Origin 300 rack rails.

Searching for hard-to-find gear? A post in here might just shake something loose!
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
PymbleSoftware
Posts: 1891
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2008 5:48 pm
Location: P.O. Box 529, Gordon, Sydney, NSW 2072, Australia.
Contact:

Origin 300 rack rails.

Unread postby PymbleSoftware » Mon May 21, 2012 5:42 pm

I could use some Origin 300 rack rails. I might have stuff to trade in there is any interest.

R.
死の神はりんごだけ食べる

開いた括弧は必ず閉じる -- あるプログラマー

:Tezro: :Tezro: :Onyx2R: :Onyx2RE: :Onyx2: :O3x04R: :O3x0: :O200: :Octane: :Octane2: :O2: :O2: :Indigo2IMP: :PI: :PI: :1600SW: :1600SW: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy:
:hpserv: J5600, 2 x Mac, 3 x SUN, Alpha DS20E, Alpha 800 5/550, 3 x RS/6000, Amiga 4000 VideoToaster, Amiga4000 -030, 733MHz Sam440 AmigaOS 4.1 update 1.

HP C7000 BladeSever with 16 Blades 96Gb to 144Gb RAM per blade
HP C3000 Blade Server with 8 Blades 48Gb to 144Gb RAM per blade

Sold: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indigo: Tandem Himalaya S-Series Nonstop S72000 ServerNet.

Twitter @PymbleSoftware
Current Apps (iOS) -> https://itunes.apple.com/au/artist/pymb ... d553990081
(Android) https://play.google.com/store/apps/deve ... +Ltd&hl=en
(Onyx2) Cortex ---> http://www.facebook.com/pages/Cortex-th ... 11?sk=info
(0300s) Minnie ---> http://www.facebook.com/pages/Minnie-th ... 02?sk=info
Github ---> https://github.com/pymblesoftware

User avatar
kshuff
Posts: 2459
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2005 8:13 pm
Location: Jonas, PA USA
Contact:

Re: Origin 300 rack rails.

Unread postby kshuff » Tue May 22, 2012 9:30 am

PymbleSoftware wrote:I could use some Origin 300 rack rails. I might have stuff to trade in there is any interest.

R.



Don't know if this is of any help or if compatible but, I got the complete rack mounting hardware from a DS1100 if interested. Only drawback is its coming from the US.
-ks

:Onyx: :Onyx: :Crimson: :O2000: :Onyx2: :Fuel: :Octane: :Octane2: :PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :O2: :O2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :320: :540: :O3x0: :1600SW: :1600SW: :hpserv:

See them all >here<

User avatar
recondas
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5441
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 5:55 pm
Location: NC - USA

Re: Origin 300 rack rails.

Unread postby recondas » Tue May 22, 2012 1:37 pm

There was a set of rails on the very first O350 I had. I ran the numbers off of that set of rails and turned up some that were used on a similarly sized Sun box from the same era. At the time I looked at a few of the Sun rails and they did appear to be very close in appearance, as well as readily available (or at least they were at the time).

That's all been long enough I don't recall the rail part number, or even which Sun box they were used on. If you're interested I'll did around and see if I can turn up my notes.
***********************************************************************
Welcome to ARMLand - 0/0x0d00
running...(sherwood-root 0607201829)
* InfiniteReality/Reality Software, IRIX 6.5 Release *
***********************************************************************

User avatar
PymbleSoftware
Posts: 1891
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2008 5:48 pm
Location: P.O. Box 529, Gordon, Sydney, NSW 2072, Australia.
Contact:

Re: Origin 300 rack rails.

Unread postby PymbleSoftware » Tue May 22, 2012 1:41 pm

Thanks, I'll have to see what turns up on fleabay locally in terms of rails for SUN stuff..

I am not looking forward to pulling apart the o300 rack... too much stuff just loose and will have to be reconnected when I am done... might be time to get rid of the origin 200 which I haven't used in ages.

R.
死の神はりんごだけ食べる

開いた括弧は必ず閉じる -- あるプログラマー

:Tezro: :Tezro: :Onyx2R: :Onyx2RE: :Onyx2: :O3x04R: :O3x0: :O200: :Octane: :Octane2: :O2: :O2: :Indigo2IMP: :PI: :PI: :1600SW: :1600SW: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy:
:hpserv: J5600, 2 x Mac, 3 x SUN, Alpha DS20E, Alpha 800 5/550, 3 x RS/6000, Amiga 4000 VideoToaster, Amiga4000 -030, 733MHz Sam440 AmigaOS 4.1 update 1.

HP C7000 BladeSever with 16 Blades 96Gb to 144Gb RAM per blade
HP C3000 Blade Server with 8 Blades 48Gb to 144Gb RAM per blade

Sold: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indigo: Tandem Himalaya S-Series Nonstop S72000 ServerNet.

Twitter @PymbleSoftware
Current Apps (iOS) -> https://itunes.apple.com/au/artist/pymb ... d553990081
(Android) https://play.google.com/store/apps/deve ... +Ltd&hl=en
(Onyx2) Cortex ---> http://www.facebook.com/pages/Cortex-th ... 11?sk=info
(0300s) Minnie ---> http://www.facebook.com/pages/Minnie-th ... 02?sk=info
Github ---> https://github.com/pymblesoftware

User avatar
recondas
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5441
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 5:55 pm
Location: NC - USA

Re: Origin 300 rack rails.

Unread postby recondas » Tue May 22, 2012 2:04 pm

Dug up those notes on the similar *appearing* Sun rack rails. The set of SGI rails I have were made by General Devices (and these were on an O350 - my O300 came without rack or rails).

Anyway, the rails appeared very similar to those sold for use with the Sun v20z and v40z - Sun part numbers 370-6767 / S01854.

Let me stress I only made a visual comparison, but if somebody has access to a set (or is willing to take a chance on an inexpensive set), it might be another source for O300/O350 rack rails - which are something that seem to almost never get left (complete) on a system.
***********************************************************************
Welcome to ARMLand - 0/0x0d00
running...(sherwood-root 0607201829)
* InfiniteReality/Reality Software, IRIX 6.5 Release *
***********************************************************************

mopar5150
Posts: 548
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2012 6:02 pm
Location: Palm Springs, CA
Contact:

Re: Origin 300 rack rails.

Unread postby mopar5150 » Tue May 22, 2012 2:21 pm

I just picked up an Onyx 300 and I can pull off the rails to get a part number or a measurement for you if that would help. The computers look the same from what I can tell.
John
If the thing isn't on fire it's a software problem.

:Tezro: :O3x0: :A350:

User avatar
recondas
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5441
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 5:55 pm
Location: NC - USA

Re: Origin 300 rack rails.

Unread postby recondas » Tue May 22, 2012 2:31 pm

mopar5150 wrote:I just picked up an Onyx 300 and I can pull off the rails to get a part number or a measurement for you if that would help.
Here's the measurements for the O350 set - if you'd like to include on from an Origin/Onyx 300 that'd probably show if they use different length rails (the O350 chassis is longer than an O300).

The O350 set:
Inner Rail (that attaches to the O350) 22.5".
Outer Rail (attaches to the rack) 26" closed, 41" extended
Inner and outer rails assembled and extended to the locks - 53".

If any one does decide to try a set from a Sun, probably wouldn't hurt to ask for some measurements.


@mopar5150 - measure the rails later - tell us more about this Onyx300 :D
***********************************************************************
Welcome to ARMLand - 0/0x0d00
running...(sherwood-root 0607201829)
* InfiniteReality/Reality Software, IRIX 6.5 Release *
***********************************************************************

User avatar
PymbleSoftware
Posts: 1891
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2008 5:48 pm
Location: P.O. Box 529, Gordon, Sydney, NSW 2072, Australia.
Contact:

Re: Origin 300 rack rails.

Unread postby PymbleSoftware » Tue May 22, 2012 4:17 pm

Holly thread hijack, batman, ...;) how about a new post in the hinv section with a post of the hinv of your Onyx300..??

R.



Moderator Edit: The Onyx 300 stuff has been split off into a separate topic. <recondas>
死の神はりんごだけ食べる

開いた括弧は必ず閉じる -- あるプログラマー

:Tezro: :Tezro: :Onyx2R: :Onyx2RE: :Onyx2: :O3x04R: :O3x0: :O200: :Octane: :Octane2: :O2: :O2: :Indigo2IMP: :PI: :PI: :1600SW: :1600SW: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy:
:hpserv: J5600, 2 x Mac, 3 x SUN, Alpha DS20E, Alpha 800 5/550, 3 x RS/6000, Amiga 4000 VideoToaster, Amiga4000 -030, 733MHz Sam440 AmigaOS 4.1 update 1.

HP C7000 BladeSever with 16 Blades 96Gb to 144Gb RAM per blade
HP C3000 Blade Server with 8 Blades 48Gb to 144Gb RAM per blade

Sold: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indigo: Tandem Himalaya S-Series Nonstop S72000 ServerNet.

Twitter @PymbleSoftware
Current Apps (iOS) -> https://itunes.apple.com/au/artist/pymb ... d553990081
(Android) https://play.google.com/store/apps/deve ... +Ltd&hl=en
(Onyx2) Cortex ---> http://www.facebook.com/pages/Cortex-th ... 11?sk=info
(0300s) Minnie ---> http://www.facebook.com/pages/Minnie-th ... 02?sk=info
Github ---> https://github.com/pymblesoftware

mopar5150
Posts: 548
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2012 6:02 pm
Location: Palm Springs, CA
Contact:

Re: Origin 300 rack rails.

Unread postby mopar5150 » Tue May 22, 2012 4:41 pm

Sorry R, I was trying to be helpful but got sidetracked. :oops:
If the thing isn't on fire it's a software problem.

:Tezro: :O3x0: :A350:

User avatar
PymbleSoftware
Posts: 1891
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2008 5:48 pm
Location: P.O. Box 529, Gordon, Sydney, NSW 2072, Australia.
Contact:

Re: Origin 300 rack rails.

Unread postby PymbleSoftware » Tue May 22, 2012 4:45 pm

mopar5150 wrote:Sorry R, I was trying to be helpful but got sidetracked. :oops:


Just kidding :)

Post a hinv when you got it... It will be interesting, at least to some of us.

R.
死の神はりんごだけ食べる

開いた括弧は必ず閉じる -- あるプログラマー

:Tezro: :Tezro: :Onyx2R: :Onyx2RE: :Onyx2: :O3x04R: :O3x0: :O200: :Octane: :Octane2: :O2: :O2: :Indigo2IMP: :PI: :PI: :1600SW: :1600SW: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy:
:hpserv: J5600, 2 x Mac, 3 x SUN, Alpha DS20E, Alpha 800 5/550, 3 x RS/6000, Amiga 4000 VideoToaster, Amiga4000 -030, 733MHz Sam440 AmigaOS 4.1 update 1.

HP C7000 BladeSever with 16 Blades 96Gb to 144Gb RAM per blade
HP C3000 Blade Server with 8 Blades 48Gb to 144Gb RAM per blade

Sold: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indigo: Tandem Himalaya S-Series Nonstop S72000 ServerNet.

Twitter @PymbleSoftware
Current Apps (iOS) -> https://itunes.apple.com/au/artist/pymb ... d553990081
(Android) https://play.google.com/store/apps/deve ... +Ltd&hl=en
(Onyx2) Cortex ---> http://www.facebook.com/pages/Cortex-th ... 11?sk=info
(0300s) Minnie ---> http://www.facebook.com/pages/Minnie-th ... 02?sk=info
Github ---> https://github.com/pymblesoftware

mopar5150
Posts: 548
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2012 6:02 pm
Location: Palm Springs, CA
Contact:

Re: Origin 300 rack rails.

Unread postby mopar5150 » Mon Jun 18, 2012 6:04 pm

Hey R,
I have an extra set of rails off of an Origin 300 that was in a spares box from my system. I have no clue what they are worth but would trade for SGI stuff you might have. I feel I need to give you a deal because I hijacked your thread. :D

Let me know,
John
If the thing isn't on fire it's a software problem.

:Tezro: :O3x0: :A350:

schleusel
Posts: 495
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2003 6:49 am
Location: NRW, Germany
Contact:

Re: Origin 300 rack rails.

Unread postby schleusel » Wed Jun 05, 2013 10:46 pm

Sorry for digging out this old thread but I could use one or two pairs of o300 rails too (preferably in Europe).

Did anybody get a chance to try those SUN rails?

User avatar
smj
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1661
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 7:54 pm
Location: Berkeley, CA, USA, NA, Earth, Sol
Contact:

Re: Origin 300 rack rails.

Unread postby smj » Thu Jun 06, 2013 1:48 am

Seeing this thread again prompted me to go have a look at my O300 bricks, and one of them actually has a complete set of sliding rack rails attached. I'll try to get part numbers by the end of the week, need to shift some things around to get at them.
Then? :IRIS3130: ... Now? :O3x02L: :A3504L:- :A3502L: :1600SW:+MLA :Fuel: :Octane2: :Octane: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: ... Other: DEC :BA213: :BA123: Sun, DG AViiON, NeXT :Cube:


Return to “Hardware Wanted”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Ahrefs [Bot], mbeauchesne and 2 guests