Page 1 of 1

My first Octane

Posted: Fri Sep 08, 2017 11:01 am
by 1byte
I got the one from ebay, $200 sight unseen.
My only worry is that the previous owner "confirmed there were 2 cpu's", and I'm unsure how they did this without removing the heatsink and probably damaging the carrier.

Anyhow, the only information that I know of so far is that it is

CMNB015ANF195, contains 2 drive sleds - but maybe no disks? and contains at least 192MB ram.

And it should be delivered by the 18th.
I can at least get in with a serial console, and check things out. I will need a vga adapter...


Now to go update my signature!

Re: My first Octane

Posted: Fri Sep 08, 2017 11:13 am
by Irinikus
You can tell whether it's a single or dual CPU by observing the length of the heatsink.

Note that you can't convert a machine to a dual CPU by simply plugging in another single CPU module. The machine only takes one module which is either a single or dual CPU module.

Single CPU
octane-ip30-1802.jpg


Dual CPU
s-l640.jpg

Re: My first Octane

Posted: Sat Sep 09, 2017 6:54 am
by Dodoid
If you deal with Octanes often, you can also sometimes tell a dual CPU system by its weight. Mine is certainly heavier than the single CPU ones.

Re: My first Octane

Posted: Sat Sep 09, 2017 9:26 am
by 1byte
I saw a picture of the board, and it's definitely Dual 195MHz.

Re: My first Octane

Posted: Sat Sep 09, 2017 9:30 am
by Irinikus
Thats great to hear! :D

Re: My first Octane

Posted: Tue Sep 19, 2017 3:29 pm
by 1byte
Got the Octane in today. Still looking for a monitor option - need to source adapter, will power on with serial interface soon.

No disk drives, but TWO drive sleds!. BUT I have a 4 disk SCSI Sun external drive enclosure just sitting full of barracuda drives which I might steal one.

The top screw to pull out the graphics board is STUCK and STRIPPED! That's gonna take some repair.

Something seems to have spilled, leaked, into the bottom of the housing on the logic board side. The CPU board looks dusty but pristine. Will keep you posted.

Re: My first Octane

Posted: Tue Sep 19, 2017 5:55 pm
by Raion-Fox
1byte wrote:Got the Octane in today. Still looking for a monitor option - need to source adapter, will power on with serial interface soon.

No disk drives, but TWO drive sleds!. BUT I have a 4 disk SCSI Sun external drive enclosure just sitting full of barracuda drives which I might steal one.

The top screw to pull out the graphics board is STUCK and STRIPPED! That's gonna take some repair.

Something seems to have spilled, leaked, into the bottom of the housing on the logic board side. The CPU board looks dusty but pristine. Will keep you posted.



You can use a screw extractor to get that top screw out. The drive carriers are cheap if it's not a VPro one.

Re: My first Octane

Posted: Wed Sep 20, 2017 9:30 am
by Dodoid
Hmm... picture? I would consider dremeling the top and then removing it with a flathead, but you may damage the plastic "handle" around the screw.

Re: My first Octane

Posted: Wed Sep 20, 2017 12:49 pm
by duck
Be careful with the disk spud trays, they can be fragile. I had one shatter...

Re: My first Octane

Posted: Wed Sep 20, 2017 2:05 pm
by 1byte
Dodoid wrote:Hmm... picture? I would consider dremeling the top and then removing it with a flathead, but you may damage the plastic "handle" around the screw.


I'm not sure it needs to be that drastic. Just some pliers and force is all that's really needed. I assume it is bound on the spring. I'll get it out soon!
I just moved into a new place so I don't really have a desk setup yet, but that will also happen soon!

Re: My first Octane

Posted: Thu Sep 21, 2017 11:57 am
by mopar5150
I wouldn't pull the graphics board unless you need to. Get it tested first. I can send you a bootable drive and graphics cable cheap to get you going.

What graphics do you have?

Re: My first Octane

Posted: Thu Sep 21, 2017 1:13 pm
by 1byte
mopar5150 wrote:I wouldn't pull the graphics board unless you need to. Get it tested first. I can send you a bootable drive and graphics cable cheap to get you going.

What graphics do you have?



Normally I would agree, and it's probably fine, but I wanted to check that pesky rust/leaked weird spot to see if it had damage on the XIO side. I have... some kind of graphics, based on look of the rear panel alone, its either SI or MXI.

I'd love a bootable drive and graphics cable! I was going to try a netboot it when I get my network setup in my new place.

Re: My first Octane

Posted: Fri Sep 22, 2017 12:26 pm
by mopar5150
Cool,
PM me your shipping address. :)