rackmount kit for PowerMacG4

Searching for hard-to-find gear? A post in here might just shake something loose!
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
shutitalldown
Posts: 178
Joined: Sat Feb 10, 2018 3:28 am

rackmount kit for PowerMacG4

Unread postby shutitalldown » Fri Mar 02, 2018 9:55 am

Image

let me know by PM!
I am tattooed in reverse, cause if you break rules you don't know where it leads.
But, say, all the venus in furs are so manically depressed and manically dressed.

User avatar
uunix
Donor
Donor
Posts: 2059
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 12:48 pm
Location: Stourbridge / England / UK

Re: rackmount kit for PowerMacG4

Unread postby uunix » Fri Mar 02, 2018 11:00 am

Let you know what?
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Hey Ho! Pip & Dandy!
:Tezro: :Octane2: :O2: :Indigo: :Indy:
-----------------------------------------------------------------------

User avatar
shutitalldown
Posts: 178
Joined: Sat Feb 10, 2018 3:28 am

Re: rackmount kit for PowerMacG4

Unread postby shutitalldown » Fri Mar 02, 2018 11:02 am

do you have one for sale? let me know by PM!
I am tattooed in reverse, cause if you break rules you don't know where it leads.
But, say, all the venus in furs are so manically depressed and manically dressed.

User avatar
ClassicHasClass
Donor
Donor
Posts: 2221
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 7:12 pm
Location: Sunny So Cal
Contact:

Re: rackmount kit for PowerMacG4

Unread postby ClassicHasClass » Sun Mar 04, 2018 12:06 am

Candidly, if you just want a rackmount G4, it might be easier (and even cheaper) to just find an Xserve.
smit happens.

:Fuel: bigred, 900MHz R16K, 4GB RAM, V12 DCD, 6.5.30
:Indy: indy, 150MHz R4400SC, 256MB RAM, XL24, 6.5.10
:Indigo2IMP: purplehaze, 175MHz R10000, Solid IMPACT
probably posted from Image bruce, Quad 2.5GHz PowerPC 970MP, 16GB RAM, Mac OS X 10.4.11
plus IBM POWER6 p520 * Apple Network Server 500 * RDI PrecisionBook * BeBox * Solbourne S3000 * Commodore 128 * many more...

User avatar
shutitalldown
Posts: 178
Joined: Sat Feb 10, 2018 3:28 am

Re: rackmount kit for PowerMacG4

Unread postby shutitalldown » Sun Mar 04, 2018 4:46 am

I don't want to buy another machine :D
I am looking for a (second hand) Marathon Computer Rack Mount and slide rails for G3/G4 PowerMac G-Rack!
I am tattooed in reverse, cause if you break rules you don't know where it leads.
But, say, all the venus in furs are so manically depressed and manically dressed.

Shiunbird
Donor
Donor
Posts: 497
Joined: Fri May 06, 2016 1:43 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: rackmount kit for PowerMacG4

Unread postby Shiunbird » Mon Mar 05, 2018 1:04 am

ClassicHasClass wrote:Candidly, if you just want a rackmount G4, it might be easier (and even cheaper) to just find an Xserve.


Given how loud the late G4s are, no amount of acoustic preparation would be able to keep your home safe of a bunch of Xserve G4s.
ImageImage

User avatar
shutitalldown
Posts: 178
Joined: Sat Feb 10, 2018 3:28 am

Re: rackmount kit for PowerMacG4

Unread postby shutitalldown » Mon Mar 05, 2018 2:57 am

Image

The G4 MDD takes 12U in the rack, that is a lot of space!!, but I need four PCI-X/3.3V-5V slots long-size and Xserve/G4's && Xserve/G4-Slot-Load's both come with the PCI slots, while Xserve/G4-Cluster-Node's come with two PCI slots, and they are both of small-size!

No way!

But! for sure I will buy a couple of Xserve G5 (PowerPC IBM 970FX), because they have a true 64bit CPU and come with a couple of PCI-X (3.3V-only?).
I am tattooed in reverse, cause if you break rules you don't know where it leads.
But, say, all the venus in furs are so manically depressed and manically dressed.

User avatar
spiroyster
Donor
Donor
Posts: 197
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 8:24 am
Location: Somerset, UK

Re: rackmount kit for PowerMacG4

Unread postby spiroyster » Mon Mar 05, 2018 2:45 pm

Sorry, can't help but what about a shelf? Surely that would be adaquate...

I can see the attraction if mounting horizontally... but vertically? Unless it needs to be installed on a fault line or something o.0
If you deskin it, you could probably get 3 in there too.
CLICK HERE to find out what click bait is. You will not believe what you discover.
#NaN singles in your area are already making gazzilions by using this trick.

Cambridge Analytica approved!!

User avatar
shutitalldown
Posts: 178
Joined: Sat Feb 10, 2018 3:28 am

Re: rackmount kit for PowerMacG4

Unread postby shutitalldown » Mon Mar 05, 2018 3:29 pm

spiroyster wrote:vertically?


on the same plane, next to the MDD, I would put a vertical disk-array, that takes exactly 12U.
It perfectly fits :D
I am tattooed in reverse, cause if you break rules you don't know where it leads.
But, say, all the venus in furs are so manically depressed and manically dressed.

Shiunbird
Donor
Donor
Posts: 497
Joined: Fri May 06, 2016 1:43 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: rackmount kit for PowerMacG4

Unread postby Shiunbird » Tue Mar 06, 2018 12:21 am

That's a very nice rack! NASA property, hmm... whoever owns this nowadays is a happy dude (or dudette).
I thought the XServer RAID was 4U.
ImageImage

User avatar
spiroyster
Donor
Donor
Posts: 197
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 8:24 am
Location: Somerset, UK

Re: rackmount kit for PowerMacG4

Unread postby spiroyster » Tue Mar 06, 2018 4:09 am

shutitalldown wrote:
spiroyster wrote:vertically?


on the same plane, next to the MDD, I would put a vertical disk-array, that takes exactly 12U.
It perfectly fits :D

Ah ok... those maraton 'braces' seem remarkably overpriced (if you could find one)... certainly for myself I think would explore other avenues to prop up the mac if putting in a 'static' rack if it's always going to be vertical .... seems like you have a plan, good luck!
CLICK HERE to find out what click bait is. You will not believe what you discover.
#NaN singles in your area are already making gazzilions by using this trick.

Cambridge Analytica approved!!

User avatar
ClassicHasClass
Donor
Donor
Posts: 2221
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 7:12 pm
Location: Sunny So Cal
Contact:

Re: rackmount kit for PowerMacG4

Unread postby ClassicHasClass » Tue Mar 06, 2018 7:38 am

You could rack mount an Apple Network Server, too, but I'm here to say from personal experience it wasn't a good idea. :P
smit happens.

:Fuel: bigred, 900MHz R16K, 4GB RAM, V12 DCD, 6.5.30
:Indy: indy, 150MHz R4400SC, 256MB RAM, XL24, 6.5.10
:Indigo2IMP: purplehaze, 175MHz R10000, Solid IMPACT
probably posted from Image bruce, Quad 2.5GHz PowerPC 970MP, 16GB RAM, Mac OS X 10.4.11
plus IBM POWER6 p520 * Apple Network Server 500 * RDI PrecisionBook * BeBox * Solbourne S3000 * Commodore 128 * many more...

User avatar
shutitalldown
Posts: 178
Joined: Sat Feb 10, 2018 3:28 am

Re: rackmount kit for PowerMacG4

Unread postby shutitalldown » Tue Mar 06, 2018 10:46 am

ClassicHasClass wrote:it wasn't a good idea


why?
I am tattooed in reverse, cause if you break rules you don't know where it leads.
But, say, all the venus in furs are so manically depressed and manically dressed.

User avatar
ScutBoy
Donor
Donor
Posts: 158
Joined: Sat Sep 19, 2009 3:13 pm
Location: Northfield, MN USA

Re: rackmount kit for PowerMacG4

Unread postby ScutBoy » Tue Mar 06, 2018 11:16 am

The rackmount kit for a Sun E450 was a flat steel shelf with some dimples for the casters to sit in...
:O2: :Indigo: :Cube: Image

User avatar
ClassicHasClass
Donor
Donor
Posts: 2221
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 7:12 pm
Location: Sunny So Cal
Contact:

Re: rackmount kit for PowerMacG4

Unread postby ClassicHasClass » Tue Mar 06, 2018 12:05 pm

shutitalldown wrote:
ClassicHasClass wrote:it wasn't a good idea


why?


Because it was almost 15U in a standard rack and it looked stupid. I didn't think to take a picture of it when we tried, though (Apple did actually sell locking plates for it and I have a set somewhere). It was a very similar idea to what ScutBoy described.
smit happens.

:Fuel: bigred, 900MHz R16K, 4GB RAM, V12 DCD, 6.5.30
:Indy: indy, 150MHz R4400SC, 256MB RAM, XL24, 6.5.10
:Indigo2IMP: purplehaze, 175MHz R10000, Solid IMPACT
probably posted from Image bruce, Quad 2.5GHz PowerPC 970MP, 16GB RAM, Mac OS X 10.4.11
plus IBM POWER6 p520 * Apple Network Server 500 * RDI PrecisionBook * BeBox * Solbourne S3000 * Commodore 128 * many more...


Return to “Hardware Wanted”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest