Nekochan Net

Official Chat Channel: #nekochan // irc.nekochan.net
It is currently Wed Nov 26, 2014 7:34 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Forum rules


Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
Unread postPosted: Thu Mar 31, 2011 5:09 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2011 4:44 am
Posts: 2
Location: Italy
Hi (Ciao) All
I have some using a new HD Seagate Cheetah® 15K.5 Ultra320 SCSI 73-GB
on a Octane 2.

Irix version is 6.5
HD it's correctly recognize from fx -x

Code:
fx version 6.5, Jan 22, 1999
fx: "device-name" = (dksc)
fx: ctlr# = (0)
fx: drive# = (1) 2
fx: lun# = (0)
...opening dksc(0,2,0)
...drive selftest...OK
Scsi drive type == SEAGATE ST373455LC      0003


also I had success with
mkfs & mount
Code:
    WSgal65 5# mkfs /dev/dsk/dks0d2s0
     meta-data=/dev/dsk/dks0d2s0      isize=256    agcount=69, agsize=259255 blks
     data     =                       bsize=4096   blocks=17888563, imaxpct=25
         =                       sunit=0      swidth=0 blks, unwritten=1
     log      =internal log           bsize=4096   blocks=1000
     realtime =none                   extsz=65536  blocks=0, rtextents=0
    WSgal65 6#
    WSgal65 6# mount /dev/dsk/dks0d2s0 /0
    WSgal65 7# df -k
     Filesystem             Type  kbytes     use     avail  %use Mounted on
     /dev/root               xfs 71682376 11854908 59827468  17  /
     [b]/dev/dsk/dks0d2s0[/b]       xfs 71550252     1120 71549132   1  /0


but with clone process i had some problems
probably due to "speed" of new HD here shown:
Code:
WSgal65 9# xfsdump -l 0 -p 5 - / | xfsrestore - .
              ....
              xfsdump: status at 11:18:28: 6/195581 files dumped, 0.0% complete, 101 seconds elapsed
              .....


error appear in Console window
Code:
            dksc0d2: [Alert] Media error: Write error (asc=0xc, asq=0x0), (data byte 151), Block #45629873 (45896113)
             dksc0d2:   retrying request
            dksc0d2: [Alert] Device hardware error: No defect spare location available (asc=0x32, asq=0x0), (data byte 151), Block #128592000 (128858240)
            dksc0d2:   retrying request


Thanks for help
Dario


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Thu Mar 31, 2011 5:24 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2004 11:35 am
Posts: 3953
Location: Wijchen, The Netherlands
Hi & welcome!

It looks like you bought a broken hard disk!

Media errors (bad sectors) are never good, but a drive has a some spare capacity set aside to remap bad sectors should they occur.

You drive has exhausted the spare capacity, so it has many, many bad sectors.

This disk is ready for the trash bin. If you just bought it, you should return it. If someone told you this was a new disk, they lied to you.

Since you found 'fx' : it can 'exercise' the disk to test it for bad sectors, from the 'fx' prompt : "exe" > "se" > "rd-only", accept entire range, and let it run. You will probably see a whole lot more, similar errors.

Sorry.

_________________
Now this is a deep dark secret, so everybody keep it quiet :)
It turns out that when reset, the WD33C93 defaults to a SCSI ID of 0, and it was simpler to leave it that way... -- Dave Olson, in comp.sys.sgi

Currently in commercial service: Image :Onyx2:(2x) :O3x02L:
In the museum: almost every MIPS/IRIX system.
Wanted: GM1 board for Professional Series GT graphics (030-0076-003, 030-0076-004)


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Thu Mar 31, 2011 5:59 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2011 4:44 am
Posts: 2
Location: Italy
Thanks for quick response,
I ask for a disk replacement (they had 2 units, same type),
let'see with new one
(but now i suppose that those disk are sort of re-manufactured...)
I 'll let you know.

Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Thu Mar 31, 2011 12:27 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2003 10:23 pm
Posts: 1622
Location: Buffalo, NY
Coming in a little late here... Maybe too late...

It's entirely possible that the drive has OEM firmware on it that doesn't have a spare area in the first place. I know that there are mode page settings where a host can control how the drive behaves when a bad block relocation occurs -- for example, you can have the drive either return a check condition to indicate that a relocation occurred, you can have the drive not perform any action except return a medium error, or you can have the drive silently relocate for you.

In this case, it might be that the drive is not supposed to perform relocation, so maybe it just doesn't have any spare area.

Do you still have the drive? What's the firmware version shown on the label?

If the replacement drive has the same issue, you might be able to get around this problem by resetting the mode page settings to their factory defaults. You won't be able to load generic firmware onto an OEM Seagate, but you might be able to load some other OEM's firmware that behaves a little less dramatically.

Chris

_________________
:O2000R: (<-EMXI/IO6G) :O200: :O200: :O200: (<- quad R12k O200 w/GIGAchannel and ESI+Tex) plus a bunch of assorted standalone workstations...


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group