Page 1 of 1

> 2 serial ports on Octane

Posted: Fri Sep 03, 2010 1:54 pm
by Axatax
Anyway to add additional serial ports to an Octane besides that ridiculous 6x serial XIO card or a terminal server? Maybe a PCI card I could put in the shoebox?

Re: > 2 serial ports on Octane

Posted: Fri Sep 03, 2010 2:15 pm
by kshuff
What's wrong with the XIO card?

Re: > 2 serial ports on Octane

Posted: Fri Sep 03, 2010 4:04 pm
by recondas
Axatax wrote:Maybe a PCI card I could put in the shoebox?
PCI?

SGI marketed a two-port PCI Serial I/O Option Board <part number 030-1657-003>.

While the PCI Serial I/O Option Board would physically fit into the 5V PCI slots used by the Octane <it's a "universal" PCI card, keyed to fit either 3.3 or 5 volt PCI slots>, I only know of drivers for the next the next generation of systems <the Fuel/O300/O350/O3k/etc.>.

So you'd probably have to do some research to find out if it'd work in an Octane - or try one to see if you get lucky.

There's a photo of one in the IRIX compatible PCI Cards - A Visual Aggregation thread.

Re: > 2 serial ports on Octane

Posted: Fri Sep 03, 2010 5:28 pm
by skywriter
what's so ridiculous about the quad ethernet/6 serial port card? how many serial port options beside the dials+buttons box did sgi carry?

Re: > 2 serial ports on Octane

Posted: Fri Sep 03, 2010 8:31 pm
by SAQ
skywriter wrote:what's so ridiculous about the quad ethernet/6 serial port card? how many serial port options beside the dials+buttons box did sgi carry?


I wonder if it's cost.

Re: > 2 serial ports on Octane

Posted: Fri Sep 03, 2010 10:46 pm
by skywriter
i bought 12 for $25 a piece several years ago.
i need the 6 ports for all my dials and buttons (some day), and to trunk the 100baseT's. of course that was before a gige card was know to work instead; better to only manage one TCP stack, than four. i wonder if there was any optimization for that. i suspect so... but who truly knows at this late date.

Re: > 2 serial ports on Octane

Posted: Sat Sep 04, 2010 3:46 am
by jan-jaap
The Digi ClassicBoard PCI works. Comes in 4 or 8 port versions.

I've got one in my Octane. You can still download IRIX drivers from Digi. I can't tell you if it works though, I don't have the required breakout cable ...

Re: > 2 serial ports on Octane

Posted: Sat Sep 04, 2010 10:11 am
by Axatax
The Digi ClassicBoard PCI works. Comes in 4 or 8 port versions.


Thanks. I had completely forgotten about this.

I didn't want to use the XIO board since it seemed like overkill for a single serial port.

Re: > 2 serial ports on Octane

Posted: Sun Sep 05, 2010 8:34 am
by SAQ
Axatax wrote:
The Digi ClassicBoard PCI works. Comes in 4 or 8 port versions.


Thanks. I had completely forgotten about this.

I didn't want to use the XIO board since it seemed like overkill for a single serial port.


It might be the cheapest option at this time, since anything PCI would require a shoehorn or shoebox.

Re: > 2 serial ports on Octane

Posted: Mon Sep 06, 2010 1:10 am
by Teddy
I can confirm the PCI 2 Port Serial card (SGI P/N: 030-1657-003 Rev A) works in an octane ip30 running 6.5.29 with the PCI Shoebox adapter.

Tested and working ok with a Wacom graphics tablet!

Re: > 2 serial ports on Octane

Posted: Mon Sep 06, 2010 3:17 am
by recondas
jan-jaap wrote:The Digi ClassicBoard PCI works. Comes in 4 or 8 port versions.


Teddy wrote:I can confirm the PCI 2 Port Serial card (SGI P/N: 030-1657-003 Rev A) works in an octane ip30 running 6.5.29 with the PCI Shoebox adapter. Tested and working ok with a Wacom graphics tablet!


Thanks for the updates! I'll add both to the Octane Hardware Aggregator.