Using a 1600SW on an Octane?

SGI hardware problems, solutions, tips, hacks, etc.
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
orb85750
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2014 3:45 pm
Location: USA

Using a 1600SW on an Octane?

Unread postby orb85750 » Sat Feb 03, 2018 12:24 pm

I have my Octane hooked up to a VGA monitor using a 13w3 to VGA cable. I just acquired a 1600sw with a Multilink too, but no cables. Anyone using a 1600sw with an Octane -- how are you doing it? Thank you.
:Octane:

User avatar
Intuition
Posts: 320
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2009 1:56 pm

Re: Using a 1600SW on an Octane?

Unread postby Intuition » Sat Feb 03, 2018 12:53 pm

I’m trying to figure this one out too.

I think one of the video cards can output dvi
And that would get you to the multilink.

But as far as 13w3 to dve I think it would require a special cable. I see something like it on Ian’s website but it costs $50 and says “rare”.

Know that I am looking for a way to do this same set up.
Image O2 - 300mhz
Image O2 - 400mhz :1600SW: 1600sw
:Octane: 2x400mhz :O200: Origin 200 2x225mhz
aka Casey Christopher

User avatar
uunix
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1869
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 12:48 pm
Location: Stourbridge / England / UK

Re: Using a 1600SW on an Octane?

Unread postby uunix » Sat Feb 03, 2018 1:21 pm

Intuition wrote:I’m trying to figure this one out too.

I think one of the video cards can output dvi
And that would get you to the multilink.

But as far as 13w3 to dve I think it would require a special cable. I see something like it on Ian’s website but it costs $50 and says “rare”.

Know that I am looking for a way to do this same set up.

I used a setup outputting from my DCD, had to modify the cable by pulling a couple of pins out. I recall it worked, then didn't then did.. typical. The info is on this site somewhere.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Hey Ho! Pip & Dandy!
:Octane2: :O2: :Indigo: :Indy:
-----------------------------------------------------------------------

orb85750
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2014 3:45 pm
Location: USA

Re: Using a 1600SW on an Octane?

Unread postby orb85750 » Sat Feb 03, 2018 6:04 pm

Oh my, sounds like this is going to be less likely than I anticipated.
:Octane:


Return to “SGI: Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest