Indigo 2 Hardware Dilemma!!! :(

SGI hardware problems, solutions, tips, hacks, etc.
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
danamon2002

Indigo 2 Hardware Dilemma!!! :(

Unread postby danamon2002 » Tue Jan 16, 2018 4:25 pm

Hey all,

I'm new to the Silicon Graphics community, and picked up an Indigo 2 on eBay. The photos showed it working and intact, but when I got it it looked like it had been manhandled in the shipping process! The front of the case is in a million tiny teal pieces and when it boots it says that the "autoboot failed." Upon further inspection (opening the front) I found out it doesn't see the hard drive at all, but the drive spins and a little green light flashes on the drive. I've tried all of the drive slots with no luck, and I know it's something wrong with the data connection... Is there anything I can do to get it to boot, or should I cut my losses and try to return it? I really don't want to return it because I don't know when I'll be able to get another. :( You can see photos of the system as an attachment.
Attachments
IMG_0757.jpg
IMG_0770.jpg
IMG_0759.jpg
IMG_0761.jpg

Raion-Fox
Donor
Donor

Re: Indigo 2 Hardware Dilemma!!! :(

Unread postby Raion-Fox » Tue Jan 16, 2018 4:32 pm

Return it man. Nobody should have to deal with a destroyed Indigo2. It's the seller's fault.
:O3x02L: R16000 700MHz 8GB RAM kanna
:Tezro: Quad R16000 700MHz V12 8GB RAM murasaki
:Indy: (Acclaim) R4600 133MHz XL Graphics 32MB RAM
:Indy: (Challenge S) R4600 133MHz (MIPS III Build Server)

I am probably posting from yangxiaolong, HP Z230 with Xeon E3-1245v3, 16GB RAM, GeForce 750ti, and running Xen on NetBSD dom0 with FreeBSD and Windows 8.1 Embedded.
Owner and operator of http://irix.cc

MrBill

Unread postby MrBill » Tue Jan 16, 2018 5:11 pm