Nekochan Net

Official Chat Channel: #nekochan // irc.nekochan.net
It is currently Thu Jul 24, 2014 5:34 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Forum rules


Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: indy ram
Unread postPosted: Tue Feb 11, 2003 7:02 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Feb 01, 2003 5:09 pm
Posts: 25
Location: MN/IA, USA
indytech says that 72-pin ram with tin leads will "reportedly" lead to corrosion and you ought to use ram with gold leads. anybody run tin ram? any problems?

cuz.. yeah. maxing my indy's ram would be fun.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: indy ram
Unread postPosted: Tue Feb 11, 2003 11:31 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 1:31 am
Posts: 7970
Location: Pleasanton, California
waldo wrote:
indytech says that 72-pin ram with tin leads will "reportedly" lead to corrosion and you ought to use ram with gold leads. anybody run tin ram? any problems?

cuz.. yeah. maxing my indy's ram would be fun.


Sure, I've used tin lead RAM for years in various SGI machines. There was some discussion about it a while back in comp.sys.sgi.* and no-one who used tin-lead has ever experienced any corrosion problems.

_________________
Twitter: @neko_no_ko
IRIX Release 4.0.5 IP12 Version 06151813 System V
Copyright 1987-1992 Silicon Graphics, Inc.
All Rights Reserved.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: indy ram
Unread postPosted: Wed Feb 12, 2003 5:26 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 09, 2003 10:39 am
Posts: 287
Location: Middle Of Nowhere, OH, US
nekonoko wrote:
waldo wrote:
indytech says that 72-pin ram with tin leads will "reportedly" lead to corrosion and you ought to use ram with gold leads. anybody run tin ram? any problems?

cuz.. yeah. maxing my indy's ram would be fun.


Sure, I've used tin lead RAM for years in various SGI machines. There was some discussion about it a while back in comp.sys.sgi.* and no-one who used tin-lead has ever experienced any corrosion problems.


Corrosion does occour, but it took more than 5 years to happen to me, and was fixed by reseating it (however it was gold simms in a tin socket). So just rember to reseat your simms every five years or so, and your set! :D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Fri Feb 14, 2003 6:57 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2003 1:46 am
Posts: 839
Location: Port Orchard, WA
Agreed, it does take quite a bit of time for any corrosion to occur. Your environmet can also affect this as well, depending upon the humidity and amount of air polution and such.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group