O2 R5000 180 to R5200 300 Fail!

SGI hardware problems, solutions, tips, hacks, etc.
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
Crusoe
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2016 9:59 pm

O2 R5000 180 to R5200 300 Fail!

Unread postby Crusoe » Tue Dec 20, 2016 9:49 am

My 'new' O2D2 has 6.3 with PROM 4.13 on it.
I pulled the power plug and periphs
Pulled the MB
Swapped the new CPU card
Plugged everything back in.
Power on.
Red light!

I then used the reset via paperclip port.
Got solid yellow.
Reset
Got to Maintanance Mode.
Hinv showed R5000, 300 Mhz as expected
Printenv looked normal except an invalid_gfx_param listed
Resetenv
Exit console
Attempted to start system
Video goes black and GUI never shows up. Reproducible condition.
Really!? Grrr

I swapped back in the old CPU and couldn't get past solid red but didn't try but a few attempts to get it back to green
Swapped back to new CPU and got back to green.
It did let me power down using the button a few times but current behavior is:

Each reboot it seems to get stuck on solid yellow and I have to pull the plug, reset and can get sometimes back to green and enter maintenance mode.
Was ZZzzz time for me.
I did notice I had mixed RAM, 2 OEM, 2 Kingston. I'll try to pull the Kingston this evening to rule that out.
I must had missed something in all my searches that this isn't a strait forward upgrade.
I'll try to fix power on/off state reset will do some further reading but from reading how fragile these are, it looks like a new motherboard may be needed.

Poor O2D2 :|
Any ideas?

robespierre
Posts: 1630
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2011 2:28 pm
Location: Boston

Re: O2 R5000 180 to R5200 300 Fail!

Unread postby robespierre » Tue Dec 20, 2016 12:28 pm

IRIX 6.3 is too old to recognize the RM5200 processor. According to other posts here, at the earliest, 6.5.8 is required—but it is normally recommended to run 6.5.22 on all O2s.
:PI: :O2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP:

Crusoe
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2016 9:59 pm

Re: O2 R5000 180 to R5200 300 Fail!

Unread postby Crusoe » Tue Dec 20, 2016 1:35 pm

Gah! I didn't see/find a os ver requirement just a prom requirement though I totally had it in my mind this had 6.5.22 on it before starting. I was thinking of my Indy. Ok, I'll revert back to my 5000 and try to get it to boot, then upgrade to 6.5.22 or x30 whichever I can find first.
Thanks!

dkbbzviz - yeah I'm new to sgi and irix and very curious. Imagine a mad scientist with gnomelike obsessiveness...what a nice first post.

User avatar
uunix
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1866
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 12:48 pm
Location: Stourbridge / England / UK

Re: O2 R5000 180 to R5200 300 Fail!

Unread postby uunix » Tue Dec 20, 2016 1:53 pm

dkbbzviz wrote:Try sticking a metal fork in the electrical socket next to the one the O2 is plugged in because you obviously don't deserve using these things.

Please, Please.. at least advise an anti-static wrist strap for heavens sake!
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Hey Ho! Pip & Dandy!
:Octane2: :O2: :Indigo: :Indy:
-----------------------------------------------------------------------

cascatino
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2018 1:58 am

Re: O2 R5000 180 to R5200 300 Fail!

Unread postby cascatino » Sat Feb 10, 2018 8:15 am

Hi crusoe, how did it go then? Did you manage to replace the cpu successfully?

I was thinking of replacing my R5k 180 with a R5k 300 (030-1493-001), is it feasible without headaches? (I have PROM ver. 4.18 anyway and IRIX 6.5.22)

thank you!
:Fuel: "Enzo", R14K, 512MB RAM, V10, 6.5.29
:O2: "Frodo", R5k, 192Mb RAM

User avatar
Hakimoto
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2670
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2003 4:29 am
Location: Nijmegen, Netherlands, Europe
Contact:

Re: O2 R5000 180 to R5200 300 Fail!

Unread postby Hakimoto » Sat Feb 10, 2018 9:20 am

dkbbzviz has been stuck into an electrical socket. ;)
The Bandito wrote:In a few years, no doubt, you'll be able to buy a computer,
software and operating system that will match the capabilities
of your current Amiga at about the price you paid for the
Amiga way back when. But you can smile to yourself, knowing
that you were touching the future years before the rest of
the world. And that other computers and operating systems
will do with brute force what the Amiga did years before with
grace, elegance and style.


Eroteme.ch - my end of the internet...


Return to “SGI: Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Ahrefs [Bot] and 1 guest