SGI Octane graphics problem

SGI hardware problems, solutions, tips, hacks, etc.
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
jessedewaard
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2016 1:08 pm
Location: The Netherlands

SGI Octane graphics problem

Unread postby jessedewaard » Mon Jul 24, 2017 1:15 pm

I recently bought a broken Octane for cheap.
When i hooked the system up it gave me a red light and so no boot.
Via the serial port one i can see the following message:

Running power-on diagnostics...

XIO Slot Reset Failure *FAILED*

Check or replace: XIO device 12

When i remove the graphics board (SE with TRAM i think) it boots just fine.
Does any one know how to further diagnose it?

Thanks

User avatar
uunix
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1793
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 12:48 pm
Location: Stourbridge / England / UK

Re: SGI Octane graphics problem

Unread postby uunix » Mon Jul 24, 2017 3:49 pm

Just a thought, can one switch the position of the board so it goes in a different XIO slot. Never thought about this before myself, but am aware of second card fitted in B slots etc. ?
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Hey Ho! Pip & Dandy!
:Octane2: :O2: :Indigo: :Indy:
-----------------------------------------------------------------------

User avatar
dexter1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2735
Joined: Thu Feb 20, 2003 6:57 am
Location: Zoetermeer, The Netherlands

Re: SGI Octane graphics problem

Unread postby dexter1 » Tue Jul 25, 2017 2:46 am

this one?
Kudos for taking the risk. At 35$ it's a cheap project to play with :)

First make sure that the compression connector isn't shot. Does it have traces of cleaning or is it bent? If the connector is fine, try and fit the SE to the the XIO slot B
:Crimson: :PI: :Indigo: :O2: :Indy: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP:

jessedewaard
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2016 1:08 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: SGI Octane graphics problem

Unread postby jessedewaard » Tue Jul 25, 2017 5:48 am

Yes it's that one, i couldn't resist buying it for that price ;) .
Any way the system seems fine other than the graphics board, also the case is in good condition.

I checked if the board works in an other xio slot but tried only slot D if am not mistaking, so i will try slot B this evening.
I have never owned a octane(only indigo / indigo 2) before so am new to the compression slot but it looks fine to me.
The connection points are gray dots and look clean.

The graphics board has the TRAM installed, could this be safely removed to check if it is faulty?

User avatar
jan-jaap
Donor
Donor
Posts: 4881
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2004 11:35 am
Location: Wijchen, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: SGI Octane graphics problem

Unread postby jan-jaap » Tue Jul 25, 2017 5:51 am

jessedewaard wrote:The graphics board has the TRAM installed, could this be safely removed to check if it is faulty?

Yes.

I think I have 1 or 2 SE boards in storage.
:PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Octane: :Octane2: :O2: :O2+: Image :Fuel: :Tezro: :4D70G: :Skywriter: :PWRSeries: :Crimson: :ChallengeL: :Onyx: :O200: :Onyx2: :O3x02L:
To accentuate the special identity of the IRIS 4D/70, Silicon Graphics' designers selected a new color palette. The machine's coating blends dark grey, raspberry and beige colors into a pleasing harmony. (IRIS 4D/70 Superworkstation Technical Report)

jessedewaard
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2016 1:08 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: SGI Octane graphics problem

Unread postby jessedewaard » Tue Jul 25, 2017 1:49 pm

Oke so i tested the graphics board in port B first without and than with TRAM attached to it and it works(both ways).
I can see IRIX boot on the screen and hinv in the prom lists the graphics board, so thanks for the help guys.

My only concern now is that there are cooling vents on slot A/D(to the inside of the machine) and not on B/C.
I that a problem or can i safely use the graphics board in slot B?

robespierre
Posts: 1551
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2011 2:28 pm
Location: Boston

Re: SGI Octane graphics problem

Unread postby robespierre » Tue Jul 25, 2017 2:13 pm

All slots receive some cooling, but slot C gets the least. Any card in slot C forces "fastfan" mode, which is incredibly loud.
:PI: :O2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP:

jessedewaard
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2016 1:08 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: SGI Octane graphics problem

Unread postby jessedewaard » Tue Jul 25, 2017 2:14 pm

Sadly the problem is back again after a reboot of the system.
I guess the compression connector may be bad than?

jessedewaard
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2016 1:08 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: SGI Octane graphics problem

Unread postby jessedewaard » Tue Jul 25, 2017 2:42 pm

So hopefully i fixed it permanently now, i carefully scratched all the points on the compression connector and it runs good now.
Even after a couple of reboots and reinserting the graphics card.
The points on the compression connector where oxidated i guess.


Return to “SGI: Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest