No video output from Indy?

SGI hardware problems, solutions, tips, hacks, etc.
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
mattst88
Posts: 404
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2005 9:54 am
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Contact:

No video output from Indy?

Unread postby mattst88 » Sat Apr 05, 2014 3:33 pm

I've got an SGI 13W3 -> VGA adapter that I'm trying to use to get video out of an Indy. When powered on, the Indy makes its boot chime, the LED flips red to green a couple of times before settling on green, but I get nothing from the monitor.

The monitor is a Dell 2405FPW, which according to the wiki (http://www.nekochan.net/wiki/Monitors_on_SGI_Machines) supports sync-on-green and works with the O2.

I have noticed that pin 9 (https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:DE15_male.svg) is missing on the (male) VGA end of the cable. Is this intentional, or is this my problem?
My computers (incomplete)

User avatar
kjaer
Posts: 424
Joined: Wed May 07, 2008 7:47 pm
Location: Seattle, WA
Contact:

Re: No video output from Indy?

Unread postby kjaer » Sat Apr 05, 2014 7:34 pm

For VGA, pin 9 is n/c.
:OnyxR: :IRIS3130: :IRIS2400: :Onyx: :ChallengeL: :4D220VGX: :Indigo: :Octane: :Cube: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2: :Indy:

robespierre
Posts: 1555
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2011 2:28 pm
Location: Boston

Re: No video output from Indy?

Unread postby robespierre » Sat Apr 05, 2014 10:03 pm

The O2 outputs separate sync signals since it was designed with a VGA port. The Indy does not, so a monitor that is simply sync-on-green tolerant will not synchronize. You need to use setmon(1) with "-sn" to tell an Indy to output separate sync.
:PI: :O2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP:

chicaneuk
Posts: 333
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2012 3:48 am

Re: No video output from Indy?

Unread postby chicaneuk » Mon Apr 07, 2014 2:00 am

You may also need to reset the video output on the prom. I recently picked up an old Indy from work and had the same problem as you - got the boot chime, LED went to green, but no picture. I knew the video cable & monitor I had were good as I had been using them on an Indigo 2.

So I bought the correct serial cable from Amazon / eBay (don't recall which) and connected up to see it booting fine, so went into the command line on the prom and used the 'resetenv' command. Can't recall if I then needed a reboot, or whether the display flicked into life instantly, but either way it worked!
:Indigo: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :Octane2: :O200:

User avatar
miod
Posts: 508
Joined: Fri Oct 09, 2009 2:44 am
Location: Clermont-Ferrand (France)
Contact:

Re: No video output from Indy?

Unread postby miod » Mon Apr 07, 2014 11:38 pm

chicaneuk wrote:You may also need to reset the video output on the prom. I recently picked up an old Indy from work and had the same problem as you - got the boot chime, LED went to green, but no picture. I knew the video cable & monitor I had were good as I had been using them on an Indigo 2.

So I bought the correct serial cable from Amazon / eBay (don't recall which) and connected up to see it booting fine, so went into the command line on the prom and used the 'resetenv' command. Can't recall if I then needed a reboot, or whether the display flicked into life instantly, but either way it worked!

In your particular case, this might have been caused by a monitor=H or monitor=h setting in the prom environment, which would have upset your monitor.
:Indigo:R3000 (alas, dead) :Indigo:R4000 x4 :Indigo2:R4400 :Indigo2IMP:R4400 x2 :Indigo2:R8000 :Indigo2IMP:R10000 :Indy:R4000PC :Indy:R4000SC :Indy:R4400SC :Indy:R4600 :Indy:R5000SC :O2:R5000 x3 :O2:RM7000 :Octane:2xR10000 :Octane:R12000 :O200:2xR12000 :O200: - :O200:2x2xR10000 :Fuel:R16000 :O3x0:4xR16000 :A350:
among more than 150 machines : Apollo, Data General, Digital, HP, IBM, MIPS before SGI, Motorola, NeXT, SGI, Solbourne, Sun...

chicaneuk
Posts: 333
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2012 3:48 am

Re: No video output from Indy?

Unread postby chicaneuk » Tue Apr 08, 2014 1:39 am

Good to know :) I must admit I didn't know the reason why the command worked (as I'm really not that sharp on SGI stuff) but just glad it fixed it!
:Indigo: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :Octane2: :O200:


Return to “SGI: Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest