SGI F190 Monitor SoG

SGI hardware problems, solutions, tips, hacks, etc.
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
fockion
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2010 2:42 am
Location: Athens, Greece

SGI F190 Monitor SoG

Unread postby fockion » Tue Mar 27, 2012 2:45 pm

Hi,

Does anyone have experience with F190 monitor with an analogue video out (SoG) workstation (13w3).

I have tested the monitor with an Indy ZX as well as an Octane with SI+TRAM.
Both workstations work fine with a 19'' DELL LCD monitor I have.

By the way this monitor has not been included in the Octane Hardware Agregator.

You help will be valuable.

F.
:Octane2: V12 | 2xR12k 400MHz,
:Octane: SI+TRAM + PVO | R12k 400Mhz,
:Indigo2IMP: R4400 250MHz | MAXImpact+Video4Impact

User avatar
fu
Posts: 1041
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 9:39 am
Location: constant traveler [nyc/london/berlin]
Contact:

Re: SGI F190 Monitor SoG

Unread postby fu » Tue Mar 27, 2012 3:28 pm

while waiting for someone with 13w3 handy

do you get any strange tint over the 13w3 or no signal at all fockion?

v12 inside my fuel was all dvi, never had to test the f190 via 13w3

User avatar
fockion
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2010 2:42 am
Location: Athens, Greece

Re: SGI F190 Monitor SoG

Unread postby fockion » Wed Mar 28, 2012 1:02 am

HI Fu,

I get 'no signal' message from the monitor for both Indy and Octane.

F.
:Octane2: V12 | 2xR12k 400MHz,
:Octane: SI+TRAM + PVO | R12k 400Mhz,
:Indigo2IMP: R4400 250MHz | MAXImpact+Video4Impact

User avatar
fockion
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2010 2:42 am
Location: Athens, Greece

Re: SGI F190 Monitor SoG

Unread postby fockion » Fri Mar 30, 2012 1:31 am

Hey Guys,

No-one has ever used / know this SGI Monitor F190?

Please help, just a reply that this monitor does not support SoG would be of majopr help. -- So I can start looking for DCD for my V12. :-)

F.
:Octane2: V12 | 2xR12k 400MHz,
:Octane: SI+TRAM + PVO | R12k 400Mhz,
:Indigo2IMP: R4400 250MHz | MAXImpact+Video4Impact

User avatar
Titox
Posts: 235
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2007 12:13 am
Location: Spain

Re: SGI F190 Monitor SoG

Unread postby Titox » Fri Mar 30, 2012 3:36 am

From the F190 users guide:
f-190sync.jpg
F-190 Sync

Seems that is not SoG capable. Your adapter, Does it have the sync pins wired? Some monitors don't support SoG but are SoG tolerant if your adaptor has the composite sync signals. This is how I'm working with the Multilink and a 1600SW.

User avatar
fockion
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2010 2:42 am
Location: Athens, Greece

Re: SGI F190 Monitor SoG

Unread postby fockion » Fri Mar 30, 2012 6:57 am

Thanks Titox,

I have to test the pins of the adaptor with a buzzer, but probably not.
I'll make a new cable and I'll come back with the results.

f.
:Octane2: V12 | 2xR12k 400MHz,
:Octane: SI+TRAM + PVO | R12k 400Mhz,
:Indigo2IMP: R4400 250MHz | MAXImpact+Video4Impact


Return to “SGI: Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Jack Luminous and 2 guests