Two Identical Octanes? Or are they? (Boot problem)

SGI hardware problems, solutions, tips, hacks, etc.
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
uunix
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1795
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 12:48 pm
Location: Stourbridge / England / UK

Two Identical Octanes? Or are they? (Boot problem)

Unread postby uunix » Sun Jun 11, 2017 2:32 pm

As I started writing this, as with many issues, you suddenly get a brainstorm.. and that didn't work.

So I have two very similar Octane 2's Machine 1 and Machine 2

Both 2 x 600 Mhz CPU
Machine 1 has a tad under 4GB Ram, Machine 2 has a Tad Over 1 GB
Both have V12 with DCD

Machine 1 has DM3 with 2 x FC & PCi shoe box... GB Lan... the other doesn't.

Both 1.4 XBow..

So, should I be able to take the root drive from one, place it in the other and boot? So long as the boot up env is correct yes?

On boot I get -
Unable to execute xio(0)pci(15)scsi(0)disk(1)rdsk(0)partition(0): execute form error

Now the xio(0)pci(15)scsi(0)disk(1)..blah.. I thought was strange because the donor machine had scsi(0)disk(1)... blah

So I changed Machine 2 to match. Still wouldn't load, yet leaving these setting and putting the original disk in, it booted fine.

Both run 6.5.30 normally, so any prom updates would have been done if such a thing exists, the second machine just won't boot from this disk.

The disk partition looks fine and must be, because it boots up fine in Machine 1.

What gives?
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Hey Ho! Pip & Dandy!
:Octane2: :O2: :Indigo: :Indy:
-----------------------------------------------------------------------

robespierre
Posts: 1554
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2011 2:28 pm
Location: Boston

Re: Two Identical Octanes? Or are they? (Boot problem)

Unread postby robespierre » Sun Jun 11, 2017 2:45 pm

looks like missing boot file argument/ OSLoadFilename. Is the default kernel name set in the disklabel? (fx label/show/bootinfo)
:PI: :O2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP:

User avatar
uunix
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1795
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 12:48 pm
Location: Stourbridge / England / UK

Re: Two Identical Octanes? Or are they? (Boot problem)

Unread postby uunix » Sun Jun 11, 2017 3:06 pm

Holly Cow.. :D Nice spot chap..

Code: Select all

fx/label/show> b

----- bootinfo-----
 root partition = 0     swap partition = 1    bootfile =

----- please choose one (? for help, .. to quit this menu)-----
[para]meters       [part]itions       [b]ootinfo         [a]ll
[g]eometry         [s]giinfo          [d]irectory
fx/label/show>


But.. how did it boot on Machine 1 I ask? and how do I add one without destroying the universe?
[Edit] Nice one robespierre , I have changed the bootinfo. and we are away.. :D
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Hey Ho! Pip & Dandy!
:Octane2: :O2: :Indigo: :Indy:
-----------------------------------------------------------------------

robespierre
Posts: 1554
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2011 2:28 pm
Location: Boston

Re: Two Identical Octanes? Or are they? (Boot problem)

Unread postby robespierre » Sun Jun 11, 2017 4:08 pm

One machine has the filename set as a NVRAM variable and the other one doesn't
:PI: :O2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP:


Return to “SGI: Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 2 guests