My Fuel doesn't have a MAC address!!!

SGI hardware problems, solutions, tips, hacks, etc.
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
strong_epoxy
Posts: 99
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 8:20 pm
Location: Seattle, WA
Contact:

My Fuel doesn't have a MAC address!!!

Unread postby strong_epoxy » Fri Jun 17, 2016 10:03 pm

printenv in the prom shows nothing. resetenv then printenv shows nothing. /etc/nvram shows nothing.

I'm attempting a network install which I've done with a dozen different SGIs but this Fuel's not opening its MAC address kimono to kickstart the process.

What's the secret to finding the eaddr?
:Cube: :Octane: :Octane2: :O2: :O2: :O2: :1600SW: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo: :Indy: :320: :1600SW: :Fuel: :Onyx2:

User avatar
tomvos
Donor
Donor
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2008 1:08 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: My Fuel doesn't have a MAC address!!!

Unread postby tomvos » Fri Jun 17, 2016 10:35 pm

Usually there is a sticker on the back of the fuel which has the eaddr written on it. It should start with 080069xxyyzz.

I guess you should be allowed to set this eaddr with a command like this:

setenv -f eaddr 08:00:69:xx:yy:zz

in the prom monitor.
:Fuel: :Octane2: :O2: :O2: :1600SW: :Indy: :Indy:
Where subtlety fails us we must simply make do with cream pies.

User avatar
japes
Donor
Donor
Posts: 810
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2007 4:35 pm
Location: Lynnwood, WA

Re: My Fuel doesn't have a MAC address!!!

Unread postby japes » Fri Jun 17, 2016 11:12 pm

That curious. I don't know about Origin 300, but most of the IP35 systems use non-volatile storage that doesn't require any backup. Please share any resolution you find.
:O3000: :Fuel: :Tezro: :Octane2: :Octane: :Octane: :Octane: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :O2: :O2: :1600SW: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :O3x02L: :O3x02L:

User avatar
japes
Donor
Donor
Posts: 810
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2007 4:35 pm
Location: Lynnwood, WA

Re: My Fuel doesn't have a MAC address!!!

Unread postby japes » Sat Jun 18, 2016 1:04 am

I was thinking about this and started looking for motherboard photos. I found this one on forum user mashek's ebay listing (http://www.ebay.com/itm/111662230457). If you look near the dallas clock chip there is a small 8-pin DIP package in a socket. Does your fuel have one?

s-l400.jpg
s-l400.jpg (47.29 KiB) Viewed 184 times
:O3000: :Fuel: :Tezro: :Octane2: :Octane: :Octane: :Octane: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :O2: :O2: :1600SW: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :O3x02L: :O3x02L:

User avatar
Trippynet
Posts: 532
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2013 6:22 am
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland, UK

Re: My Fuel doesn't have a MAC address!!!

Unread postby Trippynet » Sat Jun 18, 2016 4:23 am

japes wrote:That curious. I don't know about Origin 300, but most of the IP35 systems use non-volatile storage that doesn't require any backup. Please share any resolution you find.


Not the Fuel I'm afraid, it's stored in battery-backed RAM. As jan-jaap discovered a couple of years back, there's two batteries on the Fuel and amongst timekeeping and other such things, they also power the RAM where the MAC is held. Although a failed battery doesn't mean no MAC, it just resets itself to 01:23:45:67:89:AB I think. On the plus side if that does happen, it is possible to reconfigure the MAC back to what it was, and the batteries can be changed easily enough. This though sounds like a different issue entirely.
Systems in use:
:Indigo2IMP: - Nitrogen: R10000 195MHz CPU, 384MB RAM, SolidIMPACT Graphics, 36GB 15k HDD & 300GB 10k HDD, 100Mb/s NIC, New/quiet fans, IRIX 6.5.22
:Fuel: - Lithium: R14000 600MHz CPU, 4GB RAM, V10 Graphics, 36GB 15k HDD & 300GB 10k HDD, 1Gb/s NIC, New/quiet fans, IRIX 6.5.30
Other system in storage: :O2: R5000 200MHz, 224MB RAM, 72GB 15k HDD, PSU fan mod, IRIX 6.5.30

User avatar
japes
Donor
Donor
Posts: 810
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2007 4:35 pm
Location: Lynnwood, WA

Re: My Fuel doesn't have a MAC address!!!

Unread postby japes » Sat Jun 18, 2016 8:39 pm

The serial number is part of the L1 controller and connecting a serial cable to the DB9 inside should get you an error about missing serial number if that's the case. The MAC address should be on the 8-pin DIP. Reference: viewtopic.php?f=3&t=16729947&p=7386614#p7386617 and http://www.nekochan.net/wiki/DS1742W-120

EDIT: Then I read this and realized I haven't looked at a Fuel in a while. viewtopic.php?f=14&t=16719655&p=7368966#p7368909 And I've never read the Atmel chip from a fuel, but maybe I'll get around to it.
:O3000: :Fuel: :Tezro: :Octane2: :Octane: :Octane: :Octane: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :O2: :O2: :1600SW: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :O3x02L: :O3x02L:

User avatar
strong_epoxy
Posts: 99
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 8:20 pm
Location: Seattle, WA
Contact:

Re: My Fuel doesn't have a MAC address!!!

Unread postby strong_epoxy » Mon Jun 20, 2016 9:56 pm

Yup! Found the sticker on the back with the correct MAC address. What's funny is that I couldn't set it in the PROM using setenv eaddr. It returned an error like it's not configurable.

The fuel's got a new 6.5.30f installation with your help. Thanks!
:Cube: :Octane: :Octane2: :O2: :O2: :O2: :1600SW: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo: :Indy: :320: :1600SW: :Fuel: :Onyx2:


Return to “SGI: Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest