Netgear GA620T Branded Gigabit card.

SGI hardware problems, solutions, tips, hacks, etc.
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
Kotomo
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2016 11:14 am
Location: Maryland, USA.

Netgear GA620T Branded Gigabit card.

Unread postby Kotomo » Sat May 13, 2017 9:33 am

Forgive me if this information is more straightforward elsewhere. I am a complete n00b about dealing with non SGI branded hardware.

I've got two of these gigabit ethernet cards pictured here:
Image
Image

They look very similar the card posted here in the PCI card thread. The one in the O2K shoehorn: viewtopic.php?f=3&t=16722903&start=0

I'm honestly not sure where to begin with listing or revealing what hardware Irix can see when I have this inserted in a PCI card cage for one of my octanes. Any pointing in the right direction is greatly appreciated.

Perhaps this Netgear branded card is just an anomaly. So I'm curious if anyone else has ever seen it before.

Thanks.
:Octane: :Octane: :Octane: :Octane: :Octane2: :Octane2: :Fuel: :O2: :O2: :O2: :O2000: :O2000:

User avatar
dexter1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2743
Joined: Thu Feb 20, 2003 6:57 am
Location: Zoetermeer, The Netherlands

Re: Netgear GA620T Branded Gigabit card.

Unread postby dexter1 » Sat May 13, 2017 9:44 am

Have a look in this old thread viewtopic.php?f=3&t=1672&hilit=ga620&start=15

The cards seem to be the same, but there might be firmware issues.
:Crimson: :PI: :Indigo: :O2: :Indy: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP:

User avatar
Kotomo
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2016 11:14 am
Location: Maryland, USA.

Re: Netgear GA620T Branded Gigabit card.

Unread postby Kotomo » Sat May 13, 2017 4:00 pm

Cool, thanks!
:Octane: :Octane: :Octane: :Octane: :Octane2: :Octane2: :Fuel: :O2: :O2: :O2: :O2000: :O2000:

User avatar
Kotomo
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2016 11:14 am
Location: Maryland, USA.

Re: Netgear GA620T Branded Gigabit card.

Unread postby Kotomo » Mon May 15, 2017 7:11 am

Happy to report I got this working in one of my Octanes. They are just Netgear branded AceNIC cards. So in this case, the vendor ID and device ID reported by hinv -vm is 0x1385 0x630a respectively. This lines up with what's on Linux kernel driver database page for the card here: https://cateee.net/lkddb/web-lkddb/ACENIC.html

Substituting in these ID's into if_eg.o worked on the Octane. I installed the second one of these I have into my Fuel. I used the if_eg.o file I modified for the Octane but that is not working. I suspect I need to modify the original if_eg.o file that was installed due to the different CPU's.
:Octane: :Octane: :Octane: :Octane: :Octane2: :Octane2: :Fuel: :O2: :O2: :O2: :O2000: :O2000:


Return to “SGI: Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests