Nekochan Net

Official Chat Channel: #nekochan // irc.nekochan.net
It is currently Tue Jul 22, 2014 1:14 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Forum rules


Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 37 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
Unread postPosted: Sat Sep 13, 2008 2:20 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 10:37 pm
Posts: 2311
Location: Ottawa, Canada >burp<
Booya!

Got a pic of the card? I have a rev 'A' of the card (in blue, not red) with the 2x3 fullsize ports and a 'HINT' PCI bridge chip, seemed to work OK on an O2, but I think it crashed the Fuel outright.

_________________
:O3000: <> :O3000: :O2000: :Tezro: :Fuel: x2+ :Octane2: :Octane: x3 :1600SW: x2 :O2: x2+ :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2: x2 :Indigo: x3 :Indy: x2+

Once you step up to the big iron, you learn all about physics, electrical standards, and first aid - usually all in the same day


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2008 2:56 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 4:10 pm
Posts: 9440
Dr. Dave wrote:
Got a pic of the card?

Thy wish is my command, sir ! In this case remember red=bad, blue = good

edit : I wonder if the red one is a fraud ? the packaging was very good if it was .... but no logo on the card ? unusual for adaptec ?

Attachment:
bad-daptec.jpg
bad-daptec.jpg [ 76.51 KiB | Viewed 566 times ]


Attachment:
good-daptec.jpg
good-daptec.jpg [ 80.93 KiB | Viewed 570 times ]


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Wed Sep 17, 2008 11:43 am 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 1:31 am
Posts: 7970
Location: Pleasanton, California
Okay, got a AUA-3020 to try. Looks identical to the blue one in hamei's post, right down to the sticker on the USB chip.

It sort of works in my Tezro. After making the pciio_multimaster_override change, I do get both USB and FireWire showing up in 'hinv' (and the USB mouse I tried works), but I get the following during boot:

Code:
Sep 17 12:23:38 4A:Kazehana unix: WARNING: FireWire PHY Read Error (rdDone timed out).
Sep 17 12:23:38 6A:Kazehana unix: Starting busreset abort process
Sep 17 12:23:38 6A:Kazehana unix: Done with busreset abort process
Sep 17 12:23:38 6A:Kazehana unix: Starting busreset abort process
Sep 17 12:23:38 6A:Kazehana unix: Done with busreset abort process
Sep 17 12:23:38 6A:Kazehana unix: Starting busreset abort process
Sep 17 12:23:38 6A:Kazehana unix: Done with busreset abort process
Sep 17 12:23:38 6A:Kazehana unix: Starting busreset abort process
Sep 17 12:23:38 6A:Kazehana unix: Done with busreset abort process
Sep 17 12:23:38 6A:Kazehana unix: Starting busreset abort process
Sep 17 12:23:38 6A:Kazehana unix: Done with busreset abort process
Sep 17 12:23:38 6A:Kazehana unix: Starting busreset abort process
Sep 17 12:23:38 6A:Kazehana unix: Done with busreset abort process
Sep 17 12:23:38 1A:Kazehana unix: ALERT: OHCI-ATTACH: vertex /hw/module/001c01/IXbrick/xtalk/11/pci-x/0/1/ppb_16/12 can't complete bus reset.


Since that's kind of annoying and adds considerably to the startup time, I pulled the card back out. Almost works though :)

@Dr. Dave - this one has a HINT PCI bridge. Hamei's may as well, but looks like the camera ate it (chip to the right of the TI FireWire controller).

_________________
Twitter: @neko_no_ko
IRIX Release 4.0.5 IP12 Version 06151813 System V
Copyright 1987-1992 Silicon Graphics, Inc.
All Rights Reserved.


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Wed Sep 17, 2008 8:41 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 4:10 pm
Posts: 9440
nekonoko wrote:
Since that's kind of annoying and adds considerably to the startup time, I pulled the card back out. Almost works though :)

Interesting. Is yours in a fast slot or a slow slot ? Mine's in the 33 mhz slot.

Any chance to try it in the Fuel ?


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Wed Sep 17, 2008 11:53 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 1:31 am
Posts: 7970
Location: Pleasanton, California
hamei wrote:
Interesting. Is yours in a fast slot or a slow slot ? Mine's in the 33 mhz slot.

Any chance to try it in the Fuel ?


There aren't any "slow" slots on a Tezro :)

I'll probably just put it in the Fuel before I ship it to its new home. The USB was nice though - need to track down a stand-alone NEC card that works.

_________________
Twitter: @neko_no_ko
IRIX Release 4.0.5 IP12 Version 06151813 System V
Copyright 1987-1992 Silicon Graphics, Inc.
All Rights Reserved.


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Thu Sep 18, 2008 12:18 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2004 10:35 am
Posts: 3829
Location: Wijchen, The Netherlands
nekonoko wrote:
hamei wrote:
Interesting. Is yours in a fast slot or a slow slot ? Mine's in the 33 mhz slot.

Any chance to try it in the Fuel ?


There aren't any "slow" slots on a Tezro :)

I'll probably just put it in the Fuel before I ship it to its new home. The USB was nice though - need to track down a stand-alone NEC card that works.


I don't know a lot about Tezro's, but I know a fair bit about FireWire and device drivers. Your problem starts here:
nekonoko wrote:
Code:
Sep 17 12:23:38 4A:Kazehana unix: WARNING: FireWire PHY Read Error (rdDone timed out).

The code has trouble to read the PHY (PIO register read), and cannot complete a bus topology so you may have DMA issues as well. Unless somethis is screwed up in a major way with the bridge chip (in which case the USB would fail too), this can't really be due to the PCI bus it's plugged into. Actually, this card may simply have a busted PHY; care to try in a PC or something like that?

_________________
Now this is a deep dark secret, so everybody keep it quiet :)
It turns out that when reset, the WD33C93 defaults to a SCSI ID of 0, and it was simpler to leave it that way... -- Dave Olson, in comp.sys.sgi

Currently in commercial service: Image :Onyx2:(2x) :O3x02L:
In the museum: almost every MIPS/IRIX system.
Wanted: GM1 board for Professional Series GT graphics (030-0076-003, 030-0076-004)


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Thu Sep 18, 2008 6:12 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 4:10 pm
Posts: 9440
nekonoko wrote:
There aren't any "slow" slots on a Tezro :).

Just for the heck of it I changed to the other slot. Works fine there also. Most likely Jan-Jaap is right, as usual.


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Thu Sep 18, 2008 8:32 am 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 1:31 am
Posts: 7970
Location: Pleasanton, California
Well I did some testing and it works fine in a Fuel, just not a Tezro or O350. Must be something to do with the PCI-X bus.

_________________
Twitter: @neko_no_ko
IRIX Release 4.0.5 IP12 Version 06151813 System V
Copyright 1987-1992 Silicon Graphics, Inc.
All Rights Reserved.


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Thu Sep 18, 2008 9:39 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 4:10 pm
Posts: 9440
nekonoko wrote:
Well I did some testing and it works fine in a Fuel, just not a Tezro or O350. Must be something to do with the PCI-X bus.

That's a pisser. But doesn't a Tezro have a lot more pci slots than a Fuel ? So it's not as big a problem as for us poor Fool users ?

Maybe it's time to clean this thread up a bit, too. Sorry I added in a bunch of junk that doesn't really belong here :oops:


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Thu Sep 18, 2008 9:53 am 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 1:31 am
Posts: 7970
Location: Pleasanton, California
Yeah, I have plenty of slots. I was mostly interested in a working USB card since the NEC based card I picked up doesn't work at all.

_________________
Twitter: @neko_no_ko
IRIX Release 4.0.5 IP12 Version 06151813 System V
Copyright 1987-1992 Silicon Graphics, Inc.
All Rights Reserved.


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Thu Sep 18, 2008 6:03 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 4:10 pm
Posts: 9440
nekonoko wrote:
Yeah, I have plenty of slots. I was mostly interested in a working USB card since the NEC based card I picked up doesn't work at all.

This may be useless info but what I've noticed so far is that the newer 4 +1 port cards do not work. In fact, they redlight the Fool. The two-porter I tried worked fine. This combo card has a two (actually three) port chip and works fine. So maybe it's either that the older chips work or that the larger number of ports do not ? The 4-port Belkin only saw two ports ?

There are a few Logitech combo cards with the correct chips, too. They want $20 for 'em here tho so Mr Cheapskate is not gonna try since the 'daptec works for me.


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Fri Sep 19, 2008 9:12 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2004 10:35 am
Posts: 3829
Location: Wijchen, The Netherlands
One that does not work: MacPower FireWire 800 card. Hey, I could try, after all, it's red :lol:
Attachment:
macpower.jpg
macpower.jpg [ 114.01 KiB | Viewed 567 times ]

The card is a fairly common design, OEM-ed by several companies. It has a TSB82AA2 OHCI chip, and a TSB81BA3 PHY.

_________________
Now this is a deep dark secret, so everybody keep it quiet :)
It turns out that when reset, the WD33C93 defaults to a SCSI ID of 0, and it was simpler to leave it that way... -- Dave Olson, in comp.sys.sgi

Currently in commercial service: Image :Onyx2:(2x) :O3x02L:
In the museum: almost every MIPS/IRIX system.
Wanted: GM1 board for Professional Series GT graphics (030-0076-003, 030-0076-004)


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sat Sep 27, 2008 8:21 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 4:10 pm
Posts: 9440
Apple iTouch. Six computers in our office, my Fuel is the only one which will recharge the Assistant's iTouch. Fuel makes one hell of a high-powered battery charger.


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Fri May 01, 2009 1:54 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 4:37 pm
Posts: 911
Location: Cambridge, UK
I tried an AUA-3020 (Blue PCB, all full-sized ports, looks just like the above) in my Fuel, without much success :(

Trying to boot the system, I repeatedly get the following, even after re-seating the card:

Code:
IP35 PROM SGI Version 6.211  built 04:16:18 PM Jan 25, 2008
Running in DDR mode
Testing/Initializing memory ...............      DONE
Copying PROM code to memory ...............      DONE
Discovering local IO ......................      DONE
Discovering NUMAlink connectivity .........      
Local hub NUMAlink is down.
*** Local network link down
DONE
Found 1 objects (1 hubs, 0 routers) in 30359 usec
Waiting for peers to complete discovery....      DONE
No other nodes present; becoming global master
Global master is /hw/rack/001/bay/01
Intializing any CPUless nodes..............      DONE
Checking partitioning information .........      DONE
No other nodes present; becoming partition master
Loading BASEIO prom .......................      DONE

BASEIO PROM Monitor SGI Version 6.211  built 04:15:20 PM Jan 25, 2008 (BE64)
1 CPUs on 1 nodes found.
Automatic update of PROM environment disabled

PS/2 Keyboard & Mouse diagnostics
    Found mouse on port 0
    Found keyboard on port 1
PS/2 Keyboard & Mouse diagnostics passed

Graphics diagnostics

Odyssey board #0 found on nasid 0
Running Odyssey xtalk sanity diag...
        Board version 1 - Buzz revision 3B
        On board sdram size: 128 Mb
        Cas latency: CAS 3
        4 banks by sdram module
Running Odyssey Buzz registers diag...
Device passed diagnostics

Installing PROM Device drivers ............             
Base I/O Ethernet set to /dev/ethernet/ef0

Walking SCSI Adapter 0, (pci id 1)
1+ Device Vendor Product: SGI IC35L073UWDY10-0
2- 3- 4- 5- 6- 7- 8- 9- 10- 11- 12- 13- 14- 15- = 1 device(s)


Walking SCSI Adapter 1, (pci id 1)
1- 2- 3- 4- 5- 6+ Device Vendor Product: TOSHIBA DVD-ROM SD-M1401
7- 8- 9- 10- 11- 12- 13- 14- 15- = 1 device(s)

Initializing PROM Device drivers ..........             DONE
Checking hardware inventory ...............                      Found new or re-enabled component PCI DEV 1

 Found new or re-enabled component PCI DEV 1

DONE


**** System Configuration and Diagnostics Summary ****

CONFIG:

         No. of NODEs enabled    = 1

         No. of NODEs disabled   = 0

         No. of CPUs enabled     = 1

         No. of CPUs disabled    = 0

         Mem enabled             = 4096 MB

         Mem disabled            = 0 MB

         No. of RTRs enabled     = 0

         No. of RTRs disabled    = 0


DIAG RESULTS:

         ALL DIAGS PASSED.

**** End System Configuration and Diagnostics Summary ****
 
                           Starting up the system...

               To perform system maintenance instead, press <Esc>
IRIX Release 6.5 IP35 Version 07202013 System V - 64 Bit
Copyright 1987-2006 Silicon Graphics, Inc.
All Rights Reserved.

WARNING: pciio_ppb:  Host PCI slot /hw/module/001c01/Ibrick/xtalk/15/pci/2
    does not support having multiple dma masters downstream.
    No devices behind that slot are being initialized.  This behavior
    can be overridden by setting the kernel mtune pciio_multimaster_override.
WARNING: Read Response Data Error, physaddr 0xf700000
ALERT: PIO Error on PCI Bus /hw/module/001c01/Ibrick/xtalk/15/pci
   PCI Slot 4 Func 0 Window 0 Offset 0x2017d
kl_ioerror_handler Failed handling  PIO Read error in kernel mode
   widgetnum: 0xf
   widgetdev: 0x20
   srccpu: 0x0
   srcnode: 0x0
   errnode: 0x0
   sysioaddr: 0xf82017d
   xtalkaddr: 0x82017d
   busspace: 0x8
   busaddr: 0x2017d
   vaddr: 0x920000000f82017d
   epc: 0xc00000000024273c
   ef: 0xc000000001614118
(NOTE: CPU 0=/hw/module/001c01/node/cpubus/0/a)

WARNING: UCE interrupt on PIO access
HARDWARE ERROR STATE:
+  Errors on node Nasid 0x0 (0)
+    IP35 in /hw/module/001c01/node [serial number NCJ502]
+      BEDROCK signalled following errors.
+        BEDROCK PI 0 Error Status 0 A Register: 0xc003dc0001600006
+          02<->00: rrb error type 6 Response Data Error
+          24<->17: message command 0xb0 Reply(PRPLY)
+          61<->25: error address 0x1ee0000 << 3 = (0xf700000)
+          63<->62: error status valid (over_run)
+        BEDROCK PI 0 Error Status 1 A Register: 0x10080000000000
+          52<->43: crb status 0x201
+    IO Board in /hw/module/001c01/io widget: 0xf serial:
+      Bridge ASIC errors:
+        Bridge interrupt status register: 0x800
+          INT_N status: 0x0
+          11: PCI bus device select timeout
+        PCI Error Upper Address Register: 0x0
+        PCI Error Lower Address Register: 0x300004
End Hardware Error State
++FRU ANALYSIS BEGIN
No rules triggered:  Insufficient data

Timeout Histogram is empty.

++FRU ANALYSIS END
PANIC: Kernel Data Bus error in IO space at physical address 0xf82017d  (EPC 0xc00000000024273c)
Restarting the machine...


The slot appears to be fine, as an older 3-port Firewire card work in the same position.

(I do already have 'pciio_multimaster_override' set, for the existing Firewire card which I tried replacing with the AUA-3020... this couldn't trigger this problem could it?)

_________________
:1600SW: :O2: :Octane2: :Octane2: :Fuel: :O200:
http://irix-tools.homeunix.net/


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Fri May 01, 2009 6:01 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 4:10 pm
Posts: 9440
stuart wrote:
(I do already have 'pciio_multimaster_override' set, for the existing Firewire card which I tried replacing with the AUA-3020... this couldn't trigger this problem could it?)

Are you sure ? It says it's not. Did you do "pciio_multimaster_override" or "piciio_multimaster_override =1" or similar ? Its been a long time but when I first installed, got the same result as you. Played with pciio_multimaster and came up fine on reboot. And yours is complaining about that so it doesn't seem to be correct ....


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 37 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group