Fuel cannot boot

SGI hardware problems, solutions, tips, hacks, etc.
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
kamano
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2006 10:23 am

Re: Fuel cannot boot

Unread postby kamano » Fri Sep 14, 2012 4:29 am

Thank you very much, indeed.

It seems that I have to get another cable, as I have got no luck so far.
(it has been very stressful.)
I would let you know as soon as I have another go with the new cable.

Many thanks.

kubatyszko
Donor
Donor
Posts: 475
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 3:18 am
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: Fuel cannot boot

Unread postby kubatyszko » Fri Sep 14, 2012 8:23 pm

If you have a working computer with TWO serial ports, you can simply plug a single null-modem cable into both ports, open two terminals (minicom or cu on unix/linux, hyperterm on windows),
and once you get both started with the same settings you should be able to see whatever you print on the other "end".

This way you can test your cable.

Another way is to short pins 2 and 3 on the other (loose) end - this way anything you write will be returned back to you. This is safe - won't explode :)
Designer of Fuel ATX PSU adapter board : viewtopic.php?f=3&t=16732341
(now ships from USA), In stock!

kamano
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2006 10:23 am

Re: Fuel cannot boot

Unread postby kamano » Wed Sep 19, 2012 12:52 pm

Thank you very much for your advice.

I have finally got the cable, so I have tried the HyperTerminal.

After having made a connection between a PC and inside of Fuel,
started the HyperTerminal and tried to power on the Fuel.
But strangely it could no longer power on.
I wonder if I might have damaged when the cable was connected inside?

Even so, the HyperTerminal showed some messages on screen.
But it is very difficult for me to interpret them.
Also I wonder if these may or may not be useful, as the power was not on.
I would be grateful if you could have a look the attachment for me.

Many thanks.
Attachments
HyperTerm_Fuel_log_19Sep12.txt
(23.88 KiB) Downloaded 47 times

User avatar
jan-jaap
Donor
Donor
Posts: 5021
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2004 11:35 am
Location: Wijchen, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Fuel cannot boot

Unread postby jan-jaap » Wed Sep 19, 2012 1:12 pm

Looks like the L1 has troubles talking to a variety of sensors (voltages, fan speeds) and eventually crashes.

You could try to make sure various connections (graphics card, CPU) are secure, but I'm afraid the system board is toast
:PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Octane: :Octane2: :O2: :O2+: Image :Fuel: :Tezro: :4D70G: :Skywriter: :PWRSeries: :Crimson: :ChallengeL: :Onyx: :O200: :Onyx2: :O3x02L:
To accentuate the special identity of the IRIS 4D/70, Silicon Graphics' designers selected a new color palette. The machine's coating blends dark grey, raspberry and beige colors into a pleasing harmony. (IRIS 4D/70 Superworkstation Technical Report)

kamano
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2006 10:23 am

Re: Fuel cannot boot

Unread postby kamano » Thu Sep 20, 2012 2:45 am

Thank you very much.

So, should I understand that my Fuel may be no longer recoverable?

kubatyszko
Donor
Donor
Posts: 475
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 3:18 am
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: Fuel cannot boot

Unread postby kubatyszko » Thu Sep 20, 2012 4:51 am

Never say never,

since I see that you're getting *some* L1 output - I assume you can issue commands.

try typing:

Code: Select all

env off


(this will disable environmental monitoring)

then type:

Code: Select all

power up


and see if it powers up.

And no, connecting serial cable can't damage your mainboard ( unless you run some extremely high voltage through it )

Cheers
Designer of Fuel ATX PSU adapter board : viewtopic.php?f=3&t=16732341
(now ships from USA), In stock!

kamano
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2006 10:23 am

Re: Fuel cannot boot

Unread postby kamano » Fri Sep 21, 2012 9:37 am

Thank you very much.

The HyperTerminal keeps on scrolling and showing the messages, so it was difficult to type the commands.

I tried but they do not seem to be recognised. The output has been attached.
None of power, fun, temperature, and monitor seems to be detected.

I could make the Red lamp on before making this connection, so it is a bit strange that there is no response now?
Attachments
HyperTerm_Fuel_log_21Sep12.txt
(33.13 KiB) Downloaded 38 times

kubatyszko
Donor
Donor
Posts: 475
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 3:18 am
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: Fuel cannot boot

Unread postby kubatyszko » Sat Sep 22, 2012 12:55 am

The commands are valid, and should be recognized, most likely it's because the Fuel keeps on writing stuff into the port - that's why it won't accept your commands.
You can keep trying - at least turn off the env monitoring by typing "env off" - you can try to copy that text into clipboard, and then paste it into hypeterm then quickly press enter, but I'm not sure if that will help much.

I have never seen such behavior, and I'm afraid the M/B may be toast :( - but the CPU board, Video, RAM and the rest should be salvageable.
Env monitoring chips broken are pretty common in Fuel - it's pretty easy to get replacement chips (for free as samples), but you would need a skilled person to replace them - there were a few people doing that at home, and due to multiple chips and their proximity to other components (like PCI slots) there's big risk of damaging something - but well, if the M/B is broken it won't hurt to try :)

Cheers
Designer of Fuel ATX PSU adapter board : viewtopic.php?f=3&t=16732341
(now ships from USA), In stock!

kamano
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2006 10:23 am

Re: Fuel cannot boot

Unread postby kamano » Wed Sep 26, 2012 1:46 pm

Thank you very much for your message.

Still no luck yet, unfortunately.
As a reference, I would like to see an example of the healthy output.
Is that available anywhere?

Many thanks.

kubatyszko
Donor
Donor
Posts: 475
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 3:18 am
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: Fuel cannot boot

Unread postby kubatyszko » Sun Sep 30, 2012 5:41 am

Healthy output should be as simple as that:

Code: Select all

Firmware Image B: Rev. 1.48.1, Built 01/22/2007 11:34:20


001a01-L1>


This is the command prompt, for starters - help is useful
Designer of Fuel ATX PSU adapter board : viewtopic.php?f=3&t=16732341
(now ships from USA), In stock!

kamano
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2006 10:23 am

Re: Fuel cannot boot

Unread postby kamano » Fri Oct 12, 2012 2:45 pm

Thank you very much.

Is the healthy output with power on (of course)?

With my case, I cannot power on, but the "error" seems to keep on coming out.
I just wonder if I may be missing something, or more likely the motherboard is gone.

If this may be the case, I think we cannot do anything?

Also, SGI's support of Fuel may officially end in next year.
Then, what we can do is just "DIY"?

Many thanks.

kubatyszko
Donor
Donor
Posts: 475
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 3:18 am
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: Fuel cannot boot

Unread postby kubatyszko » Tue Oct 16, 2012 2:43 am

You should get that output on L1 when the power is PLUGGED IN (without powering it on).

Unless some more experienced users know how to help you I'd say the M/B may be a piece of garbage (look at my message a few posts earlier).

Cheers
Designer of Fuel ATX PSU adapter board : viewtopic.php?f=3&t=16732341
(now ships from USA), In stock!


Return to “SGI: Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests