Fuel: ERROR: SCAN:scan error - unable to reset scan hardware

SGI hardware problems, solutions, tips, hacks, etc.
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
MrWeedster
Posts: 146
Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2006 5:29 am
Location: G-Town Germany

Fuel: ERROR: SCAN:scan error - unable to reset scan hardware

Unread postby MrWeedster » Tue Dec 27, 2016 4:25 am

Hi there.

Recently i aquired a fuel atx psu adapter from a fellow forums member, which works great in my machine.

Because now i nearly have a spare fuel in parts, i thought about giving it a try to assemble the parts to a running system.
The mainboard was working somehow when i replaced it (scsi uw didnt work anymore).

Now with the assembly of cpu + board + psu i dont get a l1 prompt. Fiddled around with parts and found out the dallas chip is broken.
I test-replaced it with the dallas chip from my working fuel.

As a result i get a l1 prompt, which is working good.

But issueing a "pwr u", i get the error in the topic: "ERROR: SCAN:scan error - unable to reset scan hardware", resulting in not powering up.

What does this error mean?

About the Dallas Chips: If they are not working out of the box, they are defetive, right?

MrWeedster
Posts: 146
Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2006 5:29 am
Location: G-Town Germany

Re: Fuel: ERROR: SCAN:scan error - unable to reset scan hardware

Unread postby MrWeedster » Wed Dec 28, 2016 6:58 am

fyi: My ds1780 on the cpu is toast. With the cpu from the working fuel i have other errors, psu related (pimm 1,5v is 0,028V, resulting in not powering-up), Although the psu works in the good fuel.

Testing vice-versa results in power up, but no image. I have the keyboard blinking, but then theres no graphics showing. I have no errors in l1 console or log.
[E]
Lol, as i posted it, the image showed up ^^
It takes way longer then with the good fuel

kubatyszko
Donor
Donor
Posts: 458
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 3:18 am
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: Fuel: ERROR: SCAN:scan error - unable to reset scan hardware

Unread postby kubatyszko » Thu Dec 29, 2016 7:30 pm

The ATX adapter you got from me has a kickstart button - you can use it to keep the Fuel FORCED to stay up, might be useful for debugging, even if L1 ENV complains.
Designer of Fuel ATX PSU adapter board : viewtopic.php?f=3&t=16732341
(now ships from USA), In stock!

MrWeedster
Posts: 146
Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2006 5:29 am
Location: G-Town Germany

Re: Fuel: ERROR: SCAN:scan error - unable to reset scan hardware

Unread postby MrWeedster » Fri Dec 30, 2016 2:47 am

I tried this. It stays powered off, although the l1 thinks its "on".

astouffer
Posts: 193
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2011 5:52 pm

Re: Fuel: ERROR: SCAN:scan error - unable to reset scan hardware

Unread postby astouffer » Sat Dec 31, 2016 9:51 am

MrWeedster wrote:fyi: My ds1780 on the cpu is toast. With the cpu from the working fuel i have other errors, psu related (pimm 1,5v is 0,028V, resulting in not powering-up), Although the psu works in the good fuel.


Sounds like the voltage regulator on the motherboard is bad.

kubatyszko
Donor
Donor
Posts: 458
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 3:18 am
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: Fuel: ERROR: SCAN:scan error - unable to reset scan hardware

Unread postby kubatyszko » Wed Jan 11, 2017 6:46 am

astouffer wrote:
MrWeedster wrote:fyi: My ds1780 on the cpu is toast. With the cpu from the working fuel i have other errors, psu related (pimm 1,5v is 0,028V, resulting in not powering-up), Although the psu works in the good fuel.


Sounds like the voltage regulator on the motherboard is bad.


That might have been caused by the original PSU's failure - it also broke voltage regulators on the motherboard... (this is likely but not as common as blown ds1780's).
PIMM module has a few regulators onboard from what I recall, one of them has 4 pins - this one is adjustable, others I think were regular 3-pin models - it wouldn't be hard to desolder them and test, and replace if necessary...
Designer of Fuel ATX PSU adapter board : viewtopic.php?f=3&t=16732341
(now ships from USA), In stock!

MrWeedster
Posts: 146
Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2006 5:29 am
Location: G-Town Germany

Re: Fuel: ERROR: SCAN:scan error - unable to reset scan hardware

Unread postby MrWeedster » Wed Jan 11, 2017 7:42 am

Well i didn't have a blown psu.

The current state is described in the Getting Started area, i can get the process started to bootp a kernel, but there in the boot-console it "freezes" (not really, but nothing is happening anymore).
I also got it working to get output on the console while booting.


Return to “SGI: Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests