octane power supply failing

SGI hardware problems, solutions, tips, hacks, etc.
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
Bluefan
Posts: 586
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 5:20 am
Location: Rekken, the Netherlands
Contact:

octane power supply failing

Unread postby Bluefan » Thu Oct 30, 2008 8:30 am

I use my octane mainly for placing backup, but when I tried to turn it on yesterday, it didn't. The powersupply made the typical click when I reseated the powerplug, but it just won't power up.
No lights, no fans, nothing. So I pulled the powersupply from my dad's octane and plugged it in, and it's running fine now. I placed the presumably broken psu in his octane, and it showed the same problem.

That means my cherokee 747w psu is quite broken. Does anyone have an idea where or what could prevent my power supply to work as it should?
:O2:Toika :O2:Myra :O2:Fiona :Octane:Lisa :Octane:Sandra :Indigo2:Danica :Indy:Giana :O200:Lara :O200: :O200:Iona :O2000:Aida

User avatar
pentium
Posts: 4728
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 6:29 pm
Location: Kamloops, BC

Re: octane power supply failing

Unread postby pentium » Thu Oct 30, 2008 11:44 am

First thing that comes to mind is the capacitors.
Even though this is an SGI we are talking about, check it out anyways.
:Crimson: :Onyx: :O2000: :O200: :O200: :PI: :PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Octane: :O2: :1600SW: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Cube:

Image <-------- A very happy forum member.

JacquesT
Posts: 305
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2008 11:50 am
Location: Bristol. UK

Re: octane power supply failing

Unread postby JacquesT » Thu Oct 30, 2008 1:24 pm

Pull it and re-seat it...Mine made a few 'click' noises a while ago (when I replaced the vid card) and I simply pulled the PSU, pulled the plug, reseated everything and it worked...But that's not to say you don't have an electrical problem with your PSU...

Cherokee PSU aren't that expensive to replace...just heavy to ship!

-J
No SGI box currently...Snif!

User avatar
Bluefan
Posts: 586
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 5:20 am
Location: Rekken, the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: octane power supply failing

Unread postby Bluefan » Thu Oct 30, 2008 2:19 pm

I reseated it twice and tried it in another octane, but it kept playing dead. I'll look for the pinout of the psu, see if I can measure things before opening up the thing.
:O2:Toika :O2:Myra :O2:Fiona :Octane:Lisa :Octane:Sandra :Indigo2:Danica :Indy:Giana :O200:Lara :O200: :O200:Iona :O2000:Aida

User avatar
Bluefan
Posts: 586
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 5:20 am
Location: Rekken, the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: octane power supply failing

Unread postby Bluefan » Sun Nov 02, 2008 12:20 pm

I opened the psu, but all the caps look fine, didnt' measure them though. I also checked the fuses, they are fine too.
I can't find a pinout, so I went looking inside, and found this color wiring:

Code: Select all

Color of wires in cherokee psu:
top left 2x7 connector: two big plugs:
__________________      not traceable
| black | red    |     
| red   | red    |      right bottom 2x12 connector
| black | black  |      __________________
| black | black  |      |yellow | green  |
| red   | red    |      |blue   | purple |
| brown | brown  |      |black  | black  |
| orage | orange |      |black  | black  |
__________________      |black  | black  |
                        |red    | red    |
two big plugs:          |red    | red    |
black                   |red    | red    |
red                     |black  | grey   |
                        |red    | brown  |
                        |black  | orange |
                        |white  | white  |
                        __________________


So, I started measuring:

Code: Select all

dead cherokee:
top left 2x7 connector: two big plugs:
__________________      not traceable
| 0v    | 3.3v   |
| 0v    | 0v     |      right bottom 2x12 connector
| 0v    | 0v     |      __________________
| 0v    | 0v     |      | 0v    | 0v     |
| 0v    | 0v     |      | 0v    | 0v     |
| 0v    | 0v     |      | 0v    | 0v     |
| 0v    | 0v     |      | 0v    | 0v     |
__________________      | 0v    | 0v     |
                        | 0v    | 0v     |
two big plugs:          | 0v    | 0v     |
black                   | 0v    | 0v     |
red                     | 0v    | 0v     |
                        | 0v    | 5v     |
                        | 0v    | 0v     |
                        | 4.5v  | 4.5v   |
                        __________________


Then, I measured a lucent psu I had lying around.

Code: Select all

lucent (off):
top left 2x7 connector: two big plugs:
__________________      not traceable
| 0v    | 3.3v   |     
| 0v    | 0v     |      right bottom 2x12 connector
| 0v    | 0v     |      __________________
| 0v    | 0v     |      | 0v    | 0v     |
| 0v    | 0v     |      | 0v    | 0v     |
| 0v    | 0v     |      | 0v    | 0v     |
| 0v    | 0v     |      | 0v    | 0v     |
__________________      | 0v    | 0v     |
                        | 0v    | 0v     |
two big plugs:          | 0v    | 0v     |
black                   | 0v    | 0v     |
red                     | 0v    | 0v     |
                        | 5v    | 5v     |
                        | 0v    | 0v     |
                        | 3.301v| 3.301v |
                        __________________

There is a difference.
Then, I tried to start the lucent psu. ATX powersupplies can be started by shorting a +5v to the ground. I didn't want to risk shorting things out, so I took a 100ohm resistor.
When I connected the brown wire to the ground (black), the output also dropped to almost ground level, and the voltages went up to:

Code: Select all

lucent (on): (fan not spinning)
top left 2x7 connector: two big plugs:
__________________      not traceable
| 0v    | 3.3v   |
| 23.5v | 23.5v  |      right bottom 2x12 connector
| 0v    | 0v     |      __________________
| 0v    | 0v     |      | 0v    | 3.45v  |
| 23.5v | 23.5v  |      | 0v    | 3.45v  |
| 0v    | 0v     |      | 0v    | 0v     |
| 12.3v | 12.3v  |      | 0v    | 0v     |
__________________      | 0v    | 0v     |
                        | 3.45v | 3.45v  |
two big plugs:          | 3.45v | 3.45v  |
black                   | 3.45v | 3.45v  |
red                     | 0v    | 12v    |
                        | 5v    | 0v     |
                        | 0v    | 0v     |
                        | 3.301v| 3.301v |
                        __________________


Funny enough the voltages went up, but the fan didn't spin. When I connect the brown wire to the ground of the cherokee psu, nothing happens, it really is dead.
Now, I'm not a psu expert, does anyone know what this could be? At least we now have the psu's pinout.
:O2:Toika :O2:Myra :O2:Fiona :Octane:Lisa :Octane:Sandra :Indigo2:Danica :Indy:Giana :O200:Lara :O200: :O200:Iona :O2000:Aida


Return to “SGI: Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yandex [Bot] and 1 guest