Octane2 chassis won't work with other mainboards

SGI hardware problems, solutions, tips, hacks, etc.
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
japes
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1006
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2007 4:35 pm
Location: Lynnwood, WA

Octane2 chassis won't work with other mainboards

Unread postby japes » Tue May 09, 2017 2:40 am

Story time, but a problem follows if anyone has any ideas...

In getting my Octane2 working I ended up buying a couple more along the journey. First I bought a 400/V8 system - I found the frontplane fan not working and took it all apart, replaced both fans, then took it apart again to reinstall the original main fan (behind the hard drive bays). Somehow SGI can tell the speed of this fan, even without a speed sense wire. The Octane2 wouldn't register the speed of my replacement and ran it at full speed (fastfan).

After all this I had instability, sometimes I couldn't get through a network IRIX install, once I had a working install it would hard crash (mouse frozen). I assumed something had happened with the frontplane (or maybe the main board) and kind of ignored it after trying a few hard drives assuming that was the problem initially. Let's call this machine 'A'.

I bought a parts machine in the last year or two and when it came it wouldn't boot. It had no door but okay looking otherwise. It was in white styrofoam peanuts and I got a big zap off of the casework when I pulled it out of the box, I figured maybe that was to blame. The ebay seller had listed it as working. I pulled the main board and it worked in my Octane2 and learned I scored a dual 600 cpu module - I think I swapped it to my mainboard. I couldn't get my graphics or mainboard to work in the parts machine, or maybe I did - but the graphics wouldn't work (it's been a while) The graphics from the parts machine were dead (sadly a V12). I hassled the ebay seller and got some money back. The V12 graphics came up as graphics error if I put it in my machine (A). Call this machine 'B'.

I found another Octane2 about a year ago with 2xESI graphics and CADDUO + shoebox and bought it - for some reason it was wearing Octane skins. The recycler was about a hour away but listed on ebay - I arranged to get it, confirmed it was the Octane2 when I picked it up, then headed home. They had some more Octanes that were Octanes and had the same graphics/CADDUO options going on. I figure they were from the same place and maybe this had replaced an Octane that died and they didn't want their engineers to get jealous. All the machines they had were without drives or trays. Once home I found it had a dual 400 cpu module. I set it aside to swap skins and build up later. Call this machine 'C'.

Key:
A = first Octane2 of this wave
B = Octane2 bought for parts
C = Octane2 with Octane skins bought to build into a working example

This week I had the first (A) Octane2 out for some testing. It was working well enough, playing MP3s from a NFS mount and filling my garage with sound - and heat. I had it running for over 24 hours just fine. But I tried running another program (mozilla I think) and it crashed hard, sound stopped and the mouse wouldn't even move.

I got thinking on this and tried reading the entire hard drive, just fine. Ran diagnostics, that was fine too. Obviously it was passing the POST fine too. Then I tried using up the memory with squeeze(1) and came across thrash(1) and sure enough, with some repetitions and tweaking I could crash the system pretty much on demand. I swapped memory with another system and I was solid. A little more testing on one of the other systems and I narrowed it down to one pair of the two pairs of DATARAM brand 256MB DIMMs I had. I've set them aside and if I ever have an orphan I'll see if I can make a pair again.

Great! One system up and solid.

Since they were all out, system B wouldn't boot at all, immediate power on in most cases, no terminal output. Okay fine I thought, I'll save the useful parts and recycle the chassis. I found some corrosion on the V12 - explaining why it wasn't working. It looks like a few leads of a RAM chip are actually broken. I've been working on cleaning it up but the pads are in bad shape - I might try replacing the RAM chips if I can find replacements. I turned my attention to getting the system fan out and while I was in so deep I looked at the front plane and didn't see anything glaring, was thinking maybe something had been spilled into the machine - but no damage. I decided to reassemble and now it works fine. My V8 graphics and any of the three mainboards work in this system (B). Okay - that's strange.

Okay! Another system that works - now I'm going to need to fix a lightbar, and find more graphics boards....

System C had been working fine with it's mainboard but it won't work with either of my other two mainboards from my Octane2s. One the lightbar starts out white and switches to red, one the fans come on like it's going to run - but no lightbar lights. No output to the console

Any idea why this one Octane2 (C) is happy with it's mainboard, but refuses others? It's not that big of a deal, I might send it packing because despite having a door the plastics are dirty and I have plenty. I will probably use the dual 400 in one of my Octanes, but it would be nice if this system didn't seem kind of broken. I could take it apart maybe since it's kind of like system B's mystery not working until reassembled, but I'm not in any hurry.
:O3000: :Fuel: :Tezro: :Tezro: :Octane2: :Octane: :Octane: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :O2: :1600SW: :O2: :1600SW: :1600SW: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :O3x0: :O3x02L: :O3x02L:

User avatar
dexter1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2743
Joined: Thu Feb 20, 2003 6:57 am
Location: Zoetermeer, The Netherlands

Re: Octane2 chassis won't work with other mainboards

Unread postby dexter1 » Tue May 09, 2017 3:12 am

japes wrote:Any idea why this one Octane2 (C) is happy with it's mainboard, but refuses others?


Incompatible revisions between XBOW and mainboard could cause this behaviour. Could you post a hinv -vm of that Octane C ?
:Crimson: :PI: :Indigo: :O2: :Indy: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP:

User avatar
japes
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1006
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2007 4:35 pm
Location: Lynnwood, WA

Re: Octane2 chassis won't work with other mainboards

Unread postby japes » Fri May 12, 2017 11:52 pm

Okay, moved stuff around and got the Octane2's out again...

Octane2 C

Code: Select all

IRIS 2# hinv -vm
Location: /hw/node
      PM20400MHZ Board: barcode KXA987     part 030-1476-001 rev  D
Location: /hw/node/xtalk/15
            IP30 Board: barcode LDY425     part 030-1467-001 rev  D
Location: /hw/node/xtalk/15/pci/2
             FP1 Board: barcode KVH301     part 030-0891-003 rev  G
    PWR.SPPLY.ER Board: barcode AAE0230673 part 060-0035-002 rev  A
Location: /hw/node/xtalk/13
        XTALKPCI Board: barcode JKK323     part 030-0952-005 rev  E
Location: /hw/node/xtalk/13/pci/1
        PCI_ENET Board: barcode JJM218     part 030-1155-002 rev  D
Location: /hw/node/xtalk/12
           MOT10 Board: barcode HLG722     part 030-1241-002 rev  H
Location: /hw/node/xtalk/11
           MOT10 Board: barcode LKJ766     part 030-1241-002 rev  K
2 400 MHZ IP30 Processors
Heart ASIC: Revision F
CPU: MIPS R12000 Processor Chip Revision: 3.5
FPU: MIPS R12010 Floating Point Chip Revision: 0.0
Main memory size: 512 Mbytes
Xbow ASIC: Revision 1.4
Instruction cache size: 32 Kbytes
Data cache size: 32 Kbytes
Secondary unified instruction/data cache size: 2 Mbytes
Integral SCSI controller 0: Version QL1040B (rev. 2), single ended
  Disk drive: unit 1 on SCSI controller 0 (unit 1)
Integral SCSI controller 1: Version QL1040B (rev. 2), single ended
IOC3/IOC4 serial port: tty1
IOC3/IOC4 serial port: tty2
IOC3 parallel port: plp1
Graphics board: ESI
Graphics board: ESI
Integral Fast Ethernet: ef0, version 1, pci 2
Fast Ethernet: ef1, version 1, pci 1
Iris Audio Processor: version RAD revision 12.0, number 1
  PCI Adapter ID (vendor 0x10a9, device 0x0003) PCI slot 2
  PCI Adapter ID (vendor 0x1077, device 0x1020) PCI slot 0
  PCI Adapter ID (vendor 0x1077, device 0x1020) PCI slot 1
  PCI Adapter ID (vendor 0x10a9, device 0x0005) PCI slot 3
  PCI Adapter ID (vendor 0x10a9, device 0x0003) PCI slot 1


IRIS 3# /usr/gfx/gfxinfo
Graphics board 0 is "IMPACTSR" graphics.
        Managed (":0.0") 1280x1024
        Product ID 0x2, 1 GE, 1 RE, 0 TRAMs
        MGRAS revision 4, RA revision 0
        HQ rev B, GE12 rev A, RE4 rev C, PP1 rev H,
        VC3 rev A, CMAP rev F, Heart rev F
        unknown, assuming 19" monitor (id 0xf)

        Channel 0:
         Origin = (0,0)
         Video Output: 1280 pixels, 1024 lines, 60.00Hz (1280x1024_60)
Graphics board 1 is "IMPACTSR" graphics.
        Managed (":0.1") 1280x1024
        Product ID 0x2, 1 GE, 1 RE, 0 TRAMs
        MGRAS revision 4, RA revision 0
        HQ rev B, GE12 rev A, RE4 rev C, PP1 rev E,
        VC3 rev A, CMAP rev F, Heart rev F
        unknown, assuming 19" monitor (id 0xf)

        Channel 0:
         Origin = (0,0)
         Video Output: 1280 pixels, 1024 lines, 60.00Hz (1280x1024_60)


Octane B

Code: Select all

Location: /hw/node
      PM10400MHZ Board: barcode LJX816     part 030-1475-001 rev  B
Location: /hw/node/xtalk/15
            IP30 Board: barcode LKV747     part 030-1467-001 rev  D
Location: /hw/node/xtalk/15/pci/2
             FP1 Board: barcode MVH704     part 030-0891-003 rev  J
    PWR.SPPLY.ER Board: barcode AAE3370004 part 060-0035-003 rev  A
1 400 MHZ IP30 Processor
Heart ASIC: Revision F
CPU: MIPS R12000 Processor Chip Revision: 3.5
FPU: MIPS R12010 Floating Point Chip Revision: 0.0
Main memory size: 512 Mbytes
Xbow ASIC: Revision 1.4
Instruction cache size: 32 Kbytes
Data cache size: 32 Kbytes
Secondary unified instruction/data cache size: 2 Mbytes
Integral SCSI controller 0: Version QL1040B (rev. 2), single ended
  Disk drive: unit 1 on SCSI controller 0 (unit 1)
Integral SCSI controller 1: Version QL1040B (rev. 2), single ended
IOC3/IOC4 serial port: tty1
IOC3/IOC4 serial port: tty2
IOC3 parallel port: plp1
Integral Fast Ethernet: ef0, version 1, pci 2
Iris Audio Processor: version RAD revision 12.0, number 1
  PCI Adapter ID (vendor 0x10a9, device 0x0003) PCI slot 2
  PCI Adapter ID (vendor 0x1077, device 0x1020) PCI slot 0
  PCI Adapter ID (vendor 0x1077, device 0x1020) PCI slot 1
  PCI Adapter ID (vendor 0x10a9, device 0x0005) PCI slot 3
:O3000: :Fuel: :Tezro: :Tezro: :Octane2: :Octane: :Octane: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :O2: :1600SW: :O2: :1600SW: :1600SW: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :O3x0: :O3x02L: :O3x02L:

User avatar
Raion-Fox
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1438
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 5:01 pm
Location: near King George, Virginia
Contact:

Re: Octane2 chassis won't work with other mainboards

Unread postby Raion-Fox » Sat May 13, 2017 12:03 am

Black handle or grey handle motherboard on C?
:O3x02L: R16000 700MHz 8GB RAM kanna
:Octane: R12000 300MHz SI 896MB RAM yuuka
:Octane2: R12000A 400MHz V6 2.5GB RAM
:Indy: (Acclaim) R4600 133MHz XL Graphics 32MB RAM
:Indy: (Challenge S) R4600 133MHz (MIPS III Build Server)

I am probably posting from yangxiaolong, HP Z230 with Xeon E3-1230v3, 16GB RAM, GeForce 750ti, and running NetBSD and Windows 8.1 Embedded.
Owner and operator of http://irix.pw

User avatar
japes
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1006
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2007 4:35 pm
Location: Lynnwood, WA

Re: Octane2 chassis won't work with other mainboards

Unread postby japes » Sat May 13, 2017 12:27 am

Raion-Fox wrote:Black handle or grey handle motherboard on C?


All are grey/silver...

FP1 boards
A: 030-0891-003 rev H
B: 030-0891-003 rev J
C: 030-0891-003 rev G

IP30 boards
A: 030-1467-001 rev K
B: 030-1467-001 rev D
C: 030-1467-001 rev D

I have some black handle IP30 boards in my Octanes, I'm thinking of giving them a try this weekend or next week if I fail at the weekend.
:O3000: :Fuel: :Tezro: :Tezro: :Octane2: :Octane: :Octane: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :O2: :1600SW: :O2: :1600SW: :1600SW: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :O3x0: :O3x02L: :O3x02L:

User avatar
japes
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1006
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2007 4:35 pm
Location: Lynnwood, WA

Re: Octane2 chassis won't work with other mainboards

Unread postby japes » Sat May 13, 2017 12:30 am

Having spent some time inventorying unit C I can say it had a rough life - the top handles of both the XIO carrier and the IP30 board were smashed up pretty bad, bent screws, the XIO carrier top handle fell off once I tried to use it to pull the release mechanism. Maybe pulling the front off wouldn't be such a bad idea.

Looking around I think I might try to clean these skins up a little - they are the new logo style (I know, not always popular, but all my Octanes are old logo I think).
:O3000: :Fuel: :Tezro: :Tezro: :Octane2: :Octane: :Octane: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :O2: :1600SW: :O2: :1600SW: :1600SW: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :O3x0: :O3x02L: :O3x02L:

User avatar
Raion-Fox
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1438
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 5:01 pm
Location: near King George, Virginia
Contact:

Re: Octane2 chassis won't work with other mainboards

Unread postby Raion-Fox » Sat May 13, 2017 12:33 am

I would like the new-style green skins because I can't find any examples of them! Magic eraser and armour all do wonders.
:O3x02L: R16000 700MHz 8GB RAM kanna
:Octane: R12000 300MHz SI 896MB RAM yuuka
:Octane2: R12000A 400MHz V6 2.5GB RAM
:Indy: (Acclaim) R4600 133MHz XL Graphics 32MB RAM
:Indy: (Challenge S) R4600 133MHz (MIPS III Build Server)

I am probably posting from yangxiaolong, HP Z230 with Xeon E3-1230v3, 16GB RAM, GeForce 750ti, and running NetBSD and Windows 8.1 Embedded.
Owner and operator of http://irix.pw

User avatar
japes
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1006
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2007 4:35 pm
Location: Lynnwood, WA

Re: Octane2 chassis won't work with other mainboards

Unread postby japes » Sun Sep 24, 2017 3:50 pm

Bit of an old thread, sorry to bring it back up since it has a big intro. I sold the 1x400 (B) Octane2, perhaps mistakenly...the chassis that only worked with the motherboard I received with it I kept - because the awesome Octane skins. I decided to build it up as a dual head, CADduo workstation with MXI + ESI. I also wanted to make it weird so I added a MENET card.

Well, weird I got. Only 3 of the 4 network ports showed up when I started...I even pulled the CADduo card and the total number of interfaces went from 5 to 4 (built-in + 3 from MENET). Further, only 4 of the 6 serial ports were showing from the MENET.

I searched and searched and found some mention of a problem like this from another member that left - unfortunately the threads are broken as the OP's messages were deleted and I only had some quoted messages to go by. Not a lot of detail, and since they're not active and it's been over a year I don't know if they still have the machine.

Since I already had problems with the motherboard working I took the XIO carrier to my Octane with dual 250s, first gen motherboard, CADduo and 2-port serial...and to my amazement it started up with 6 ethernet interfaces and 10 serial ports.

I'm guessing some kind of bug or problem in the front plane. I moved the motherboard over to the Octane and it functions fine - so I'll leave it like that and probably end up getting rid of the front plane, pretty much assuming it's at fault at this point, either some early 1.4 silicon with a bug or just a broken example. I did look, and the compression connectors all look clean.
:O3000: :Fuel: :Tezro: :Tezro: :Octane2: :Octane: :Octane: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :O2: :1600SW: :O2: :1600SW: :1600SW: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :O3x0: :O3x02L: :O3x02L:

robespierre
Posts: 1578
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2011 2:28 pm
Location: Boston

Re: Octane2 chassis won't work with other mainboards

Unread postby robespierre » Mon Sep 25, 2017 11:03 am

Each network interface needs to be provisioned in software to work. The same is true for serial ports.
:PI: :O2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP:

User avatar
japes
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1006
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2007 4:35 pm
Location: Lynnwood, WA

Re: Octane2 chassis won't work with other mainboards

Unread postby japes » Mon Sep 25, 2017 1:46 pm

robespierre wrote:Each network interface needs to be provisioned in software to work. The same is true for serial ports.


How so? Let me elaborate, if I have the MENET in one chassis the serial ports and ethernet interfaces aren't reported by 'hinv', looking further they aren't even showing in the device tree. When I swap the MENET to another chassis the devices show in 'hinv'.
:O3000: :Fuel: :Tezro: :Tezro: :Octane2: :Octane: :Octane: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :O2: :1600SW: :O2: :1600SW: :1600SW: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :O3x0: :O3x02L: :O3x02L:

User avatar
japes
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1006
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2007 4:35 pm
Location: Lynnwood, WA

Re: Octane2 chassis won't work with other mainboards

Unread postby japes » Wed Oct 18, 2017 12:10 am

I pulled my Octane2 out, same story when it comes to the MENET. I believe on the 1.4 XBow frontplane one ethernet port and two serial ports become unavailable - solved by running the MENET in an older Octane chassis.

On the Octane2 chassis in this thread, seems like it'll take older motherboards (black handle). I'm not sure what makes the one silver handle board I have that works work...but with the MENET issue and some hardware swapping I have it in a working combination now.
:O3000: :Fuel: :Tezro: :Tezro: :Octane2: :Octane: :Octane: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :O2: :1600SW: :O2: :1600SW: :1600SW: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :O3x0: :O3x02L: :O3x02L:


Return to “SGI: Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests