Resurrecting my Fuel

SGI hardware problems, solutions, tips, hacks, etc.
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
Therion
Posts: 60
Joined: Mon Feb 12, 2007 3:41 pm
Location: Duisburg/Germany
Contact:

Resurrecting my Fuel

Unread postby Therion » Sun Jul 26, 2015 5:37 am

Hello guys!

Last time I was in this forum was about ~7 years ago... did quit tinkering with SGI
due time issues etc.
However this weekend I wanted to checkout my SGI Fuel which used back then,
it was powered down and stored in a safe/dry place for almost the same amount of time!

Of course I wasnt suprised that the machine did not power up...
So far I think the PSU is dead, but I'd like to have more input first,
I can connect to L1 - however this connection isnt always stable/working.

I've to try it like 3-4 times until I get the L1 output (maybe PSU very unstable?).
When I plug the power coord in the PSU I can hear a silent 'clicking' sound which I think was always there,
however I can also hear a silent buzzing - I suspect a broken part/capacitor/whatever.

As you'll see L1 is insisting that there is no power supply available,
the L1 outut goes as follows:

ALERT: Error reading the display I/O expander, no acknowledge
ALERT: Brick Serial Number not set in EEPROM!

SGI SN1 L1 Controller
Firmware Image A: Rev. 1.34.2, Built 01/04/2005 13:58:46

---?---L1>pwr
ERROR: no power supplies available.
---?---L1>pwr up
ERROR: no power supplies available.
---?---L1>eeprom
BOARD 0 - no hardware detected
BOARD 1 - no hardware detected
---?---L1>date
09/04/1991 08:27:05
(Note the date was pretty wrong like year 2100... I did an nvram reset
prior to this commands, maybe this is an indication that the Dallas
RTC's batt is also dead as well?)

---?---L1>log
09/04/91 08:26:52 checksum Error - common header initialized
09/04/91 08:26:52 nvram checksum error - initializing core data.
09/04/91 08:26:53 nvram checksum error - initializing extended data.
09/04/91 08:26:53 nvram checksum error - log pointers invalid, log
pointers reset
09/04/91 08:26:53 L1 booting 1.34.2
09/04/91 08:26:52 ALERT: Error reading the display I/O expander, no
acknowledge
09/04/91 08:26:56 ALERT: Brick Serial Number not set in EEPROM!
09/04/91 08:26:58 ** fixing invalid SSN value
---?---L1>nvram

---?---L1>serial verify
ALERT: Brick Serial Number not set in EEPROM!

Brick : OK
---?---L1>serial all

Data Location Value
------------------------------ ------------ --------
Local System Serial Number NVRAM N0000000
Reference System Serial Number NVRAM N0000000
Local Brick Serial Number EEPROM (null)
Reference Brick Serial Number NVRAM


...
I really dont want to let the machine die, hopefully this output indicates that the mainboard isnt broken.
Should I try the PSU-ATX modding?
Ever Forward!

User avatar
GL1zdA
Posts: 295
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2009 3:18 pm
Location: Warsaw, PL

Re: Resurrecting my Fuel

Unread postby GL1zdA » Sun Jul 26, 2015 7:57 am

I would guess the battery is depleted, so the NVRAM was erased. The parts containing the serial number are described here: http://www.nekochan.net/wiki/DS1742W-120 , but I think you will need an L2 or a PC with L3 installed to set the serial numbers.
:PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indy: :Indy: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Octane: :Fuel: :540: Image

User avatar
jan-jaap
Posts: 4184
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2004 11:35 am
Location: Wijchen, The Netherlands

Re: Resurrecting my Fuel

Unread postby jan-jaap » Sun Jul 26, 2015 8:58 am

GL1zdA wrote:I would guess the battery is depleted, so the NVRAM was erased.

Right, and on top of that, the L1 no longer knows what type of system it is (see the '---?---' prompt?), therefore it doesn't know where to start looking for applicable hardware (the PSU, ...). Your PSU is probably fine.
Now this is a deep dark secret, so everybody keep it quiet :)
It turns out that when reset, the WD33C93 defaults to a SCSI ID of 0, and it was simpler to leave it that way... -- Dave Olson, in comp.sys.sgi

Currently in commercial service: Image :Onyx2:(2x) :O3x02L:
In the museum: almost every MIPS/IRIX system.
Wanted: GM1 board for Professional Series GT graphics (030-0076-003, 030-0076-004)

User avatar
Therion
Posts: 60
Joined: Mon Feb 12, 2007 3:41 pm
Location: Duisburg/Germany
Contact:

Re: Resurrecting my Fuel

Unread postby Therion » Sun Jul 26, 2015 10:25 am

I would guess the battery is depleted, so the NVRAM was erased.

Indeed, that is what I expected too (I just didnt know that if that happens, a Fuel wont power up either).
In that case I'll have to replace that Dallas RTC chip, right? (The lithium batt is built-in).

...but I think you will need an L2 or a PC with L3 installed to set the serial numbers.

Care to elaborate what this means? Sorry Im not that good with SGI hardware yet, when I've began I did only software at all.
Nowadays Im in microprocessor development though (luckily), so the L1 is the MCU chip that runs on the lowest level and checks all other hardware (or thats what I was thinking about it for now).
Whats L2/L3, what has any PC todo with this?
The serial number is also located on the label at the back of the machine?
There is at least a barcode with an number below of it.

Right, and on top of that, the L1 no longer knows what type of system it is (see the '---?---' prompt?), therefore it doesn't know where to start looking for applicable hardware (the PSU, ...).

How would I get this fixed, after I'd replaced that Dallas chip?
Ever Forward!

hamei
Posts: 10192
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 4:10 pm
Location: over the rainbow

Re: Resurrecting my Fuel

Unread postby hamei » Sun Jul 26, 2015 6:41 pm

Therion wrote:How would I get this fixed, after I'd replaced that Dallas chip?

I have a Dallas from a Fuel I can send you, if J-J thinks that would work.
instead of being my deliverance, she had a strange resemblance - to cat named frankenstein...

User avatar
Therion
Posts: 60
Joined: Mon Feb 12, 2007 3:41 pm
Location: Duisburg/Germany
Contact:

Re: Resurrecting my Fuel

Unread postby Therion » Mon Jul 27, 2015 4:10 pm

hamei wrote:
Therion wrote:How would I get this fixed, after I'd replaced that Dallas chip?

I have a Dallas from a Fuel I can send you, if J-J thinks that would work.

That would be very nice of you, could help me indeed. :)
Ever Forward!

hamei
Posts: 10192
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 4:10 pm
Location: over the rainbow

Re: Resurrecting my Fuel

Unread postby hamei » Mon Jul 27, 2015 6:33 pm

Therion wrote:That would be very nice of you, could help me indeed. :)

No problem but what's the J think ? There's more than just a Dallas on a Fuel .... and I put an empty Dallas into an O350, seems to me it came up fine ? No serial # but that's not a huge problem ...
instead of being my deliverance, she had a strange resemblance - to cat named frankenstein...

User avatar
uunix
Posts: 569
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 12:48 pm
Location: Stourbridge / England / UK

Re: Resurrecting my Fuel

Unread postby uunix » Tue Jul 28, 2015 2:24 am

hamei wrote:
Therion wrote:That would be very nice of you, could help me indeed. :)

No problem but what's the J think ? There's more than just a Dallas on a Fuel .... and I put an empty Dallas into an O350, seems to me it came up fine ? No serial # but that's not a huge problem ...


Is it common knowledge that you can force set your hosted in the Dallas or do I have some super info that I never shared or am in fact talking total boll#cks..
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Hey Ho! Pip & Dandy!
:Octane2: :Octane2: :Octane: :Indy: :Indigo:


Return to “SGI: Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], chicaneuk and 4 guests