WTB 1600sw adapter for Sgi 320 and/or Fuel

Searching for hard-to-find gear? A post in here might just shake something loose!
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
Hombre71
Donor
Donor
Posts: 157
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2016 4:10 am
Location: The Netherlands

WTB 1600sw adapter for Sgi 320 and/or Fuel

Unread postby Hombre71 » Wed Aug 02, 2017 7:36 am

Like the title says, I'd like to use my 1600Sw with my 320 and my Fuel.
If you have either one, please drop me a note.
:Tezro: :Fuel: :O2: :320: :1600SW:

User avatar
HurricaneJames
Posts: 84
Joined: Thu Jul 06, 2017 10:08 pm
Location: Santa Clara, CA

Re: WTB 1600sw adapter for Sgi 320 and/or Fuel

Unread postby HurricaneJames » Wed Aug 02, 2017 8:19 am

I thought the 320 had the LDI connector built-in. Mine does, it is part of the motherboard. I do not own a Fuel, so I cannot speak to that one.

* edit: correct mistyped connector name *
:320: :1600SW: :1600SW: :Octane: :Octane: Image

User avatar
HurricaneJames
Posts: 84
Joined: Thu Jul 06, 2017 10:08 pm
Location: Santa Clara, CA

Re: WTB 1600sw adapter for Sgi 320 and/or Fuel

Unread postby HurricaneJames » Wed Aug 02, 2017 8:28 am

Oh, interesting, I just saw your pictures in the other thread. You are definitely missing the header. I did not even realize the header was an option. On the other hand, you got dual CPU, 1GB RAM, and the VRM, so pretty lucky on the whole.
:320: :1600SW: :1600SW: :Octane: :Octane: Image

Hombre71
Donor
Donor
Posts: 157
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2016 4:10 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: WTB 1600sw adapter for Sgi 320 and/or Fuel

Unread postby Hombre71 » Wed Aug 02, 2017 8:46 am

HurricaneJames wrote:Oh, interesting, I just saw your pictures in the other thread. You are definitely missing the header. I did not even realize the header was an option. On the other hand, you got dual CPU, 1GB RAM, and the VRM, so pretty lucky on the whole.


Yep, I wonder how hard to find those headers are...
:Tezro: :Fuel: :O2: :320: :1600SW:

User avatar
spiroyster
Donor
Donor
Posts: 140
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 8:24 am
Location: Somerset, UK

Re: WTB 1600sw adapter for Sgi 320 and/or Fuel

Unread postby spiroyster » Wed Aug 02, 2017 10:52 am

Hombre71 wrote:
HurricaneJames wrote:Oh, interesting, I just saw your pictures in the other thread. You are definitely missing the header. I did not even realize the header was an option. On the other hand, you got dual CPU, 1GB RAM, and the VRM, so pretty lucky on the whole.


Yep, I wonder how hard to find those headers are...

Dang near impossible on their own. I thought they came as standard with 320, but never saw one on a 540.

Hombre71
Donor
Donor
Posts: 157
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2016 4:10 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: WTB 1600sw adapter for Sgi 320 and/or Fuel

Unread postby Hombre71 » Thu Aug 03, 2017 1:05 am

Unfortunately not, I inspected all the 320's the guy had (and he had bought them all new from SGI at the time) and none of the 320's had the header in place. Anyone have specs or pictures of it? Sounds like a good project for someone with the skills.
:Tezro: :Fuel: :O2: :320: :1600SW:

Hombre71
Donor
Donor
Posts: 157
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2016 4:10 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: WTB 1600sw adapter for Sgi 320 and/or Fuel

Unread postby Hombre71 » Thu Aug 03, 2017 2:08 am

HurricaneJames wrote:I thought the 320 had the LDI connector built-in. Mine does, it is part of the motherboard. I do not own a Fuel, so I cannot speak to that one.

* edit: correct mistyped connector name *


For the fuel there are two solutions besides the MLA adapter:"

The Niktec card outlined here:

http://www.siliconbunny.com/tag/fuel/

Nice solution, but likely difficult to find.

Also sadly enough this card will apparently not work in a 320 or 540:

http://hosting.kyozou.com/niktec/SGI/gf ... ctions.pdf


And there is the Dr. Bott 'SGISAVER' which is a LDI to DVI adapter cable.

This one is still available new but very pricey.

For the 320 I am using a VGA to HDMI adapter which works sort off but gives a green tint to the
display on my monitor.
:Tezro: :Fuel: :O2: :320: :1600SW:


Return to “Hardware Wanted”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest