Dallas chips

SGI hardware problems, solutions, tips, hacks, etc.
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
japes
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1006
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2007 4:35 pm
Location: Lynnwood, WA

Re: Dallas chips

Unread postby japes » Tue Mar 21, 2017 1:02 am

Okay, that's really weird. Maybe it's time for an Indy to leave on in the corner running timed, or just get used to opening a terminal and setting the date.

I hope Maxim gets back with something, but I can't imagine they'll have a solution.

One possible thing, if you're handy with electronics, you can initialize the RTC in the Dallas chip with an arduino (or similar). All the other systems seem to init the chip though so I can't imagine the O2 not. I'm quite surprised the O2 power on circuit is advanced enough to confirm anything in the Dallas chip. I would have expected it to power on, maybe the LED would be off, red, or orange - but not powering up at all is odd.

I don't suppose you tried the pwr_on jumper? I think I've read of people setting it and then after a successful power on being able to remove the jumper and have the O2 just work.

Assuming the Fuel is similar enough, not having the RTC installed will probably confuse the system (my Fuel wouldn't advance the time in the OS and broke all kinds of things), but you could give that a try.

Reaching here since you're saying reinstalling the original works, but you didn't bend any pins, offset the chip or rotate it by any chance?
:O3000: :Fuel: :Tezro: :Tezro: :Octane2: :Octane: :Octane: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :O2: :1600SW: :O2: :1600SW: :1600SW: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :O3x0: :O3x02L: :O3x02L:

User avatar
praetor242
Posts: 270
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2017 5:41 pm
Location: Arlington, TX

Re: Dallas chips

Unread postby praetor242 » Tue Mar 21, 2017 6:41 am

I'll try the jumper. I heard back from Maxim

Yes they are, the only difference is the RoHS for the "+"


So you were right. It's an RoHS part.
:O2: - trajan - R5000 180Mhz - 256 MB RAM - 300GB HDD
:O2: - hadrian - R5000 180Mhz - 128 MB RAM - 147 GB HDD
:Octane2: - augustus - R12000 400Mhz - 512 MB RAM - 300GB HDD - VPro6

User avatar
tomvos
Donor
Donor
Posts: 136
Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2008 1:08 pm
Location: Aachen, Germany, Europe
Contact:

Re: Dallas chips

Unread postby tomvos » Tue Mar 21, 2017 2:27 pm

japes wrote:I don't suppose you tried the pwr_on jumper? I think I've read of people setting it and then after a successful power on being able to remove the jumper and have the O2 just work.


I've installed a DS1687-5+ in my O2. It first it did not power on. Same as praetor242 observed. No reaction from the power button at all. After closing the jumper directly below the DS1687-5+ labeled "Power Up", the O2 powered up just fine. Thanks a lot for the hint.

P.S.
The O2 plastics are really fragile. When I pulled the lever to extract the system board, I pulled the lever out leaving the board inside. And who designed the mainboard? Placing the "power up" jumper just slightly unaccessible until you remove the CPU tray (R12K300)? Which, to make things worse, you have to do twice, once to set the jumper so the system boots, and once to remove it, so the system powers down normally. Amazing, just plain amazing.
:Fuel: :Octane2: :O2: :O2: :1600SW: :Indy: :Indy:
Where subtlety fails us we must simply make do with cream pies.

User avatar
Dodoid
Posts: 643
Joined: Mon Jul 04, 2016 1:36 pm
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Contact:

Re: Dallas chips

Unread postby Dodoid » Tue Mar 21, 2017 2:40 pm

tomvos wrote:who designed the mainboard? Placing the "power up" jumper just slightly unaccessible until you remove the CPU tray (R12K300)? Which, to make things worse, you have to do twice, once to set the jumper so the system boots, and once to remove it, so the system powers down normally. Amazing, just plain amazing.


Probably the same guy who decided that the best place for the speaker in the Indy is in the power supply, the IRIX clock app should need GLX, and that maybe 20% of the toolchest items should be useful on a regular basis :mrgreen: .
:Onyx: :O2000: :Fuel: :Octane: :Octane: :Octane: :O2: :O2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indy: :Indy:
and a small army of Image

User avatar
japes
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1006
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2007 4:35 pm
Location: Lynnwood, WA

Re: Dallas chips

Unread postby japes » Tue Mar 21, 2017 3:13 pm

tomvos wrote:P.S.
The O2 plastics are really fragile. When I pulled the lever to extract the system board, I pulled the lever out leaving the board inside. And who designed the mainboard? Placing the "power up" jumper just slightly unaccessible until you remove the CPU tray (R12K300)? Which, to make things worse, you have to do twice, once to set the jumper so the system boots, and once to remove it, so the system powers down normally. Amazing, just plain amazing.


Exact thing happened to me...on the O2 I borrowed from a friend to test my memory (I had a bad motherboard as it turned out). What did you use to pull the board? I used the VGA header with a VGA cable.

I bought a replacement motherboard and thought I'd be able to fix it...nah the replacement came from a R5k model and the tray is different, and it's the tray that broke on my R10k O2.

Could be that the jumper isn't blocked with the R5k and the R10k/R12k module interferes but wasn't available to the designer.

Dodoid wrote:Probably the same guy who decided that the best place for the speaker in the Indy is in the power supply, the IRIX clock app should need GLX, and that maybe 20% of the toolchest items should be useful on a regular basis :mrgreen: .


You don't like the speaker in the powersupply on the Indy? Don't look a the Indigo then...I like it on the Indy, not sure about the Indigo though. Don't forget all the buttons on that Indy powersupply...the speaker and half the switches don't do anything on a Challenge S :( You can customize the Tool Chest to your needs...one of these day I might get around to it.
:O3000: :Fuel: :Tezro: :Tezro: :Octane2: :Octane: :Octane: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :O2: :1600SW: :O2: :1600SW: :1600SW: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :O3x0: :O3x02L: :O3x02L:

User avatar
Dodoid
Posts: 643
Joined: Mon Jul 04, 2016 1:36 pm
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Contact:

Re: Dallas chips

Unread postby Dodoid » Tue Mar 21, 2017 4:37 pm

Nothing wrong with it, from a technical perspective it works fine, but it's such a strange place to put a speaker. It also means that replacing the PSU needlessly replaces a bunch of other random (probably working) bits. I'm sure it's confused many who attempted to find their speaker.
:Onyx: :O2000: :Fuel: :Octane: :Octane: :Octane: :O2: :O2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indy: :Indy:
and a small army of Image

User avatar
praetor242
Posts: 270
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2017 5:41 pm
Location: Arlington, TX

Re: Dallas chips

Unread postby praetor242 » Tue Mar 21, 2017 5:11 pm

I've installed a DS1687-5+ in my O2. It first it did not power on. Same as praetor242 observed. No reaction from the power button at all. After closing the jumper directly below the DS1687-5+ labeled "Power Up", the O2 powered up just fine.


Thanks tomvos. I'll try that. I've held off on getting cowboy with it until I heard back from someone with more knowledge.
:O2: - trajan - R5000 180Mhz - 256 MB RAM - 300GB HDD
:O2: - hadrian - R5000 180Mhz - 128 MB RAM - 147 GB HDD
:Octane2: - augustus - R12000 400Mhz - 512 MB RAM - 300GB HDD - VPro6

User avatar
praetor242
Posts: 270
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2017 5:41 pm
Location: Arlington, TX

Re: Dallas chips

Unread postby praetor242 » Tue Mar 21, 2017 6:44 pm

So general weirdness. When I set the PWR jumper with the new Dallas chip, it does power on, but my monitor won't sync. When I set the jumper back, it won't turn on at all. So...until I can find out why, I've decided to just use my nekkid O2 as a parts machine. I moved most of his ram over to my "good" o2, so now he has 192 megs of RAM.
:O2: - trajan - R5000 180Mhz - 256 MB RAM - 300GB HDD
:O2: - hadrian - R5000 180Mhz - 128 MB RAM - 147 GB HDD
:Octane2: - augustus - R12000 400Mhz - 512 MB RAM - 300GB HDD - VPro6

User avatar
Raion-Fox
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1451
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 5:01 pm
Location: near King George, Virginia
Contact:

Re: Dallas chips

Unread postby Raion-Fox » Tue Mar 21, 2017 7:04 pm

Huh. This is perplexing.
:O3x02L: R16000 700MHz 8GB RAM kanna
:Octane: R12000 300MHz SI 896MB RAM yuuka
:Octane2: R12000A 400MHz V6 2.5GB RAM
:Indy: (Acclaim) R4600 133MHz XL Graphics 32MB RAM
:Indy: (Challenge S) R4600 133MHz (MIPS III Build Server)

I am probably posting from yangxiaolong, HP Z230 with Xeon E3-1230v3, 16GB RAM, GeForce 750ti, and running NetBSD and Windows 8.1 Embedded.
Owner and operator of http://irix.pw

User avatar
praetor242
Posts: 270
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2017 5:41 pm
Location: Arlington, TX

Re: Dallas chips

Unread postby praetor242 » Tue Mar 21, 2017 7:08 pm

Yeah. I don't know. I checked the PCI riser, I checked the Dallas chip. IDK.
:O2: - trajan - R5000 180Mhz - 256 MB RAM - 300GB HDD
:O2: - hadrian - R5000 180Mhz - 128 MB RAM - 147 GB HDD
:Octane2: - augustus - R12000 400Mhz - 512 MB RAM - 300GB HDD - VPro6

User avatar
tomvos
Donor
Donor
Posts: 136
Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2008 1:08 pm
Location: Aachen, Germany, Europe
Contact:

Re: Dallas chips

Unread postby tomvos » Wed Mar 22, 2017 12:14 pm

japes wrote:What did you use to pull the board? I used the VGA header with a VGA cable.


I did not think of this. But it's a good idea ... however I guess in the long run this might have a bad effect on the soldering of the VGA connector.

Actually, I made quite a mess. After having broken of most of the backside plastics, I could reach the mainboard cage and pull out the board by hand. For the future I thought about adding some small hook to the backside of the cage that allows me to pull out the board next time.

And while we are at the topic, does anyone here have a O2 mainboard and it's plastics for a R12K O2? A broken mainboard would be fine, because - as you might guess - my primary interest is in the outer plastic layer. :oops:
:Fuel: :Octane2: :O2: :O2: :1600SW: :Indy: :Indy:
Where subtlety fails us we must simply make do with cream pies.

User avatar
japes
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1006
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2007 4:35 pm
Location: Lynnwood, WA

Re: Dallas chips

Unread postby japes » Wed Mar 22, 2017 2:16 pm

tomvos wrote:I did not think of this. But it's a good idea ... however I guess in the long run this might have a bad effect on the soldering of the VGA connector.

I use a FPA + 1600SW on the O2...VGA can fall of it needs to. Since the jackscrews go through the metal tray I'm not overly concerned...I try not to take out the board much.

tomvos wrote:And while we are at the topic, does anyone here have a O2 mainboard and it's plastics for a R12K O2? A broken mainboard would be fine, because - as you might guess - my primary interest is in the outer plastic layer. :oops:

Hey...get in line. Although mine isn't too bad and I see we're separated by an ocean.
:O3000: :Fuel: :Tezro: :Tezro: :Octane2: :Octane: :Octane: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :O2: :1600SW: :O2: :1600SW: :1600SW: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :O3x0: :O3x02L: :O3x02L:

User avatar
Raion-Fox
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1451
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 5:01 pm
Location: near King George, Virginia
Contact:

Re: Dallas chips

Unread postby Raion-Fox » Wed Mar 22, 2017 3:18 pm

As long as you seat it properly, I've never had an issue with any of the O2 release mechanisms and I've owned five.

Not to say that proper seating and operation is easy. It's not.

I just don't like the macguyver ways being suggested here. They trouble me a little.
:O3x02L: R16000 700MHz 8GB RAM kanna
:Octane: R12000 300MHz SI 896MB RAM yuuka
:Octane2: R12000A 400MHz V6 2.5GB RAM
:Indy: (Acclaim) R4600 133MHz XL Graphics 32MB RAM
:Indy: (Challenge S) R4600 133MHz (MIPS III Build Server)

I am probably posting from yangxiaolong, HP Z230 with Xeon E3-1230v3, 16GB RAM, GeForce 750ti, and running NetBSD and Windows 8.1 Embedded.
Owner and operator of http://irix.pw

User avatar
japes
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1006
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2007 4:35 pm
Location: Lynnwood, WA

Re: Dallas chips

Unread postby japes » Wed Mar 22, 2017 6:11 pm

When the lever breaks of in your hand though, what do you do then? Once it's out it probably would be better to add a handle, but...

My other O2 mainboard releases fine, and the one I had ages ago was fine. I didn't expect it to break until I was holding the lever and not the mainboard tray.

I think the take away here is if the lever seems to be straining perhaps get some cables on the VGA and lower serial port to give it some help. My broken one has lots of plastic issues, even different kinds of plastic broke - like the PSU DC power connector (retaining clip broke, preventing it from engaging).
:O3000: :Fuel: :Tezro: :Tezro: :Octane2: :Octane: :Octane: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :O2: :1600SW: :O2: :1600SW: :1600SW: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :O3x0: :O3x02L: :O3x02L:

User avatar
Raion-Fox
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1451
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 5:01 pm
Location: near King George, Virginia
Contact:

Re: Dallas chips

Unread postby Raion-Fox » Wed Mar 22, 2017 6:20 pm

Maybe some white lithium grease would be worth doing on existing ones, or silicone paste. Something like that should help reduce the friction/opening force.
:O3x02L: R16000 700MHz 8GB RAM kanna
:Octane: R12000 300MHz SI 896MB RAM yuuka
:Octane2: R12000A 400MHz V6 2.5GB RAM
:Indy: (Acclaim) R4600 133MHz XL Graphics 32MB RAM
:Indy: (Challenge S) R4600 133MHz (MIPS III Build Server)

I am probably posting from yangxiaolong, HP Z230 with Xeon E3-1230v3, 16GB RAM, GeForce 750ti, and running NetBSD and Windows 8.1 Embedded.
Owner and operator of http://irix.pw


Return to “SGI: Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests