indy ram

SGI hardware problems, solutions, tips, hacks, etc.
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
waldo
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Feb 01, 2003 5:09 pm
Location: MN/IA, USA
Contact:

indy ram

Unread postby waldo » Tue Feb 11, 2003 7:02 pm

indytech says that 72-pin ram with tin leads will "reportedly" lead to corrosion and you ought to use ram with gold leads. anybody run tin ram? any problems?

cuz.. yeah. maxing my indy's ram would be fun.

User avatar
nekonoko
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8041
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 1:31 am
Location: Pleasanton, California
Contact:

Re: indy ram

Unread postby nekonoko » Tue Feb 11, 2003 11:31 pm

waldo wrote:indytech says that 72-pin ram with tin leads will "reportedly" lead to corrosion and you ought to use ram with gold leads. anybody run tin ram? any problems?

cuz.. yeah. maxing my indy's ram would be fun.


Sure, I've used tin lead RAM for years in various SGI machines. There was some discussion about it a while back in comp.sys.sgi.* and no-one who used tin-lead has ever experienced any corrosion problems.
Twitter: @neko_no_ko
IRIX Release 4.0.5 IP12 Version 06151813 System V
Copyright 1987-1992 Silicon Graphics, Inc.
All Rights Reserved.

User avatar
akimmet
Posts: 287
Joined: Sun Feb 09, 2003 10:39 am
Location: Middle Of Nowhere, OH, US

Re: indy ram

Unread postby akimmet » Wed Feb 12, 2003 5:26 am

nekonoko wrote:
waldo wrote:indytech says that 72-pin ram with tin leads will "reportedly" lead to corrosion and you ought to use ram with gold leads. anybody run tin ram? any problems?

cuz.. yeah. maxing my indy's ram would be fun.


Sure, I've used tin lead RAM for years in various SGI machines. There was some discussion about it a while back in comp.sys.sgi.* and no-one who used tin-lead has ever experienced any corrosion problems.


Corrosion does occour, but it took more than 5 years to happen to me, and was fixed by reseating it (however it was gold simms in a tin socket). So just rember to reseat your simms every five years or so, and your set! :D

User avatar
Shtoink
Posts: 839
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2003 1:46 am
Location: Port Orchard, WA

Unread postby Shtoink » Fri Feb 14, 2003 6:57 pm

Agreed, it does take quite a bit of time for any corrosion to occur. Your environmet can also affect this as well, depending upon the humidity and amount of air polution and such.


Return to “SGI: Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest