Nekochan Net

Official Chat Channel: #nekochan // irc.nekochan.net
It is currently Fri Aug 01, 2014 4:23 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Forum rules


Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 129 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 5, 6, 7, 8, 9  Next
Author Message
Unread postPosted: Mon May 14, 2012 6:12 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2003 1:07 am
Posts: 4226
Location: Rosario / Santa Fe / República Argentina
sgifanatic wrote:
How cool are these images


I would say *very* cool! Wonderful work!

TypeZero wrote:
It's up right now, but from looking around on their website, they only support x86 and AMD64. It's too bad.


Yes, and if the Administration thinks it is fine to do it, I could share at least the files for the latest Ubuntu AMD64 install. But of course a writen authorization from the author should be pre-requisite first. Maybe he's still active as member here.

_________________
Oh!, let me write that!

https://www.facebook.com/GeekTronix
https://geekli.st/GeekTronixShop
https://www.rebelmouse.com/GeekTronixShop/
http://twitter.com/GeekTronixShop
http://www.youtube.com/GeekTronixStream


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Mon May 14, 2012 7:04 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2010 1:47 pm
Posts: 347
Location: Texas
GeneratriX wrote:
I would say *very* cool! Wonderful work!


Thank you :-) Looking at it is a great feeling... took well over a year to get to this stage!

GeneratriX wrote:
Yes, and if the Administration thinks it is fine to do it, I could share at least the files for the latest Ubuntu AMD64 install. But of course a writen authorization from the author should be pre-requisite first. Maybe he's still active as member here.


Since 5dwm doesn't support ARM, I'm sticking with an SGI bg and an Indigo colour scheme on my Ubuntu install. It is by far the smoothest installation for the Panda. If 5d ever makes it to the ARM platform, I'll switch.

_________________
--
:Octane2: :O2: :O2: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Fuel: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP:


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Mon May 14, 2012 7:16 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2003 1:07 am
Posts: 4226
Location: Rosario / Santa Fe / República Argentina
sgifanatic wrote:
Thank you :-) Looking at it is a great feeling... took well over a year to get to this stage!


Of course! I'm highly impressed (among other things) with the quality of cast that you obtained for the front panels... is it Aluminium, right? Have you done the whole foundry work all by yourself? I mean: molds, etc.

sgifanatic wrote:
Since 5dwm doesn't support ARM, I'm sticking with an SGI bg and an Indigo colour scheme on my Ubuntu install. It is by far the smoothest installation for the Panda. If 5d ever makes it to the ARM platform, I'll switch.


Indeed, I just mentioned incidentally.

Talking about PandaBoard, I've visited the Phoronix Text Suite database a few days ago, and since they mentioned some PandaBoard tests I looked at it. It seems each dual core PandaBoard node is pretty powerful, right? How does it feel in the practice for daily use? It looks great having eight cores inside an Indigo cabinet, including multi-head capabilities, and all the rest!

_________________
Oh!, let me write that!

https://www.facebook.com/GeekTronix
https://geekli.st/GeekTronixShop
https://www.rebelmouse.com/GeekTronixShop/
http://twitter.com/GeekTronixShop
http://www.youtube.com/GeekTronixStream


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Mon May 14, 2012 7:32 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2010 1:47 pm
Posts: 347
Location: Texas
GeneratriX wrote:
Of course! I'm highly impressed (among other things) with the quality of cast that you obtained for the front panels... is it Aluminium, right? Have you done the whole foundry work all by yourself? I mean: molds, etc.


I wish I was that talented, but no, I had a huge amount of assistance. The work was done in Lahore and I had a lot of help from a metal shop. The challenge is not only getting the casting right, but also cleaning out the aluminium. LOTS of grinding, sanding, cutting and more grinding involved. The vents were a huge pain. But it's all worth it!

GeneratriX wrote:
Talking about PandaBoard, I've visited the Phoronix Text Suite database a few days ago, and since they mentioned some PandaBoard tests I looked at it. It seems each dual core PandaBoard node is pretty powerful, right? How does it feel in the practice for daily use? It looks great having eight cores inside an Indigo cabinet, including multi-head capabilities, and all the rest!


Not too shabby, actually. Chromium runs great, as does video playback. Heavy web pages with lots of interactivity and flash etc stutter a bit, but don't they everywhere :-) Generally the system is quite responsive. I am trying to figure out how to speed up disk i/o though. The SD cards I have right now are kinda ok, but I want to go back and look at the board specs to figure out the absolute fastest card I can put in there. Also need to see if adding a fast USB drive to mount /swap will help. It should take some i/os off the SD. Also, freerdp is available for ARM, which means I can do remotefx sessions from this box to cloud hosted vms... opens up a lot of possibilities.

Still lots to do to fine tune this guy. The LCD on the front panel also remains TBD. The SGI logo, perhaps alternating with perf/status graphics, showing on that little LCD will lend the box a little bit of a cool factor I think.

Internal lighting that glows through the vents? Not sure about that either. Could be worth trying.

_________________
--
:Octane2: :O2: :O2: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Fuel: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP:


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Mon May 14, 2012 7:52 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2003 1:07 am
Posts: 4226
Location: Rosario / Santa Fe / República Argentina
sgifanatic wrote:
I wish I was that talented, but no, I had a huge amount of assistance. The work was done in Lahore and I had a lot of help from a metal shop. The challenge is not only getting the cast right, but also cleaning out the aluminium. LOTS of grinding, sanding, cutting and more grinding involved. The vents were a huge pain. But it's all worth it!


Oh, yup... I know what you mean... I just ask because here and there I'm practicing with some foundry work (mostly as hobby) trying to learn the basics to try more complicated things later.

sgifanatic wrote:
Not too shabby, actually. Chromium runs great, as does video playback. Heavy web pages with lots of interactivity and flash etc stutter a bit, but don't they everywhere :-) Generally the system is quite responsive. I am tryimng to figure out how to speed up disk i/o though. The SD cards I have right now are kinda ok, but I want to go back and look at the board specs to figure out the absolute fastest card I can put in there. Also need to see if adding a fast USB drive to mount /swap will help. It should take some i/os off the SD.

Still lots to do to fine tune this guy. The LCD on the front panel also remains TBD. The SGI logo, perhaps alternating with perf/status graphics, showing on that little LCD will lend the box a little bit of a cool factor I think.

Internal lighting that glows through the vents? Not sure about that either. Could be worth trying.


Looks very useful for all kind of things; including like a perfect ftp/mail/web server with very low energy footprint, and as an interactive multi seat machine, you know, you can run a whole S.O.H.O. (Small Office / Home Office) and all kind of street bussinesses with it.

But I'm sure the best use is on top of your desk, as daily use machine, of course. You can drive many displays, lots of flexability, and add to this, with low energy consumption (a big plus if you ask me) so, it seems like a win-win situation! :)

I would not add internal lighting, but, you know... it is just my taste! It is completely beautiful as is ...but I'd go definitively for the status LCD! :)

EDIT: thinking it a bit better, some internal light would benefit the effective vision of the internal stuff either for practical purposes, like hardware swap for benchmarking, easy localization of board pins, tuning, etc... so maybe would be a great idea, yes.

_________________
Oh!, let me write that!

https://www.facebook.com/GeekTronix
https://geekli.st/GeekTronixShop
https://www.rebelmouse.com/GeekTronixShop/
http://twitter.com/GeekTronixShop
http://www.youtube.com/GeekTronixStream


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Tue May 15, 2012 2:20 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 11:32 am
Posts: 353
Location: Finland
sgifanatic wrote:
theinonen wrote:
Looking good.

Now all you need to do is install RISC OS for it. Linux is too boring for a system like that.


What an absolute pain RISC OS is being... tried it on a Pandaboard and there's something seriously broken. More than an hour to boot, 45 minutes just to log in. Doesn't work right. Will start from scratch and try to figure out what the heck is going on.


I have no experience with running RISC OS on PandaBoard as I am still using Iyonix. Did you try with these files mentioned in forum discussion shown in screengrab below?

There seems to be an utility that makes creating/writing image for SD card easy, but is for RISC OS only.

Maybe when I am richer I get one board to play with.


Attachments:
scr.JPG
scr.JPG [ 886.69 KiB | Viewed 246 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Tue May 15, 2012 3:26 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2010 1:47 pm
Posts: 347
Location: Texas
You need to have RISC OS already running to use SDcreate. I don't have it running. The images provided for Pandaboard ES don't work. Tried on the Beagle... boots after hours and then it is unusable.

_________________
--
:Octane2: :O2: :O2: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Fuel: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP:


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Tue May 15, 2012 6:17 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 11:32 am
Posts: 353
Location: Finland
sgifanatic wrote:
You need to have RISC OS already running to use SDcreate. I don't have it running. The images provided for Pandaboard ES don't work. Tried on the Beagle... boots after hours and then it is unusable.


If you want to have another go with it, then I could try to make the image for you and put download link here.


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Tue May 15, 2012 6:25 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2010 1:47 pm
Posts: 347
Location: Texas
Thanks! Sure if you can make the image for the Pandaboard ES available for download, I'll give it another shot. Very kind of you for offering to help, theinonen!

_________________
--
:Octane2: :O2: :O2: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Fuel: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP:


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Tue May 15, 2012 6:46 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2010 1:47 pm
Posts: 347
Location: Texas
Here's a temporary, quickly put together video of the system running. Should give a rough idea of performance and what it can do. Would love to hear your thoughts!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xmkX88ggEqc

Private link - preview for nekochan members only - will re-do and post a modified public version.

PLEASE NOTE that the email address listed in the end of the credits is NOT my correct e-mail address. I thought I could claim that, but turns out someone else already has it. I didn't want to re-edit and re-upload the video, so for now, just PM me or respond here if you need to get in touch. I will fix it later and re-upload.

_________________
--
:Octane2: :O2: :O2: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Fuel: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP:


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Tue May 15, 2012 9:31 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 3:18 am
Posts: 330
Location: Tokyo
very very cool.

don't shoot but now you really need IRIX emulator :-D

as for the video a couple close-ups of the case would be nice,
you can quickly hack some x-display redirection with some shell dispatcher and a few of xhost + settings, something like "run_dispach <this> <here>" which would set DISPLAY accordingly.

Cheers, good work.

_________________
[click for links to hinv] JP: :Fuel: |:Octane2: |:O2: | :Indy: || PL: [ :Fuel: :O2: :O2+: :Indy: ]


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Wed May 16, 2012 2:31 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2010 1:47 pm
Posts: 347
Location: Texas
Thanks for the feedback! Yes I need to improve the video, add a few closeups of the case and also show the back panel, probably the insides too. I also figured I should add some other app scenarios, i.e. running full screen videos while doing other work, flash playback in the browser and so on. Also like your dispatcher idea; I actually want to do it with load balancing, i.e. go check w on all systems, find the least loaded system, then redirect the process there. Synergy gives you cut and paste across multiple systems and mouse/kb movement also, now I really wish there was something which detected that you are attempting to move a window across system boundaries, did a checkpoint, killed the original process and restarted it on the new system! That would allow for computer to computer process migration. I know this is very possible technically - it is actually the key functionality in all FT systems - but I don't want to have to write this from scratch if I can find something close to it available already.

_________________
--
:Octane2: :O2: :O2: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Fuel: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP:


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Wed May 16, 2012 3:44 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 3:18 am
Posts: 330
Location: Tokyo
There actually was such a feature - but better, once it notices you're moving the window beyond the boundaries - it would transparently move the display for active window to another machine next door - this way it still runs (no need to kill) on the same box but displays on another display.
I will need some time to research and recall how was that thing called (and that it wasn't a dream :) ).

_________________
[click for links to hinv] JP: :Fuel: |:Octane2: |:O2: | :Indy: || PL: [ :Fuel: :O2: :O2+: :Indy: ]


Last edited by kubatyszko on Wed May 16, 2012 3:49 am, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Wed May 16, 2012 3:49 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2010 1:47 pm
Posts: 347
Location: Texas
kubatyszko wrote:
There actually was such a feature - but better, once it notices you're moving the window beyond the boundaries - it would transparently move the display for active window to another machine next door - this way it still runs (no need to kill) on the same box but displays on another display.
I will need some time to research and recall how was that thing called (and that it wasn't a dream :) ).


Well, actually, I was associated with a project about 5 years ago developing a remoting protocol that would do what you are describing. It got canned eventually for other reasons, but there are single window remoting techniques available under ICA and RDP/RemoteFX. The RDP thing is a hack though... However, on X I am not sure you can redirect once the window has initialized. But, if you can find a workaround it would be fabulous!

_________________
--
:Octane2: :O2: :O2: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Fuel: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP:


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Wed May 16, 2012 3:50 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 3:18 am
Posts: 330
Location: Tokyo
Found it - Xdmx - http://dmx.sourceforge.net/
Note I've never tested that, I only remember I was researching for some alternative to synergy (not allowed at work for security reasons), and found Xdmx (which I don't use anyway).
The only trick - I'm not sure if it's available under ARM...

_________________
[click for links to hinv] JP: :Fuel: |:Octane2: |:O2: | :Indy: || PL: [ :Fuel: :O2: :O2+: :Indy: ]


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 129 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 5, 6, 7, 8, 9  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group