Nekochan Net

Official Chat Channel: #nekochan // irc.nekochan.net
It is currently Sat Apr 19, 2014 9:03 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Forum rules


Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
Unread postPosted: Fri Oct 21, 2005 3:37 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 31, 2005 1:23 am
Posts: 1087
Location: Brigham City, UT
When I install my Sony SDT-9000 via either external or drive sled, I fire up the system and get barf about can't get DMA and SCSI bus resets. I have heard these drives need to be jumpered right for SGI use but I don't know the config.

It works fine in a PC.

_________________
-- I'm a PeeCee and I can kick your ass. --
Slow PeeCee - i7 940 OC 4.1GHz, 20GB DDR3 OC 1.8GHz, 2x1TB WD RAID0, ATI 5870 1GB, 3008WFP
Dev PeeCee - IBM Intellistation A Pro - Dual Opteron 290 2.8GHz, 8GB ECC DDR, 500GB SATA, 8400GS, 2x1800FP
Slow PeeCee Cluster - 30x Opteron 275, 60.5GB RAM, 2.2TB, 2x1.5TB
Octane 2xR12K-300, 1.5GB, 36GB 10K, 73GB 10K, V8
Indigo2 195MHz, 1GB, 36GB, SI

There are 10 kinds of people in the world:
Those who understand Ternary. Those who don't. Those who could give a shit less.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Fri Oct 21, 2005 3:41 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2003 4:29 am
Posts: 2470
Location: Kabul, Afghanistan, Asia
http://www.sony.net/Products/storagesolution/documents/manual_pdf/Unix_Configuration_Guide.pdf

haven't read it, but it looks like it has the jumper configs in it.

HTH

_________________
...only chemist in .af?
Eroteme.ch - eternally unfinished and never started


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Sat Oct 22, 2005 4:45 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2004 4:49 pm
Posts: 798
Location: Florida
I was going to reply last night when I got home from work but ferrrgottt :oops:

http://sony.storagesupport.com/dds/unixguide.htm

Check the above plus Hakimoto's post.

I had similar problems with some I purchased and set jumper 1 and 2 on.......jumper 3 and 4 off and that took care of the scsi reset problem

Richard


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Sat Oct 22, 2005 6:22 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 31, 2005 1:23 am
Posts: 1087
Location: Brigham City, UT
I got resets even after successful start. Turns out my problem was running the confidence tests after installing once without error messages.

Backup works fine and dandy. Just don't run confidence tests afterward if you're me.

_________________
-- I'm a PeeCee and I can kick your ass. --
Slow PeeCee - i7 940 OC 4.1GHz, 20GB DDR3 OC 1.8GHz, 2x1TB WD RAID0, ATI 5870 1GB, 3008WFP
Dev PeeCee - IBM Intellistation A Pro - Dual Opteron 290 2.8GHz, 8GB ECC DDR, 500GB SATA, 8400GS, 2x1800FP
Slow PeeCee Cluster - 30x Opteron 275, 60.5GB RAM, 2.2TB, 2x1.5TB
Octane 2xR12K-300, 1.5GB, 36GB 10K, 73GB 10K, V8
Indigo2 195MHz, 1GB, 36GB, SI

There are 10 kinds of people in the world:
Those who understand Ternary. Those who don't. Those who could give a shit less.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group