Nekochan Net

Official Chat Channel: #nekochan // irc.nekochan.net
It is currently Thu Nov 20, 2014 1:47 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Forum rules


Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
Unread postPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2012 1:28 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 3:08 am
Posts: 241
Location: Hamburg, Germany
I have a Tezro tower system which don't power up, because it has no system serial no. I can access L1 that's it. Any Idea how to fix it? Thany you.

_________________
:Tezro: :Fuel: :Octane2: :Octane: :Onyx2: :O2+: :O2: :Indy: :Indigo: :Cube:


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2012 2:10 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 5:55 pm
Posts: 5224
Location: NC - USA
Did you see the following message when you attempted power up?:
Code:
ERROR: Power up error: No assigned System Serial Number.  See log for details.
If you did there may be an fix.

Run "log" and "serial all" at the L1 prompt and post the output.

_________________
***********************************************************************
Welcome to ARMLand - 0/0x0d00
running...(sherwood-root 0607201829)
* InfiniteReality/Reality Software, IRIX 6.5 Release *
***********************************************************************


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2012 3:03 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 3:08 am
Posts: 241
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Code:
001c01-L1>log

02/07/12 11:45:34 L1 booting 1.48.1
02/07/12 11:45:34 ChiWS IP59
02/07/12 11:45:36 ** fixing invalid SSN value
02/07/12 11:45:36 USB0: waiting on open
02/07/12 11:45:36 auto power up countdown initiated
02/07/12 11:46:08 No SSN assigned.
02/07/12 11:46:08   Local SSN: P0000000    Reference SSN: P0000000
02/07/12 11:47:01 auto power up initiated
02/07/12 11:47:01 No SSN assigned.
02/07/12 11:47:01   Local SSN: P0000000    Reference SSN: P0000000
02/07/12 11:47:01 auto power up error
02/07/12 11:47:01 auto power error: 001c01 ERROR: SerNum:No assigned System Ser.
02/07/12 11:53:17 No SSN assigned.
02/07/12 11:53:17   Local SSN: P0000000    Reference SSN: P0000000
02/07/12 11:56:00 L1 booting 1.48.1
02/07/12 11:56:00 ChiWS IP59
02/07/12 11:56:02 ** fixing invalid SSN value
02/07/12 11:56:02 USB0: waiting on open
02/07/12 11:56:02 auto power up countdown initiated
02/07/12 11:57:28 auto power up initiated
02/07/12 11:57:28 No SSN assigned.
02/07/12 11:57:28   Local SSN: P0000000    Reference SSN: P0000000
02/07/12 11:57:28 auto power up error
02/07/12 11:57:28 auto power error: 001c01 ERROR: SerNum:No assigned System Ser.
02/07/12 12:04:54 SMP unregistering events
02/07/12 12:04:54 UNREG: 30005bdc 0 4
02/07/12 12:04:55 SMP-R: UART:UART_NO_CONNECTION
02/07/12 15:29:13 L1 booting 1.48.1
02/07/12 15:29:13 ChiWS IP59
02/07/12 15:29:15 USB0: waiting on open
02/07/12 15:29:15 auto power up countdown initiated
02/07/12 15:30:40 auto power up initiated
02/07/12 15:30:40 No SSN assigned.
02/07/12 15:30:40   Local SSN: P0000000    Reference SSN: P0000000
02/07/12 15:30:40 auto power up error
02/07/12 15:30:40 auto power error: 001c01 ERROR: SerNum:No assigned System Ser.
Code:
001c01-L1>serial all

Data                            Location      Value
------------------------------  ------------  --------
Local System Serial Number      NVRAM         P0000000
Reference System Serial Number  NVRAM         P0000000
Local Brick Serial Number       EEPROM        RCT707
Reference Brick Serial Number   NVRAM         RCT707


EEPROM      Product Name    Serial         Part Number           Rev  T/W
----------  --------------  -------------  --------------------  ---  ------
INTERFACE   WS_INT_53       RCT707         030_1881_007          B    00
IO9         IO9             NYL089         030_1771_006          A    00
ODYSSEY     ODY128B1_2      RAD926         030_1884_005          B    00
SNOWBALL    no hardware detected
NODE        IP59_2CPU       RBK799         030_2059_002          C    00
IO DGHTR    CHWS_IO_DAUG    NZC732         030_1875_003          A    00

EEPROM     JEDEC-SPD Info           Part Number        Rev  Speed  SGI
---------- ------------------------ ------------------ ---- ------ --------
DIMM 0     CE000000000000000CC05800 M3 46L2820DT2-CA0   2D   10.0  N/A
DIMM 2     no hardware detected
DIMM 4     no hardware detected
DIMM 6     no hardware detected
DIMM 1     CE000000000000000CD75800 M3 46L2820DT2-CA0   2D   10.0  N/A
DIMM 3     no hardware detected
DIMM 5     no hardware detected
DIMM 7     no hardware detected

001c01-L1>

_________________
:Tezro: :Fuel: :Octane2: :Octane: :Onyx2: :O2+: :O2: :Indy: :Indigo: :Cube:


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2012 3:51 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 5:55 pm
Posts: 5224
Location: NC - USA
diegel wrote:
Code:
02/07/12 11:45:34 ChiWS IP59
02/07/12 11:45:36 ** fixing invalid SSN value
02/07/12 11:45:36 USB0: waiting on open
02/07/12 11:45:36 auto power up countdown initiated
02/07/12 11:46:08 No SSN assigned.
02/07/12 11:46:08   Local SSN: P0000000    Reference SSN: P0000000
Code:
001c01-L1>serial all

Data                            Location      Value
------------------------------  ------------  --------
Local System Serial Number      NVRAM         P0000000
Reference System Serial Number  NVRAM         P0000000
Local Brick Serial Number       EEPROM        RCT707
Reference Brick Serial Number   NVRAM         RCT707


The fact that you still have the brick serial numbers is an indication your issue might be a software rather than hardware (like L1 NVRAM memory failure).

If the issue is *only* the absence of a valid system serial number (as you've seen, P0000000 isn't valid), you may be able to restore the system serial number by use of an L2 controller. Using an L2 to restore a serial number is briefly touched on at the very end of this thread. Please *ignore* the mentions in that post of "make rmws" - they don't apply to your system.

Unless you have very early L1 firmware (doubtful in light of your 1GHz processors), the enforced serial security routine encoded in the L1 firmware of your Tezro will circumvent the L1 command "serial set <your serial number>" as a method of restoring your serial number. The "serial set <serial number>" command *does* work with L2 controllers, so you may be able to restore your serial number by connecting an appropriately configured L2 .

If there isn't an affordable L2 controller available near you, perhaps you could ask if a nekochan member near you would loan you one. You could also look into creating an software-based/Linux L3 controller.

To restore your serial number:
  • Acquire (or borrow) an L2 or L3 controller.
  • Power up the L2/L3 BEFORE connecting it to Tezro and record the output of "serial all" (so you can later restore the original L2 serial number).
  • Obtain the system serial number from the label located at the top left corner of the Tezro's rear chassis bulkhead.
  • Use the "serial set <your Tezro's serial number string>" to write the Tezro's serial to the L2 (the command would appear similar to "serial set P1234567").
  • Reboot or reinitialize the L2 and confirm it took the Tezro's serial number ("serial all").
  • Disconnect the power cable to your Tezro (so the system AND L1 are not powered).
  • Connect the running L2 to your unpowered Tezro (Type A USB on the L2 to the USB type B connection on the Tezro labelled "L1").
  • Connect a serial terminal to BOTH the Tezro and L2 controller - capture the output of both during the following sequence.
  • Connect power to the Tezro, access the L1 prompt and check to see if the serial number was successfully rewritten.
  • If unsuccessful, post the contents of the L1 and L2 logs as well as the captured console output from the L2 (*after* the L1 was powered up).
  • If successful, boot the Tezro (with the L2 connected and running).
  • Shut down the Tezro and disconnect the L2.
  • Power cycle the Tezro L1 and confirm it retained the restored serial number.
  • Restore the L2's original serial number using "serial set <original L2 serial number".

If that process doesn't restore your serial number you may have an underlying hardware fault.

Good Luck, and let us know how it goes.

_________________
***********************************************************************
Welcome to ARMLand - 0/0x0d00
running...(sherwood-root 0607201829)
* InfiniteReality/Reality Software, IRIX 6.5 Release *
***********************************************************************


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2012 4:14 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 3:08 am
Posts: 241
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Thank you Recondas. I read the thread you linked to before. What I still don't understand, how can I use a L2 from a different machine. I have some Fuels or O300 here. How can I connect the L2 to the Tezro?

_________________
:Tezro: :Fuel: :Octane2: :Octane: :Onyx2: :O2+: :O2: :Indy: :Indigo: :Cube:


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2012 4:23 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2008 5:48 pm
Posts: 1887
Location: P.O. Box 121, Pymble, Sydney, NSW 2073, Australia.
diegel wrote:
How can I connect the L2 to the Tezro?


The L2 has USB ports on the back of it, this should be connected to a L1 port on the back of an IP35 with a standard type A to type B USB cable.
See also: http://www.nekochan.net/wiki/L2_Controller

Image

Image

diegel wrote:
What I still don't understand, how can I use a L2 from a different machine.


I used to use cu from a FreeBSD laptop to connect to the RS232 port of my L2, lately I just telnet to it. I can talk to the L2 and remotely power up half a rack full of o300s from a telnet/ssh app on an android tablet over wifi while talking to people touring the facility. Everything going into fast fan at once, while they are standing next to it and you engage them talking about the stuff, really starles people. ;)

You can connect to the L1 of the IP35 machine over the USB. You can issues commands to multiple machines L1 at the same time. See also http://www.nekochan.net/wiki/L1_and_L2_Commands

R.

_________________
死の神はりんごだけ食べる

開いた括弧は必ず閉じる -- あるプログラマー

:Tezro: :Tezro: :Onyx2R: :Onyx2RE: :Onyx2: :O3x04R: :O3x0: :O200: :Octane: :Octane2: :O2: :O2: :Indigo2IMP: :PI: :PI: :1600SW: :1600SW: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy:
:hpserv: J5600, 2 x Mac, 3 x SUN, Alpha DS20E, Alpha 800 5/550, 3 x RS/6000, Amiga 4000 VideoToaster, Amiga4000 -030, 733MHz Sam440 AmigaOS 4.1 update 1.

Sold: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indigo: Tandem Himalaya S-Series Nonstop S72000 ServerNet.

@PymbleSoftware
Current Apps -> https://itunes.apple.com/au/artist/pymb ... d553990081
Cortex ---> http://www.facebook.com/pages/Cortex-th ... 11?sk=info
Minnie ---> http://www.facebook.com/pages/Minnie-th ... 02?sk=info
Github ---> https://github.com/pymblesoftware
Visit http://www.pymblesoftware.com
Search for "Pymble", "InstaElf", "CryWhy" or "Cricket Score Sheet" in the iPad App store or search for "Pymble" or "CryWhy" in the iPhone App store.


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2012 6:38 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 5:55 pm
Posts: 5224
Location: NC - USA
diegel wrote:
Thank you Recondas.
You're welcome.
diegel wrote:
I read the thread you linked to before. What I still don't understand, how can I use a L2 from a different machine. I have some Fuels or O300 here.
Fairly early in the IP35 release cycle SGI implemented an serial number security routine into L1 firmware that prevents end-user use of the "serial set" command. That serial number security routine hasn't been applied to L2 controllers (or at least not to any of the ones I have), so the "serial set <insert-desired-serial-number-in-place-of-this-text-and-brackets>" can be used to configure an L2 controller with whatever serial number you desire (and restore the L2's original serial number when you're done). Once you have the desired serial number stored in the L2 Controller, the L2 will insert that serial number into the NVRAM of any connected system with an L1 controller *and* a blank serial number (other than an R-Brick - but that's a completely separate issue).

So in a nutshell .... you write the serial number to the L2..... the L2 writes the serial number to the L1. The specific sequence of events does make a difference, so I'd suggest following that bulleted list.

Since you have an O300, once you've restored your Tezro's serial number, you could use the same process to assign your O300's serial number to the L2, and use the L2 with your O300. L2 controllers require a 48VDC power source - if you find one without the external power source, the pin out of the power connector is linked in the following post - and if he still has any available jan-jaap has the hardware bits you'll need to make a matching connector: viewtopic.php?f=14&t=16724207&p=7344195&#p7344195
diegel wrote:
How can I connect the L2 to the Tezro?
I (very) briefly touched on that in the bulleted list of instructions, and Regan was kind enough to provide visual instructions that offer much more detail, but if you still aren't certain, just ask here.

_________________
***********************************************************************
Welcome to ARMLand - 0/0x0d00
running...(sherwood-root 0607201829)
* InfiniteReality/Reality Software, IRIX 6.5 Release *
***********************************************************************


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Thu May 03, 2012 5:38 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 3:08 am
Posts: 241
Location: Hamburg, Germany
To give the final feedback regarding this problem, it worked exactly as described above. Thanks to Recondas, PymbleSoftware and Jan-Jaap who provides the power connector for the L2 controller.

_________________
:Tezro: :Fuel: :Octane2: :Octane: :Onyx2: :O2+: :O2: :Indy: :Indigo: :Cube:


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Thu May 03, 2012 7:08 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 9:53 pm
Posts: 2956
Location: USA
Very informative thread. Good job, guys.


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Thu May 03, 2012 7:15 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2004 11:35 am
Posts: 3945
Location: Wijchen, The Netherlands
I still have a couple of these connectors for those who want an L2 but not an O3K power bay

_________________
Now this is a deep dark secret, so everybody keep it quiet :)
It turns out that when reset, the WD33C93 defaults to a SCSI ID of 0, and it was simpler to leave it that way... -- Dave Olson, in comp.sys.sgi

Currently in commercial service: Image :Onyx2:(2x) :O3x02L:
In the museum: almost every MIPS/IRIX system.
Wanted: GM1 board for Professional Series GT graphics (030-0076-003, 030-0076-004)


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Fri May 04, 2012 8:00 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 5:55 pm
Posts: 5224
Location: NC - USA
diegel wrote:
To give the final feedback regarding this problem, it worked exactly as described above. Thanks to Recondas...
You're welcome, and thank you for taking the time to post a follow up so the next person will have an idea of will (or won't) work.

_________________
***********************************************************************
Welcome to ARMLand - 0/0x0d00
running...(sherwood-root 0607201829)
* InfiniteReality/Reality Software, IRIX 6.5 Release *
***********************************************************************


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group