Nekochan Net

Official Chat Channel: #nekochan // irc.nekochan.net
It is currently Sat Apr 19, 2014 2:14 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Forum rules


Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: O2: Wake-on-lan?
Unread postPosted: Fri Jun 01, 2012 9:15 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2003 1:54 pm
Posts: 967
Can the O2 be woke-on-lan?


Mia

_________________
:Onyx2:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: O2: Wake-on-lan?
Unread postPosted: Fri Jun 01, 2012 10:38 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2003 8:27 am
Posts: 149
Location: Little Elm, TX
http://techpubs.sgi.com/library/tpl/cgi ... h=wakeupat

_________________
:Octane2: Lopper
R14K 600: 1GB: V6:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: O2: Wake-on-lan?
Unread postPosted: Sat Jun 02, 2012 1:48 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 3:18 am
Posts: 320
Location: Tokyo
I think none of SGI machines ever had support for WOL, only the machines with L1/L2 controllers (Fuel, Origins, generally servers) have ability of remote start via serial port or L1 console.
You could build a simple device (using arduino for example) that would listen for WOL packet and turn the power ON using a relay, but then if i recall correctly, O2 doesn't have the prom option to start when power is enabled... (I think Octane does). Eventually you could have your device briefly short power button wires in the O2 to start it up.

_________________
[click for links to hinv] JP: :Fuel: |:Octane2: |:O2: | :Indy: || PL: [ :Fuel: :O2: :O2+: :Indy: ]


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: O2: Wake-on-lan?
Unread postPosted: Sat Jun 02, 2012 7:46 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2003 1:54 pm
Posts: 967
kubatyszko wrote:
I think none of SGI machines ever had support for WOL, only the machines with L1/L2 controllers (Fuel, Origins, generally servers) have ability of remote start via serial port or L1 console.
You could build a simple device (using arduino for example) that would listen for WOL packet and turn the power ON using a relay, but then if i recall correctly, O2 doesn't have the prom option to start when power is enabled... (I think Octane does). Eventually you could have your device briefly short power button wires in the O2 to start it up.


This isn't a terribly bad idea.

_________________
:Onyx2:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: O2: Wake-on-lan?
Unread postPosted: Sat Jun 02, 2012 1:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 3:18 am
Posts: 320
Location: Tokyo
I've built myself a device which does almost that, except that it listens for commands on serial port - just like the L1 or MSC. It has 8 relays which enable power for various devices.

_________________
[click for links to hinv] JP: :Fuel: |:Octane2: |:O2: | :Indy: || PL: [ :Fuel: :O2: :O2+: :Indy: ]


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: O2: Wake-on-lan?
Unread postPosted: Sun Jun 03, 2012 7:58 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2003 5:19 am
Posts: 724
If all you want is toggle 110/230V remotely, get an ePowerswitch S8 from ebay. They come with 8 serial switchable sockets. If you need web/lan switching, get the M4 or D4 model with only 4 sockets, which also go for about 70 EUR on ebay.

If an O2 isn't plugged in at the time of a scheduled start, will it power on as soon as it is plugged in? Otherwise, distribute the switched output of one of the devices above to the O2 and power supply and a simple circuit with Resistors and Capacitors that momentarily triggers a relay (connected to the O2's power switch) after a short delay.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: O2: Wake-on-lan?
Unread postPosted: Sun Jun 03, 2012 8:03 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 9:12 pm
Posts: 2724
Location: Kentucky, USA
There's a jumper on the O2 mainboard that you set to force it to power on whenever mains power is connected.

_________________
Image (8x3.0g) Image (2x1.4g) Image (vaio fit)
Previously: :Octane: :Octane: :Octane: :O2: :O2: :Indigo2IMP: :Onyx:

"The Barbecue Ghost and Fernando Torres are friends."


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: O2: Wake-on-lan?
Unread postPosted: Sun Jun 03, 2012 8:04 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2003 1:54 pm
Posts: 967
guardian452 wrote:
There's a jumper on the O2 mainboard that you set to force it to power on whenever mains power is connected.


where?

_________________
:Onyx2:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: O2: Wake-on-lan?
Unread postPosted: Sun Jun 03, 2012 8:20 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2011 1:28 pm
Posts: 479
Location: Boston
The PWR-UP jumper is alongside the Dallas realtime clock/battery chip. You do need to remove the PCI riser to reach it.

_________________
:PI: :O2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: O2: Wake-on-lan?
Unread postPosted: Sun Jun 03, 2012 8:21 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2003 1:54 pm
Posts: 967
robespierre wrote:
The PWR-UP jumper is alongside the Dallas realtime clock/battery chip. You do need to remove the PCI riser to reach it.


that works

_________________
:Onyx2:


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group