatar
bigD
Posts: 466
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2008 8:38 pm
Location: Philadelphia

Re: What do you use your SGI for?

Unread postby bigD » Thu May 14, 2015 9:18 am

^^^ phenomenal!
:Onyx2: :Indigo2: :O3x0:

User avatar
foetz
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6546
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2003 4:34 am
Contact:

Re: What do you use your SGI for?

Unread postby foetz » Thu May 14, 2015 10:58 am

clearly not painting for the first time :P

GIJoe
Posts: 874
Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2003 11:44 am
Location: Germany -> UK -> Germany...

Re: What do you use your SGI for?

Unread postby GIJoe » Thu May 14, 2015 11:41 pm

ah, now studiopaint is the one software i miss from the IRIX days. very nicely done painterly feeling.

it is a bit of a forgetful one though. make sure you backup the work done with it/save multiple versions. it sometimes just fails to load in old projects. you can always access the layers separately in the filesystem and reimport but it can be a bit of a bummer.


Return to “SGI: Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest