Solved - R7K 350mhz O2 module anybody?

Searching for hard-to-find gear? A post in here might just shake something loose!
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
JacquesT
Posts: 503
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2008 11:50 am
Location: Somerset, UK

Solved - R7K 350mhz O2 module anybody?

Unread postby JacquesT » Wed Mar 28, 2018 1:32 am

Does anybody have a spare working R7K 350Mhz cpu module for an O2 lying around looking for a home?

- not looking anymore, thanks
Last edited by JacquesT on Sun Apr 22, 2018 12:43 am, edited 1 time in total.
:Octane: - 1xR12k 400Mhz, 1GB, V8, 18Gb 10K & 36Gb 15K HDD, 6.5.30
:Octane: - 1xR12k 300Mhz, 384MB, SSE, 18Gb 10K HDD, 6.5.30
:O2: :1600SW: - 300Mhz R5200, 384MB, 36Gb 15K HDD, A/V, FPA, 4x CD-ROM, 6.5.30
"Ho Ho," Says the keeper of the beat.

User avatar
spiroyster
Donor
Donor
Posts: 197
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 8:24 am
Location: Somerset, UK

Re: R7K 350mhz O2 module anybody?

Unread postby spiroyster » Wed Mar 28, 2018 2:03 am

Both the R10K and R12K were better than the R7K iirc (according to benches, !ime) ... but I assume this is for 'the' mod?

Thats going to be difficult, unsure anyone else has done it since the original modder...

A nekochanian got a load of the CPU's a few years ago (can't remember name, Puffy avatar?) and was looking to make a batch of them
but I think it all fell by the wayside... just too difficult to source rom programmer (or something), and isn't a clean mod...
more of hack job (soldering required).
CLICK HERE to find out what click bait is. You will not believe what you discover.
#NaN singles in your area are already making gazzilions by using this trick.

Cambridge Analytica approved!!

JacquesT
Posts: 503
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2008 11:50 am
Location: Somerset, UK

Re: R7K 350mhz O2 module anybody?

Unread postby JacquesT » Wed Mar 28, 2018 4:28 am

No, the mod costs too much and then there is the possibility of board failure as well, not something I'd risk. Besides, I have a good Octane for serious stuff :)

I think the mod works on the 300mhz board as well.

Just looking to get the fastest for the O2 without going the R12k butcher job route.

The R7K seems to bench consistently faster than the R5200 cpu, in some blender results as much as 33% faster. Am sure this will translate to a better deaktop experience as well.

The R5200 is only *marginally* faster than a 150mhz R10k.
:Octane: - 1xR12k 400Mhz, 1GB, V8, 18Gb 10K & 36Gb 15K HDD, 6.5.30
:Octane: - 1xR12k 300Mhz, 384MB, SSE, 18Gb 10K HDD, 6.5.30
:O2: :1600SW: - 300Mhz R5200, 384MB, 36Gb 15K HDD, A/V, FPA, 4x CD-ROM, 6.5.30
"Ho Ho," Says the keeper of the beat.

User avatar
Raion-Fox
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1622
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 5:01 pm
Location: near King George, Virginia
Contact:

Re: R7K 350mhz O2 module anybody?

Unread postby Raion-Fox » Wed Mar 28, 2018 5:19 am

KhalidSchofield has the R7k CPU batches.
:O3x02L: R16000 700MHz 8GB RAM kanna
:Tezro: Quad R16000 700MHz V12 8GB RAM murasaki
:Indy: (Acclaim) R4600 133MHz XL Graphics 32MB RAM
:Indy: (Challenge S) R4600 133MHz (MIPS III Build Server)

I am probably posting from yangxiaolong, HP Z230 with Xeon E3-1245v3, 16GB RAM, GeForce 750ti, and running Xen on NetBSD dom0 with FreeBSD and Windows 8.1 Embedded.
Owner and operator of http://irix.cc

JacquesT
Posts: 503
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2008 11:50 am
Location: Somerset, UK

Re: R7K 350mhz O2 module anybody?

Unread postby JacquesT » Thu Apr 05, 2018 2:48 am

Raion-Fox wrote:KhalidSchofield has the R7k CPU batches.


Thanks, sent him a pm.
:Octane: - 1xR12k 400Mhz, 1GB, V8, 18Gb 10K & 36Gb 15K HDD, 6.5.30
:Octane: - 1xR12k 300Mhz, 384MB, SSE, 18Gb 10K HDD, 6.5.30
:O2: :1600SW: - 300Mhz R5200, 384MB, 36Gb 15K HDD, A/V, FPA, 4x CD-ROM, 6.5.30
"Ho Ho," Says the keeper of the beat.

User avatar
Intuition
Posts: 412
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2009 1:56 pm
Location: Marina Del Rey, CA

Re: R7K 350mhz O2 module anybody?

Unread postby Intuition » Tue Apr 10, 2018 3:48 pm

JacquesT wrote:
Raion-Fox wrote:KhalidSchofield has the R7k CPU batches.


Thanks, sent him a pm.


Report back if he has a few.

I have an o2 r5k that I bought off ebay for $75 around Nov and though it is in near mint condition it has a 180 mhz cpu I think. So I am also looking to get at least a 300mhz proc for it.
Image O2 - 300mhz
Image O2 - 400mhz :1600SW: 1600sw
:Octane: 2x400mhz :O200: Origin 200 2x225mhz
aka Casey Christopher

mgtremaine
Posts: 328
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2006 1:58 pm
Location: San Diego, Ca
Contact:

Re: R7K 350mhz O2 module anybody?

Unread postby mgtremaine » Tue Apr 10, 2018 5:37 pm

The tricky part was the need to have a 300mhz board to do the swap on. It limited the number of people who could supply one for the batch run. I wish I had found one to jump in back then. :/ I suppose if we ever got enough people together to do a second batch it might help.

-Mike
:Indy::O2:

JacquesT
Posts: 503
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2008 11:50 am
Location: Somerset, UK

Re: R7K 350mhz O2 module anybody?

Unread postby JacquesT » Tue Apr 10, 2018 11:51 pm

mgtremaine wrote:The tricky part was the need to have a 300mhz board to do the swap on. It limited the number of people who could supply one for the batch run. I wish I had found one to jump in back then. :/ I suppose if we ever got enough people together to do a second batch it might help.

-Mike


True, some of the 300 boards won't take the swap though, from my understanding you need the board with the blue trace wire on the voltage regulator.

I'm finding reasonable 256mb RAM kits very hard to come by in the UK! 128mb for 6.5.22 is painful!
:Octane: - 1xR12k 400Mhz, 1GB, V8, 18Gb 10K & 36Gb 15K HDD, 6.5.30
:Octane: - 1xR12k 300Mhz, 384MB, SSE, 18Gb 10K HDD, 6.5.30
:O2: :1600SW: - 300Mhz R5200, 384MB, 36Gb 15K HDD, A/V, FPA, 4x CD-ROM, 6.5.30
"Ho Ho," Says the keeper of the beat.


Return to “Hardware Wanted”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest