SOLVED: Stoopid Dell monitor

SGI hardware problems, solutions, tips, hacks, etc.
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
vishnu
Donor
Donor
Posts: 3279
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 3:25 pm
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota USA

SOLVED: Stoopid Dell monitor

Unread postby vishnu » Wed Jan 10, 2018 8:19 pm

No need for anyone to reply to this, it is just a rant! :lol:

So the cathode ray tube on my (admittedly fairly ancient) Sun X7136A has been getting pretty blurry so I decided to try using one of my innumerable 13W3 -> VGA converters to hook my Octane up to my Dell U2412M (which is the monitor I use daily with my main Linux workstation). So, I hook that up, flip the power to my Octane on and hey, the bootup screen looks perfect! No SOG fail green tint, and now (obviously over optimistically) I'm thinking this might actually work! But as soon as it gets to the login screen it starts blinking, pitch dark for about two seconds then the login screen shows up for maybe a tenth of a second, then dark again for two seconds, on and on. Okay, so much for that, I'll switch back to the DVI input (by which my Linux box is connected to the same monitor), telnet into the octane and shut it down via 'shutdown -y -p'. But when I push the menu button on the monitor nothing happens; whatever the V12 is doing to confuse the monitor has obliterated it's ability to put it's system menu on the screen. :evil:

And disclaimer-wise, before I tried this (miserable failure of an experiment) I made sure my Octane was set to 1920x1200 @ 60Hz, which is the way I run it from my Linux box. So the only question on my lips now is what 24-inch flat screen do I need to buy that will cooperate with a V12 equipped SGI... :roll:
Last edited by vishnu on Fri Jan 12, 2018 9:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Project:
Temporarily lost at sea...
Plan:
World domination! Or something...

:Tezro: :Octane2:

User avatar
Raion-Fox
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1562
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 5:01 pm
Location: near King George, Virginia
Contact:

Re: Stoopid Dell monitor

Unread postby Raion-Fox » Wed Jan 10, 2018 8:27 pm

Well, AOC and ASUS in my experience work almost everytime with SOG systems
:O3x02L: R16000 700MHz 8GB RAM kanna
:Octane: R12000 300MHz SI 896MB RAM yuuka
:Octane2: R12000A 400MHz V6 2.5GB RAM
:Tezro: Quad R16000 700MHz V12 8GB RAM murasaki
:Indy: (Acclaim) R4600 133MHz XL Graphics 32MB RAM
:Indy: (Challenge S) R4600 133MHz (MIPS III Build Server)

I am probably posting from yangxiaolong, HP Z230 with Xeon E3-1230v3, 16GB RAM, GeForce 750ti, and running NetBSD and Windows 8.1 Embedded.
Owner and operator of http://irix.pw

User avatar
vishnu
Donor
Donor
Posts: 3279
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 3:25 pm
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota USA

Re: Stoopid Dell monitor

Unread postby vishnu » Wed Jan 10, 2018 8:32 pm

And that's with a 13W3 to VGA converter? I'll have to check that out. I was kind of hoping the buy an HP LP2465, we've got a bunch of those at work but of course I have no idea if it will work with a V12. When it comes to hardware I'm kind of a bonehead. Dammit Jim I'm a doctor not a computer scientist! 8-)
Project:
Temporarily lost at sea...
Plan:
World domination! Or something...

:Tezro: :Octane2:

User avatar
Raion-Fox
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1562
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 5:01 pm
Location: near King George, Virginia
Contact:

Re: Stoopid Dell monitor

Unread postby Raion-Fox » Wed Jan 10, 2018 8:40 pm

Yep! I could even give the model of the ASUS I've used before.
:O3x02L: R16000 700MHz 8GB RAM kanna
:Octane: R12000 300MHz SI 896MB RAM yuuka
:Octane2: R12000A 400MHz V6 2.5GB RAM
:Tezro: Quad R16000 700MHz V12 8GB RAM murasaki
:Indy: (Acclaim) R4600 133MHz XL Graphics 32MB RAM
:Indy: (Challenge S) R4600 133MHz (MIPS III Build Server)

I am probably posting from yangxiaolong, HP Z230 with Xeon E3-1230v3, 16GB RAM, GeForce 750ti, and running NetBSD and Windows 8.1 Embedded.
Owner and operator of http://irix.pw

User avatar
vishnu
Donor
Donor
Posts: 3279
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 3:25 pm
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota USA

Re: Stoopid Dell monitor

Unread postby vishnu » Wed Jan 10, 2018 8:52 pm

Cool, thanks! Somewhere in the wiki there's a hardware aggregator of flat screens that work with SOG, which is to say, flat screens that work with SOG without the green tint issue. But IIRC the list is a bit out of date and I (at least last time I looked) didn't see any that could do 1920x1200. Probably I should look again... :P
Project:
Temporarily lost at sea...
Plan:
World domination! Or something...

:Tezro: :Octane2:

jwhat
Posts: 337
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2003 6:25 pm
Location: Australia

Re: Stoopid Dell monitor

Unread postby jwhat » Wed Jan 10, 2018 10:10 pm

Hi ranters & ravers ;-)

Quick google on res & SOG

https://www.viewsonic.com/au/products/a ... 2435wm.php

Had to go to google due particular resolution.

Or avoid SOG get DCD ;-)


Cheers

jwhat.
jwhat - ask questions, provide answers

User avatar
vishnu
Donor
Donor
Posts: 3279
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 3:25 pm
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota USA

Re: Stoopid Dell monitor

Unread postby vishnu » Wed Jan 10, 2018 11:18 pm

As it happens I've got a DCD in my Octane, never been able to get it working though: viewtopic.php?f=16&t=16727126
Project:
Temporarily lost at sea...
Plan:
World domination! Or something...

:Tezro: :Octane2:

jwhat
Posts: 337
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2003 6:25 pm
Location: Australia

Re: Stoopid Dell monitor

Unread postby jwhat » Thu Jan 11, 2018 1:00 am

Hi Vishnu,

Octane/V12/DCD/DM2/VBOB/DM5 know this setup well, as I did lot of investigation on it X years ago.

Will read full thread ....

I got my setup going in increments, now doing similar thing but with O350/DM3 but same VBOB/DM5.

Sorry for slight tangent, but thread link covered multiple things ;-)

Cheers from Oz,

jwhat.
jwhat - ask questions, provide answers

JacquesT
Posts: 387
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2008 11:50 am
Location: Somerset, UK

Re: Stoopid Dell monitor

Unread postby JacquesT » Thu Jan 11, 2018 5:03 am

Well, a Dell 2407wfp should work at 1920x1200@60. Several users have them and it works well on my SSI at 1600x1200 (SSI won't do 1920x1200). It's SOG as well with a boatload of inputs. They are good PVA panels, I bought a second hand one for £50, like new.

Have you tried compiling a VFO file for your Dell using the panels EDID information? I'd try that first before looking for another display. You should be able to restore the default X resolution by login in via single user ('type 'single' at maintenance command prompt) and run 'setmon -x 1280x1024_72' or 'setmon -x 1280x1024_60' if you're not sure your monitor will sync at 72Hz and then reboot.
:Octane: wip build - Currently 2xR10000 250Mhz, 640MB RAM, SSI graphics, 18GB 10K RPM HDD. Lucent and HD fan mod.

Jack Luminous
Donor
Donor
Posts: 207
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 12:59 am
Location: PARIS

Re: Stoopid Dell monitor

Unread postby Jack Luminous » Thu Jan 11, 2018 7:06 am

FWIW, I recently bought a cheap 32'' ips monitor : https://www.ldlc.com/fiche/PB00229400.html

It's sold in the US too on amazon : https://www.amazon.com/RAEAN-Tech-REX-32-QHD-2560x1440/dp/B075GGJGKY/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1515682856&sr=8-1&keywords=RAEAN+tech+REX+QHD

It's a QHD resolution, 2560x1440, and has display port, hdmi and VGA inputs. It works perfectly with my V12 Octane at 1920x1080 with a 13W3 to VGA adapter. Image quality is very good for the price. 8-)
:Octane2: :Octane: :Octane: :O2:

User avatar
vishnu
Donor
Donor
Posts: 3279
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 3:25 pm
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota USA

Re: Stoopid Dell monitor

Unread postby vishnu » Thu Jan 11, 2018 12:55 pm

I've never been able to successfully compile a custom vfo file, not even with the aid of recondas' very fine tutorial. :roll:

But if I do decide to get a new monitor I'll just run down to the corner Best Buy and pick one up, this being Minnesota you can't go more than a few blocks without stumbling across yet another Best Buy... :shock:
Project:
Temporarily lost at sea...
Plan:
World domination! Or something...

:Tezro: :Octane2:

User avatar
GRudolf94
Posts: 69
Joined: Sun Dec 10, 2017 2:49 pm
Location: Somewhere in Southern Brazil
Contact:

Re: Stoopid Dell monitor

Unread postby GRudolf94 » Thu Jan 11, 2018 9:18 pm

While you're at it, open the Sun CRT and see if you can find a "Focus" trimpot. It's usually on the side of the flyback transformer (which usually has a red cable coming out of it into the tube)

Standard CRT disclaimer: a mishandled CRT *WILL KILL YOU*
Don't poke any bits with your fingers or uninsulated tools while monitor is on, be mindful those things store a charge even when off, yadda yadda yadda. Adjusting the focus should be easy to do, though.
:Indy: R5000@180MHz, 256MB, XL-24, IndyCam
:Indigo2: R10K@195MHz in broken teal case with broken purple bottom, XZ Graphics, missing: RAM, drives/sleds, case bits, PSU; awaiting completion [ATX PSU CONVERSION IN THE WORKS!]
misc: Some Sun stuff, lots of x86 crap, one MSX and a MSX2+, a ZX Spectrum clone, slotloader 400MHz overclocked to 500MHz! iMac G3

User avatar
vishnu
Donor
Donor
Posts: 3279
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 3:25 pm
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota USA

Re: Stoopid Dell monitor

Unread postby vishnu » Thu Jan 11, 2018 9:58 pm

GRudolf94 wrote:While you're at it, open the Sun CRT and see if you can find a "Focus" trimpot. It's usually on the side of the flyback transformer (which usually has a red cable coming out of it into the tube)

Standard CRT disclaimer: a mishandled CRT *WILL KILL YOU*
Don't poke any bits with your fingers or uninsulated tools while monitor is on, be mindful those things store a charge even when off, yadda yadda yadda. Adjusting the focus should be easy to do, though.

Actually I was trying to crack into the back of it to do just that, but the f-in thing's like a five room puzzle, the only way to "solve" it is to break it... :shock:
Project:
Temporarily lost at sea...
Plan:
World domination! Or something...

:Tezro: :Octane2:

User avatar
GRudolf94
Posts: 69
Joined: Sun Dec 10, 2017 2:49 pm
Location: Somewhere in Southern Brazil
Contact:

Re: Stoopid Dell monitor

Unread postby GRudolf94 » Fri Jan 12, 2018 9:09 am

vishnu wrote:...but the f-in thing's like a five room puzzle, the only way to "solve" it is to break it...



Today I gained another tidbit of interesting trivia: what a five-room puzzle is. Man, I love the internet

Went after a service manual for that monitor, and I've only found diagrams with no disassembly instructions. Whack at it with a screwdriver until it gives way, I guess? No, don't do that, I did that just 3h ago to fix mom's freezer before the food defrosted because the bezel had no obvious catches and I mangled the corners of it quite a bit.
:Indy: R5000@180MHz, 256MB, XL-24, IndyCam
:Indigo2: R10K@195MHz in broken teal case with broken purple bottom, XZ Graphics, missing: RAM, drives/sleds, case bits, PSU; awaiting completion [ATX PSU CONVERSION IN THE WORKS!]
misc: Some Sun stuff, lots of x86 crap, one MSX and a MSX2+, a ZX Spectrum clone, slotloader 400MHz overclocked to 500MHz! iMac G3

User avatar
vishnu
Donor
Donor
Posts: 3279
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 3:25 pm
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota USA

Re: Stoopid Dell monitor

Unread postby vishnu » Fri Jan 12, 2018 11:16 am

I suppose it doesn't really matter if I break it since it's getting too blurry to be useful anymore. Other than the blur the thing is mint though. Plus I excel at breaking home appliances, my dishwasher's thermal fuse blew, and not having a replacement I jumpered around it with an alligator clip, it worked fine for a couple of years and then foof! :shock:
Attachments
dw-01.12.2018.jpg
Project:
Temporarily lost at sea...
Plan:
World domination! Or something...

:Tezro: :Octane2:


Return to “SGI: Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Semrush [Bot] and 3 guests