Q: Octane DIVO GALILEO15?

SGI hardware problems, solutions, tips, hacks, etc.
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
vishnu
Donor
Donor
Posts: 3090
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 3:25 pm
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota USA

Q: Octane DIVO GALILEO15?

Unread postby vishnu » Tue Jun 07, 2011 12:35 pm

The SGI part number is 030-0931-004, apparently it's been archived out of techpubs, which to me is mystifying because they've still got content for the Octane's lower-end video add-ons, and I thought this was their top-of-the-line. I can't even find out which version of DMediaPro it is. So, my question: Does anyone have the user's guide, or any other relevant documentation? Thanks a bunch!

Here's a pic:

Image
Project:
Temporarily lost at sea...
Plan:
World domination! Or something...

:Tezro: :Octane2:

User avatar
jan-jaap
Donor
Donor
Posts: 4816
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2004 11:35 am
Location: Wijchen, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Q: Octane DIVO GALILEO15?

Unread postby jan-jaap » Tue Jun 07, 2011 12:50 pm

That's an Octane Digital Video card. Goes with IMPACT graphics, precedes DMedia (which goes with VPro).

http://www.siliconbunny.com/data_sheets ... _video.pdf

Drivers at : http://www.sgidepot.co.uk/depot/
:PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Octane: :Octane2: :O2: :O2+: Image :Fuel: :Tezro: :4D70G: :Skywriter: :PWRSeries: :Crimson: :ChallengeL: :Onyx: :O200: :Onyx2: :O3x02L:
To accentuate the special identity of the IRIS 4D/70, Silicon Graphics' designers selected a new color palette. The machine's coating blends dark grey, raspberry and beige colors into a pleasing harmony. (IRIS 4D/70 Superworkstation Technical Report)

User avatar
vishnu
Donor
Donor
Posts: 3090
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 3:25 pm
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota USA

Re: Q: Octane DIVO GALILEO15?

Unread postby vishnu » Tue Jun 07, 2011 12:56 pm

"Goes with IMPACT graphics, precedes DMedia (which goes with VPro)..."

Wow, did I ever guess backwards! Thanks jan-jaap, that's all I needed to know... :mrgreen:
Project:
Temporarily lost at sea...
Plan:
World domination! Or something...

:Tezro: :Octane2:

User avatar
jan-jaap
Donor
Donor
Posts: 4816
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2004 11:35 am
Location: Wijchen, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Q: Octane DIVO GALILEO15?

Unread postby jan-jaap » Tue Jun 07, 2011 1:15 pm

:mrgreen:

Oh, and unless it comes with the ribbon cables to connect it to the graphics side, it's pretty useless.
:PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Octane: :Octane2: :O2: :O2+: Image :Fuel: :Tezro: :4D70G: :Skywriter: :PWRSeries: :Crimson: :ChallengeL: :Onyx: :O200: :Onyx2: :O3x02L:
To accentuate the special identity of the IRIS 4D/70, Silicon Graphics' designers selected a new color palette. The machine's coating blends dark grey, raspberry and beige colors into a pleasing harmony. (IRIS 4D/70 Superworkstation Technical Report)

User avatar
vishnu
Donor
Donor
Posts: 3090
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 3:25 pm
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota USA

Re: Q: Octane DIVO GALILEO15?

Unread postby vishnu » Tue Jun 07, 2011 1:37 pm

Well here's another question then, DMediaPro DM6 ^h^h^h, sorry I meant DM10, is the top-of-the-line, but it doesn't work with Octane, so what is the highest DMediaPro that does? Work with Octane, that is.

The one that I was asking about does come with cables, it's on ebay right now: http://cgi.ebay.com/SGI-Octane-Digital-Video-I-O-030-0931-004-030-0932-002-/150592144023?pt=PCC_Video_TV_Cards&hash=item230ffdc297
Project:
Temporarily lost at sea...
Plan:
World domination! Or something...

:Tezro: :Octane2:

User avatar
jan-jaap
Donor
Donor
Posts: 4816
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2004 11:35 am
Location: Wijchen, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Q: Octane DIVO GALILEO15?

Unread postby jan-jaap » Tue Jun 07, 2011 2:12 pm

vishnu wrote:so what is the highest DMediaPro that does? Work with Octane, that is.

If you want digital video I/O, there's the DM2 ( http://www.sgidepot.co.uk/octane2/3033.pdf )

Code: Select all

The DMediaPro DM2 and DM3 Boards (for Silicon Graphics Octane2 V10 and V12
workstations and SGI Onyx 3000/Origin 3000 systems respectively), transmit and
receive uncompressed High Definition video and Standard Definition video in real-time.


You'll need a DMediaPro breakout box (VBOB) and a pair of LVDS cables as well

If you want to add graphics-to-video (GVO) capability, you can do that with a V12 + DCD and a DM5 option in the VBOB: http://www.sgi.com/pdfs/3281.pdf
:PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Octane: :Octane2: :O2: :O2+: Image :Fuel: :Tezro: :4D70G: :Skywriter: :PWRSeries: :Crimson: :ChallengeL: :Onyx: :O200: :Onyx2: :O3x02L:
To accentuate the special identity of the IRIS 4D/70, Silicon Graphics' designers selected a new color palette. The machine's coating blends dark grey, raspberry and beige colors into a pleasing harmony. (IRIS 4D/70 Superworkstation Technical Report)

User avatar
vishnu
Donor
Donor
Posts: 3090
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 3:25 pm
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota USA

Re: Q: Octane DIVO GALILEO15?

Unread postby vishnu » Tue Jun 07, 2011 2:30 pm

Wow thanks! I don't know how you know all that jan-jaap, but I'm glad you do... :mrgreen:
Project:
Temporarily lost at sea...
Plan:
World domination! Or something...

:Tezro: :Octane2:

User avatar
recondas
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5430
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 5:55 pm
Location: NC - USA

Re: Q: Octane DIVO GALILEO15?

Unread postby recondas » Mon Jun 13, 2011 8:07 am

If you don't run across a reasonably priced DM2, it's also possible to use the somewhat more common O2k/Onyx2-style Digital Video Option Board (DIVO) in an Octane.
viewtopic.php?f=16&t=16718766&p=7295080&#p7295080
viewtopic.php?f=14&t=13955
***********************************************************************
Welcome to ARMLand - 0/0x0d00
running...(sherwood-root 0607201829)
* InfiniteReality/Reality Software, IRIX 6.5 Release *
***********************************************************************

User avatar
vishnu
Donor
Donor
Posts: 3090
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 3:25 pm
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota USA

Re: Q: Octane DIVO GALILEO15?

Unread postby vishnu » Wed Feb 29, 2012 11:21 pm

Somewhat belated update; I am now the proud owner of both a DM2 and a DCD, thanks to great deals I inked with our fellow nekochaner RichTom1, and I found a DM5-equpped VBOB on ebay for next to nothing, from a seller who obviously didn't know what they had. Now, you'd think I'd feel guilty about that but what's the Latin for let the seller beware? :twisted:
Project:
Temporarily lost at sea...
Plan:
World domination! Or something...

:Tezro: :Octane2:

User avatar
uunix
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1691
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 12:48 pm
Location: Stourbridge / England / UK

Re: Q: Octane DIVO GALILEO15?

Unread postby uunix » Mon Mar 20, 2017 1:20 pm

This thing shows up as GALILEO15 at hinv in PROM, I have tried installing the drivers from the links above but have failed miserably so far.

http://www.siliconbunny.com/data_sheets/octane_digital_video.pdf

Octane is running 6.5.30, and I think I have it with 6.5.11_divodvc_2.4, but got to find the missing dependencies.

Can someone confirm I'm installing the correct one?

galileo for 6.5 doesn't support the IP platform.

Thanks
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Hey Ho! Pip & Dandy!
:Fuel: :Octane2: :O2: :Indigo: :Indy:
-----------------------------------------------------------------------

User avatar
recondas
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5430
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 5:55 pm
Location: NC - USA

Re: Q: Octane DIVO GALILEO15?

Unread postby recondas » Mon Mar 20, 2017 4:11 pm

uunix wrote: I have it with 6.5.11_divodvc_2.4,
6.5.11_divodvc_2.4 is the software package for the O2k/Onyx2 Digital Video Option. The Onyx2 Divo can be made to work in an Octane, but is definitely not a configuration that was envisioned/supported by SGI (so it may not be well supported by some editing applications).

j-j mentioned above that Ian has the software driver package for the GALILEO15/Octane Digital Video card.
***********************************************************************
Welcome to ARMLand - 0/0x0d00
running...(sherwood-root 0607201829)
* InfiniteReality/Reality Software, IRIX 6.5 Release *
***********************************************************************

User avatar
uunix
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1691
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 12:48 pm
Location: Stourbridge / England / UK

Re: Q: Octane DIVO GALILEO15?

Unread postby uunix » Tue Mar 21, 2017 4:39 am

Phew, that was hard work.. well it is when you don't RTFM ..

Drivers found in the UNBUNDLED folder Overlay 2 5.6.30

Code: Select all

Digital Video: unit 1, revision 5.2, TMI: revision 2, CSC: revision
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Hey Ho! Pip & Dandy!
:Fuel: :Octane2: :O2: :Indigo: :Indy:
-----------------------------------------------------------------------

User avatar
Zerolapse
Posts: 411
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2005 8:32 pm
Location: New York, USA

Re: Q: Octane DIVO GALILEO15?

Unread postby Zerolapse » Mon Jul 24, 2017 10:32 pm

Did you guys ever get reliable capture out of the DIVO-DVC in the octane?

If so what software are you using?

-Jesse
:O3x06R: :ChallengeL: :Octane: :Octane2: :O2: :Indy: (4x Challenge S)
The current fleet.

User avatar
uunix
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1691
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 12:48 pm
Location: Stourbridge / England / UK

Re: Q: Octane DIVO GALILEO15?

Unread postby uunix » Tue Jul 25, 2017 12:37 am

Yes

Smoke / Flame
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Hey Ho! Pip & Dandy!
:Fuel: :Octane2: :O2: :Indigo: :Indy:
-----------------------------------------------------------------------


Return to “SGI: Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest