Bad TRAM?

SGI hardware problems, solutions, tips, hacks, etc.
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
Krokodil
Posts: 317
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2015 2:32 pm

Bad TRAM?

Unread postby Krokodil » Fri Jun 05, 2015 1:45 pm

Just to make sure I understand right.

I'm correct in assuming the faintly visible horizontal scanlines on anything with textures is a sign of atleast 1 faulty TRAM module on an EMXI board?
:Octane2: Octane2 - (Algogulf) - R14K - 2x600MHZ - 2.5GB RAM - V12
:O2: O2 - (Mantadoc) - R5K - 200MHZ - 128MB RAM - 6.5.30 - Long Term Layup
:Octane: Octane - (Montrealais) - R12K - 2*360MHZ - 1024MB RAM - EMXI. - 6.5.30
Alphaserver DS10 - (Vandoc) - EV6 - 466MHZ - 256MB RAM
Sun Ultra 5 - (Quedoc) - UltraSparc II - 400MHZ - 512MB RAM
ASUS K55VD - (Mapleglen)- I5 - Dual Core 2.5GHZ - 8 GB RAM
Lenovo T61P - (Reserve) - Core2Duo - 2GHZ - 3 GB RAM - Back from teh grave
ASUS eeePC 1001-PXD - (Algontario) - 1.67GHZ Atom - 1GB RAM

robespierre
Posts: 1274
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2011 2:28 pm
Location: Boston

Re: Bad TRAM?

Unread postby robespierre » Fri Jun 05, 2015 3:36 pm

viewtopic.php?f=3&t=16728901
if the lines rotate with the object, I'd say yes. what seems to happen is that the pins get pulled up.
:PI: :O2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP:

User avatar
Krokodil
Posts: 317
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2015 2:32 pm

Re: Bad TRAM?

Unread postby Krokodil » Fri Jun 05, 2015 4:21 pm

robespierre wrote:http://forums.nekochan.net/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=16728901
if the lines rotate with the object, I'd say yes. what seems to happen is that the pins get pulled up.


Yeah the lines do appear to move with the cube. Not surprising that they desolder themselves since they get so damned hot. If it wasn't for the pixel clock bug I'd just move up to a V6 instead of looking for new TRAMS, which will inevitably burn up as well.
:Octane2: Octane2 - (Algogulf) - R14K - 2x600MHZ - 2.5GB RAM - V12
:O2: O2 - (Mantadoc) - R5K - 200MHZ - 128MB RAM - 6.5.30 - Long Term Layup
:Octane: Octane - (Montrealais) - R12K - 2*360MHZ - 1024MB RAM - EMXI. - 6.5.30
Alphaserver DS10 - (Vandoc) - EV6 - 466MHZ - 256MB RAM
Sun Ultra 5 - (Quedoc) - UltraSparc II - 400MHZ - 512MB RAM
ASUS K55VD - (Mapleglen)- I5 - Dual Core 2.5GHZ - 8 GB RAM
Lenovo T61P - (Reserve) - Core2Duo - 2GHZ - 3 GB RAM - Back from teh grave
ASUS eeePC 1001-PXD - (Algontario) - 1.67GHZ Atom - 1GB RAM

User avatar
Krokodil
Posts: 317
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2015 2:32 pm

Re: Bad TRAM?

Unread postby Krokodil » Fri Jun 05, 2015 4:48 pm

Testing them one at a time on a Solid Impact board, since the EXMI won't work with one of it's TRAMS missing.

One appears not to work at all, though it is recognized and the other has weird magenta colored textures.
:Octane2: Octane2 - (Algogulf) - R14K - 2x600MHZ - 2.5GB RAM - V12
:O2: O2 - (Mantadoc) - R5K - 200MHZ - 128MB RAM - 6.5.30 - Long Term Layup
:Octane: Octane - (Montrealais) - R12K - 2*360MHZ - 1024MB RAM - EMXI. - 6.5.30
Alphaserver DS10 - (Vandoc) - EV6 - 466MHZ - 256MB RAM
Sun Ultra 5 - (Quedoc) - UltraSparc II - 400MHZ - 512MB RAM
ASUS K55VD - (Mapleglen)- I5 - Dual Core 2.5GHZ - 8 GB RAM
Lenovo T61P - (Reserve) - Core2Duo - 2GHZ - 3 GB RAM - Back from teh grave
ASUS eeePC 1001-PXD - (Algontario) - 1.67GHZ Atom - 1GB RAM

User avatar
jan-jaap
Donor
Donor
Posts: 4551
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2004 11:35 am
Location: Wijchen, The Netherlands

Re: Bad TRAM?

Unread postby jan-jaap » Sat Jun 06, 2015 4:34 am

Sometimes cleaning the connector with alcohol and reseating will do the trick.
To accentuate the special identity of the IRIS 4D/70, Silicon Graphics' designers selected a new color palette. The machine's coating blends dark grey, raspberry and beige colors into a pleasing harmony. (IRIS 4D/70 Superworkstation Technical Report)

User avatar
Krokodil
Posts: 317
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2015 2:32 pm

Re: Bad TRAM?

Unread postby Krokodil » Fri Jun 19, 2015 12:16 pm

I just bit the bullet and obtained an "MXE" board with 2 TRAMS and installed it, all the issues with the lines are gone and the Maccau demo does not have anymore glitches. :)
:Octane2: Octane2 - (Algogulf) - R14K - 2x600MHZ - 2.5GB RAM - V12
:O2: O2 - (Mantadoc) - R5K - 200MHZ - 128MB RAM - 6.5.30 - Long Term Layup
:Octane: Octane - (Montrealais) - R12K - 2*360MHZ - 1024MB RAM - EMXI. - 6.5.30
Alphaserver DS10 - (Vandoc) - EV6 - 466MHZ - 256MB RAM
Sun Ultra 5 - (Quedoc) - UltraSparc II - 400MHZ - 512MB RAM
ASUS K55VD - (Mapleglen)- I5 - Dual Core 2.5GHZ - 8 GB RAM
Lenovo T61P - (Reserve) - Core2Duo - 2GHZ - 3 GB RAM - Back from teh grave
ASUS eeePC 1001-PXD - (Algontario) - 1.67GHZ Atom - 1GB RAM


Return to “SGI: Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest