New Octane, odd issues

SGI hardware problems, solutions, tips, hacks, etc.
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
astouffer
Posts: 194
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2011 5:52 pm

New Octane, odd issues

Unread postby astouffer » Wed Apr 12, 2017 8:06 pm

Hello all, I just scored an Octane from eBay. Its a dual 300Mhz and didn't come with any ram so I moved the simms over from my dead Octane and it's alive! I was able to boot with a serial console and clear the prom password. So far so good.

When booting with a serial console I'm getting this error

Code: Select all

nic_eaddr: Failed to find readable MAC NIC, rc 1
ALERT: /hw/node/xtalk/15/pci/2: nic_get_eaddr failed


So I check out the prom variables

Code: Select all

netaddr=143.57.73.26
eaddr=31:34:33:2e:35:37


The mac address is invalid. I tried to set the variable but got an error about it being read only. So I did a resetenv and it changed to

Code: Select all

eaddr=00:68:67:6a:66:69


Which still isn't valid... A bad Dallas chip?

Anyhow the next issue. My old hard drive had 6.5.29 and was set up for V6 graphics. The new board is listed as EMXI in the prom hinv. I can't boot with this board installed. I tried an autoconfig -vf at the serial console and still nothing. The mouse stops responding and you never see any boot messages. How can I make irix detect the new hardware?

Thanks.

User avatar
Raion-Fox
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1441
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 5:01 pm
Location: near King George, Virginia
Contact:

Re: New Octane, odd issues

Unread postby Raion-Fox » Wed Apr 12, 2017 8:11 pm

Your NIC is bad. You'll need a new number-in-a-can or a frontplane.

As for the irix problem with the wrong graphics board, you'll need to reinstall the graphics subsystem.
:O3x02L: R16000 700MHz 8GB RAM kanna
:Octane: R12000 300MHz SI 896MB RAM yuuka
:Octane2: R12000A 400MHz V6 2.5GB RAM
:Indy: (Acclaim) R4600 133MHz XL Graphics 32MB RAM
:Indy: (Challenge S) R4600 133MHz (MIPS III Build Server)

I am probably posting from yangxiaolong, HP Z230 with Xeon E3-1230v3, 16GB RAM, GeForce 750ti, and running NetBSD and Windows 8.1 Embedded.
Owner and operator of http://irix.pw

astouffer
Posts: 194
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2011 5:52 pm

Re: New Octane, odd issues

Unread postby astouffer » Wed Apr 12, 2017 10:16 pm

Raion-Fox wrote:Your NIC is bad. You'll need a new number-in-a-can or a frontplane.

As for the irix problem with the wrong graphics board, you'll need to reinstall the graphics subsystem.


Wow that was a fast reply :D

Just had a thought here. I have a spare O2 riser card with the TO-92 style chip. It would be an interesting experiment to tack it onto my Octane frontplane and see if that works. Such a shame that chip failure is bringing down the whole machine.

User avatar
Raion-Fox
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1441
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 5:01 pm
Location: near King George, Virginia
Contact:

Re: New Octane, odd issues

Unread postby Raion-Fox » Wed Apr 12, 2017 10:26 pm

No, the O2 NIC and Octane NIC are entirely different things. You can't swap them over.
:O3x02L: R16000 700MHz 8GB RAM kanna
:Octane: R12000 300MHz SI 896MB RAM yuuka
:Octane2: R12000A 400MHz V6 2.5GB RAM
:Indy: (Acclaim) R4600 133MHz XL Graphics 32MB RAM
:Indy: (Challenge S) R4600 133MHz (MIPS III Build Server)

I am probably posting from yangxiaolong, HP Z230 with Xeon E3-1230v3, 16GB RAM, GeForce 750ti, and running NetBSD and Windows 8.1 Embedded.
Owner and operator of http://irix.pw

User avatar
johnnym
Donor
Donor
Posts: 196
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2016 9:53 pm

Re: New Octane, odd issues

Unread postby johnnym » Thu Apr 13, 2017 10:32 am

astouffer wrote:Just had a thought here. I have a spare O2 riser card with the TO-92 style chip. It would be an interesting experiment to tack it onto my Octane frontplane and see if that works. Such a shame that chip failure is bringing down the whole machine.

Why don't you try to put the NIC of your dead Octane into the frontplane of your "new" Octane? Maybe this NIC is still working. :)
:Indy: :O2: :Octane: :Octane2: :O200: = :O200: - :O200: = :O200: (O200 cluster w/2 GIGAchannel cabinets)
[ ( hp ) ] 712/80 c3000 (dead) :hpserv: (J5600) c3700 c3750 c8000 rp2470 :rx2600: (rx2620) rx4640
| d | i | g | i | t | a | l | AXPpci33 AlphaStation 200 AlphaStation 255 PWS 500au AlphaServer DS20E AlphaServer DS25
C O B A L T Qube 2 Qube 3 RaQ RaQ 2 RaQ 4r RaQ XTR

astouffer
Posts: 194
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2011 5:52 pm

Re: New Octane, odd issues

Unread postby astouffer » Thu Apr 13, 2017 1:32 pm

Today I took everything apart to do a thorough cleaning (lots of dust) and found the cause :D

If you do an ARIN lookup on that IP address from my hinv, it belongs to the Department Of Defense :lol: Guess they were worried about secrets being stolen in the chip.

Oh maybe the "number in a can" wiki should be updated, the Octane part number is a DS1982.

*edit* Guess I need to read further down the wiki :oops:
Attachments
IMG_0147.JPG

mopar5150
Posts: 558
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2012 6:02 pm
Location: Palm Springs, CA
Contact:

Re: New Octane, odd issues

Unread postby mopar5150 » Fri Apr 14, 2017 9:11 am

PM me your address and I will send you a chip.
If the thing isn't on fire it's a software problem.

:Tezro: :O3x0: :A350:


Return to “SGI: Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest