Any experiences VGA/13W3 to HDMI/DVI converter?

SGI hardware problems, solutions, tips, hacks, etc.
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
vmul
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2017 2:47 pm

Re: Any experiences VGA/13W3 to HDMI/DVI converter?

Unread postby vmul » Tue Jul 18, 2017 9:58 am

I think 1280x1024@60 is the highest compatible res with the cheap box; or at least, that's all I can find in the profiles in display properties. Works ok for me, this isn't my daily driver, just wanted an easier way to fiddle with it without needing a whole extra monitor :)

Thanks for the cable, it works wonderfully .. and now I can see I missed the posts a year ago talking about this. Me and my bad search-fu.

User avatar
michaelpastras
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 2:53 pm

Re: Any experiences VGA/13W3 to HDMI/DVI converter?

Unread postby michaelpastras » Wed Jul 19, 2017 2:20 am

hmm.. I believe you are missing some Resolution Profiles.
What is the Graphics Board of your Octane?

User avatar
vmul
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2017 2:47 pm

Re: Any experiences VGA/13W3 to HDMI/DVI converter?

Unread postby vmul » Thu Jul 27, 2017 8:43 am

ESI with texture option
IMPACTSR
Product ID 0x2, 1 GE, 1 RE, 4 TRAMs
MGRAS revision 4, RA revision 0
HQ rev B, GE12 rev A, RE4 rev C, PP1 rev H
VC3 rev A, CMAP rev E, Heart rev F

User avatar
HurricaneJames
Posts: 101
Joined: Thu Jul 06, 2017 10:08 pm
Location: Santa Clara, CA

Re: Any experiences VGA/13W3 to HDMI/DVI converter?

Unread postby HurricaneJames » Wed Aug 09, 2017 9:48 am

vmul wrote:I did some random purchasing, have had some success.

Tried one of the cheap VGA-HDMI boxes (£12 off Amazon - https://tinyurl.com/yaxj4gnn) .. didn't work. No signal at all. Not terribly surprising.

With one of the handmade cables from ebay above (£30 inc shipping), it suddenly comes to life! Have only very quickly tested it this morning ( was outputting 1280x1024@60 onto my Dell UP2716D ) but so far that's an improvement over nothing at all :)



Does this mean that with the handmade cables + the VGA->HDMI box, or just that you went straight to a VGA monitor with the handmade cable?

* edit: remove phone auto signature :roll: *
:320: :1600SW: :1600SW: :Octane: :Octane: Image

User avatar
michaelpastras
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 2:53 pm

Re: Any experiences VGA/13W3 to HDMI/DVI converter?

Unread postby michaelpastras » Wed Aug 09, 2017 9:55 am

Octane --> Handmade Adapter --> VGA to HDMI Box --> Digital-Only Display

I believe this was the order..


Return to “SGI: Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 2 guests