o2 resolution

Open discussion on or around SGI; software/hardware related posts should go in the appropriate subforum.
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
s0ke
Donor
Donor
Posts: 192
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2003 8:27 am
Location: TX

o2 resolution

Unread postby s0ke » Mon Feb 24, 2003 9:19 am

I was wondering is it possible for an o2 to run in 1600x1200? Its running on a sony gdm5011p monitor. I know for a fact that the monitor supports 1600x1200.
I don't have 1600x1200 listed in my /usr/gfx. I've heard that you can compile your own using some sort of video compiler.

User avatar
dexter1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2737
Joined: Thu Feb 20, 2003 6:57 am
Location: Zoetermeer, The Netherlands

Unread postby dexter1 » Mon Feb 24, 2003 10:59 am

I googled something useful for you:

http://niri.ncsa.uiuc.edu/slevy/o2-stereo/highres.html

And in it, it says that is *almost* possible to display 1600x1200. It seems that there are limitations in Pixelclock and refresh, so a 1600x1024@56Hz is possible to make, but you have to compile your own VOF

Good Luck, and let us know if this succeeds..

User avatar
dexter1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2737
Joined: Thu Feb 20, 2003 6:57 am
Location: Zoetermeer, The Netherlands

Unread postby dexter1 » Mon Feb 24, 2003 11:02 am

Wups, my fault: while examining that site, clicking on

http://niri.ncsa.uiuc.edu/slevy/o2-stereo/index.html

reveals the .vfo files for resolutions 1440x1132@66Hz and 1600x1200@56Hz

User avatar
s0ke
Donor
Donor
Posts: 192
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2003 8:27 am
Location: TX

Unread postby s0ke » Mon Feb 24, 2003 11:17 am

Sweet thx, I'll have to try that tonight, let you know how it goes.

User avatar
Shtoink
Posts: 839
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2003 1:46 am
Location: Port Orchard, WA

Unread postby Shtoink » Mon Feb 24, 2003 12:13 pm

Aren't the o2's normally geared for resolutions at about 1024x768 and 1280x1024?

User avatar
s0ke
Donor
Donor
Posts: 192
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2003 8:27 am
Location: TX

Unread postby s0ke » Mon Feb 24, 2003 12:16 pm

Yeah normally but then when the 1600sw flat panel came out, they started doing 1600x1200 but you have to have an adapter card with it.

User avatar
nekonoko
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8145
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 1:31 am
Location: Pleasanton, California
Contact:

Unread postby nekonoko » Mon Feb 24, 2003 12:18 pm

Shtoink wrote:Aren't the o2's normally geared for resolutions at about 1024x768 and 1280x1024?


Well only if you don't apply this resolution hack I suppose. Still I'm pretty sure my flat panel can't sync at 56Hz ... it's rated at 60Hz. It might though ... no way to test.
Twitter: @neko_no_ko
IRIX Release 4.0.5 IP12 Version 06151813 System V
Copyright 1987-1992 Silicon Graphics, Inc.
All Rights Reserved.

User avatar
Shtoink
Posts: 839
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2003 1:46 am
Location: Port Orchard, WA

Unread postby Shtoink » Mon Feb 24, 2003 12:46 pm

Blech... :x 56Hz!

I have issues getting eye pain/strain with a 60Hz refresh. I try to keep mine as high as possible.

vegac
Posts: 745
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 11:34 am
Contact:

Unread postby vegac » Mon Feb 24, 2003 12:53 pm

Ok now, just for fun, I loaded up the 1600x1200_56.vfo for the O2...
WOW.

I'm torn...on one hand, IRIX looks so beautiful at a nice screen size (I'm used to 1600x1200 in linux and all...). On the other hand, I can't admire it's beauty for more than 2 minutes without a severe headache...

Oh, and there's a weird issue with the bottom right of the screen
It seems that an image portion of the top left is repeated down there...and it'll block windows that go under it etc...so I see the top of my Toolchest and some of the background image...

All said and done I think 1408x1024_76 will probably remain to be my normal resolution...

Can Octanes do 1600x1200 at atleast 75hz?

User avatar
nekonoko
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8145
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 1:31 am
Location: Pleasanton, California
Contact:

Unread postby nekonoko » Mon Feb 24, 2003 1:35 pm

vegac wrote:Can Octanes do 1600x1200 at atleast 75hz?


MGRAS Octanes do 1600x1200 at 60Hz, just like MGRAS Indigo2s ... which is perfect for a flat panel but headache inducing on a tube monitor.
Twitter: @neko_no_ko
IRIX Release 4.0.5 IP12 Version 06151813 System V
Copyright 1987-1992 Silicon Graphics, Inc.
All Rights Reserved.

User avatar
Pulsar
Posts: 54
Joined: Sat Jan 25, 2003 7:01 am
Location: France

Unread postby Pulsar » Mon Feb 24, 2003 2:00 pm

Mxe didn't add new video modes over the Mxi ones ?

User avatar
nekonoko
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8145
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 1:31 am
Location: Pleasanton, California
Contact:

Unread postby nekonoko » Mon Feb 24, 2003 2:07 pm

Pulsar wrote:Mxe didn't add new video modes over the Mxi ones ?


Not that I'm aware of ... I believe MXE just added 40% performance improvement over MXI but no new modes.
Twitter: @neko_no_ko
IRIX Release 4.0.5 IP12 Version 06151813 System V
Copyright 1987-1992 Silicon Graphics, Inc.
All Rights Reserved.


Return to “SGI: Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests