[solved]Indy showes some mystical graphic output

SGI hardware problems, solutions, tips, hacks, etc.
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
recondas
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5324
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 5:55 pm
Location: NC - USA

Re: Indy showes some mystical graphic output

Unread postby recondas » Sun Dec 18, 2011 12:54 pm

alex_n505x wrote:By the way: will it work, if I am using a PS2/VGA KVM switch for 2Indys?

viewtopic.php?p=7282888#p7282888
***********************************************************************
Welcome to ARMLand - 0/0x0d00
running...(sherwood-root 0607201829)
* InfiniteReality/Reality Software, IRIX 6.5 Release *
***********************************************************************

astouffer
Posts: 99
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2011 5:52 pm

Re: Indy showes some mystical graphic output

Unread postby astouffer » Sun Dec 18, 2011 7:26 pm

guardian452 wrote:I have heard of people building a converter, I know it is very simple to go the other way (i.e. separate h/v to an sog monitor), or patching the gamma curve to compensate, but the easiest thing is to just wait until you get the SGI tube.


I did have a chip picked out from Maxim that looks like it takes in the sync on green and separates the two signals. In the end I got a $30 Sony LCD from ebay that works great.

alex_n505x
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 12:03 pm

Re: Indy showes some mystical graphic output

Unread postby alex_n505x » Mon Dec 19, 2011 1:19 pm

@astouffer:
Could you give me some more information about this Maxim IC?
@everybody:
I am looking forward to mid of January to visit the other Indy.
If everything will be ok and I will catch the fish, there will be just one small diskussion about sense of a 20inch CRT in the living room.
Any ideas and arguments available? ;-)

Beside: My TV is neither SOG compatible,SOG tolerant nor SGI tolerant... what a surprise ;-)

User avatar
PymbleSoftware
Posts: 1887
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2008 5:48 pm
Location: P.O. Box 529, Gordon, Sydney, NSW 2072, Australia.
Contact:

Re: Indy showes some mystical graphic output

Unread postby PymbleSoftware » Mon Dec 19, 2011 1:54 pm

alex_n505x wrote:@astouffer:
Could you give me some more information about this Maxim IC?
@everybody:
I am looking forward to mid of January to visit the other Indy.
If everything will be ok and I will catch the fish, there will be just one small diskussion about sense of a 20inch CRT in the living room.
Any ideas and arguments available? ;-)

Beside: My TV is neither SOG compatible,SOG tolerant nor SGI tolerant... what a surprise ;-)


Several of those SGI branded 20 inch monitors died on me. A few capacitors dried out and if you can still find one, a competent appliance technician could have fixed them easily but would have still charged more than they were worth. There is a list of SGI capable monitors on the wiki.
I have a HP P1100 which is working well on the Octane and Onyx2s, touch wood.

R.
死の神はりんごだけ食べる

開いた括弧は必ず閉じる -- あるプログラマー

:Tezro: :Tezro: :Onyx2R: :Onyx2RE: :Onyx2: :O3x04R: :O3x0: :O200: :Octane: :Octane2: :O2: :O2: :Indigo2IMP: :PI: :PI: :1600SW: :1600SW: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy:
:hpserv: J5600, 2 x Mac, 3 x SUN, Alpha DS20E, Alpha 800 5/550, 3 x RS/6000, Amiga 4000 VideoToaster, Amiga4000 -030, 733MHz Sam440 AmigaOS 4.1 update 1.

Sold: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indigo: Tandem Himalaya S-Series Nonstop S72000 ServerNet.

Twitter @PymbleSoftware
Current Apps (iOS) -> https://itunes.apple.com/au/artist/pymb ... d553990081
(Android) https://play.google.com/store/apps/deve ... +Ltd&hl=en
(Onyx2) Cortex ---> http://www.facebook.com/pages/Cortex-th ... 11?sk=info
(0300s) Minnie ---> http://www.facebook.com/pages/Minnie-th ... 02?sk=info
Github ---> https://github.com/pymblesoftware

alex_n505x
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 12:03 pm

Re: Indy showes some mystical graphic output

Unread postby alex_n505x » Tue Dec 20, 2011 4:38 am

This is just another reason to figure out how to get it compatible to my "normal" equipment..
I'll digg into lower level of sync signals. I.e. if ther is no dc offset on green line and sync impulses are negativ, maybe a diode should remove them?

OTOH a mslll IC would be a nice solution too....to use my 24inch LCD.
Unfortunetly it is chrismis time and fortunetly I have 6 months old boy;-)
All in all not that much time for hobbies...

astouffer
Posts: 99
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2011 5:52 pm

Re: Indy showes some mystical graphic output

Unread postby astouffer » Tue Dec 20, 2011 8:32 am

The Maxim chip is the MAX9540. I requested two samples and thats as far as things went. The chips only come in a TSSOP package and the datasheet recommends against breadboarding.

http://www.maxim-ic.com/datasheet/index.mvp/id/5230

It appears to separate the composite from the green signal. The solution may be as simple as using a blocking diode but I suspect a bit more may be involved like an opamp to change the offset. According to http://www.repairfaq.org/REPAIR/F_SyncG ... YNCGRN_006 the voltages are pretty low. The forward voltage of the diode might be too high.

SAQ
Posts: 5789
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 8:37 am
Location: Renton, WA

Re: Indy showes some mystical graphic output

Unread postby SAQ » Wed Dec 21, 2011 10:12 am

astouffer wrote:
guardian452 wrote:I have heard of people building a converter, I know it is very simple to go the other way (i.e. separate h/v to an sog monitor), or patching the gamma curve to compensate, but the easiest thing is to just wait until you get the SGI tube.


I did have a chip picked out from Maxim that looks like it takes in the sync on green and separates the two signals. In the end I got a $30 Sony LCD from ebay that works great.


You don't need to go to this bother - your monitor is picking up the separate sync just fine, so you only need to filter it out of the green channel. An L-C filter should handle it without a problem, and on the plus side you don't even need to power it.
Last edited by SAQ on Wed Dec 21, 2011 3:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.
"Brakes??? What Brakes???"

:Indigo: :Octane: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :PI: :O3x0: :ChallengeL: :O2000R: (single-CM)

User avatar
jan-jaap
Posts: 4191
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2004 11:35 am
Location: Wijchen, The Netherlands

Re: Indy showes some mystical graphic output

Unread postby jan-jaap » Wed Dec 21, 2011 12:06 pm

SAQ wrote:You don't need to go to this bother - your monitor is picking up the separate sync just fine, so you only need to filter it out of the green channel. An L-C filter should handle it no problem, and on the plus side you don't even need to power it.

Or try to set the video mode and add the option '-sn', e.g.'/usr/gfx/setmon -sn 72HZ ':

Code: Select all

     -ssyncselect
          Specifies the source of the sync signal.  syncselect is any
          combination of r, g, b, and a to represent the sync signal on the
          same combination of the red, green, blue, and alpha video cables.
          If  syncselect is n, the sync signal will be generated on the sync
          cable.  If syncselect is not specified, the sync signal will default
          to the green cable.


But a lot of setmon options work only on a couple of the 'bigger' graphics (RealityEngine etc)
Now this is a deep dark secret, so everybody keep it quiet :)
It turns out that when reset, the WD33C93 defaults to a SCSI ID of 0, and it was simpler to leave it that way... -- Dave Olson, in comp.sys.sgi

Currently in commercial service: Image :Onyx2:(2x) :O3x02L:
In the museum: almost every MIPS/IRIX system.
Wanted: GM1 board for Professional Series GT graphics (030-0076-003, 030-0076-004)

alex_n505x
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 12:03 pm

Re: Indy showes some mystical graphic output

Unread postby alex_n505x » Tue Mar 06, 2012 12:43 pm

Hi....ho
back in bussiness.
After picking up a complete Indy with original SGI screen, IndyCam and 4600uP I startet some investigations.
Unfortunetly the first Indy is brocken, at least the graphis.
It started with a slightly green color,after some reboots system is only producing some lines like a lost sync signal.
Now I started with the new indy and I see color settings like I missed for 10 years:-)

I am afraid that I have to bring both Indys together into one case...to get a running,fast system.
Now I have to take a look for a complete IRIX set 6.5. to bring up a clean system after repair job.

Later, Alexander

alex_n505x
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 12:03 pm

Indy showes some mystical graphic output(major update)

Unread postby alex_n505x » Thu Mar 08, 2012 5:30 am

So far for the moment I want to give short update.
I have 2Indys
First one:
4400/200MHz/64GB RAM/GR3-XZ/IRIX 6.5.? (greennish output version)
Second one I picked up together with the SGI Monitor:
4600/133MHz/96MB RAM/4.??or 5.?? IRIX

There are two monitors:
SGI Monitor (the version with remot control)
cheap 19inch Monitor wth SGI adapter

Most of time I spend working with Indy No.1. With SGI monitor graphic output is much better but with a small overdriven green channel.
I.e grey ist not really grey but more tending to be a light green.
This effect was not comparable with the SoG behaviour without the SGI Monitor, but in comparison with the other Indy you can not ignore it.
Now I decided to switch frequency from 60Hz to 70Hz, which worked for two times rebooting the Indy.
Two days before I ended up with the behaviour descirbted inside my last post.
Even using the cheapo monitor shoes the same picture(failure) in green.
I tried to do a resetenv inside PROM monitor/Console but this did not change anything.
I will try to set back monitor frequency, using the monitor command.
Are there some hints from your side?

Thanks in advance
PS: The other Indy works fine, beside of a unknown Root password...

Update:
On one pic you can see the brocken output if x server is up and on the other one you can see the difference of video output of both indys.yes the first monitor works with indys together,in relation to first comments in my fred.Another confusing point is that both indys are fine in prom monitor and shuting down the indys brings back a proper screen before switiching of. setenv monitor l was not working...

(Update *some errors fixed)
Attachments
2012-03-09_20-23-31_555.jpg
2012-03-09_20-57-37_177.jpg


Return to “SGI: Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 1 guest