Nekochan Net

Official Chat Channel: #nekochan // irc.nekochan.net
It is currently Tue Sep 02, 2014 6:02 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Forum rules


Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 
Author Message
Unread postPosted: Tue Oct 14, 2008 4:48 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 3:06 am
Posts: 13
Hello to everybody :

I have a BIG Problem with my SGI Onyx 2 System, IR2, 8xR10000 16GB , after i execute the command setenv console g0, i always get the the following message
Code:
Testing/Initializing memory ...............             DONE
Copying PROM code to memory ...............             DONE
Discovering local IO ......................             DONE
Discovering NUMAlink connectivity .........
Local hub NUMAlink is down.
*** Local network link down
DONE
Found 1 objects (1 hubs, 0 routers) in 30376 usec
Waiting for peers to complete discovery....             DONE
No other nodes present; becoming global master
Global master is /hw/module/1/slot/n2                                       
Testing/Initializing all memory ...........         DONE                           
Checking partitioning information .........              DONE
No other nodes present; becoming partition master
Reading module NIC ...........          DONE                                   
Loading BASEIO prom .......................              DONE

BASEIO PROM Monitor SGI Version 6.103  built 10:06:29 AM Feb 26, 2002 (BE64)
2 CPUs on 1 nodes found.
Installing PROM Device drivers ............
Installing Graphics Console...

After this system Hangs.

I disconnected the Keyboard and mouse Monotors , from the system [also i connected a serial cable to serial port BUT Nothing
I opened the MSC panel , and i put the dip switch number 6 to ON Position but nothing.

I made POD diagnotics whi is the following:
Code:
BASEIO PROM Monitor SGI Version 6.103  built 10:06:29 AM Feb 26, 2002 (BE64)
2 CPUs on 1 nodes found.
Installing PROM Device drivers ............
Installing Graphics Console...
1A 000: Starting PROM Boot process
1A 000: Using console at /hw/module/1/slot/io1
1B 000: Testing/Initializing memory ...............             DONE
1B 000: Local slave entering slave loop



I dont know what is happening but i cannot use my system

Any Ideas to resolve this problem
How i will reset the PROM values

:Onyx2R: :Indy: :Fuel: :Indy: :Indigo2: :0300:


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Tue Oct 14, 2008 5:33 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 5:29 pm
Posts: 4266
Location: Kamloops, BC
g0? I thought it was always G?

_________________
:Crimson: :Onyx: :O2000: :O200: :O200: :PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Octane: :O2: :1600SW: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Cube:

Image <-------- A very happy forum member.


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Tue Oct 14, 2008 5:46 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2004 10:35 am
Posts: 3867
Location: Wijchen, The Netherlands
CDCA wrote:
...SGI Onyx 2 System, IR2, 8xR10000 16GB ...
Code:
2 CPUs on 1 nodes found.


Have you been swapping nodeboards around or something like that? It seems 3 out of 4 nodeboards have disappeared.
If you can get a (serial) console, you might want to try 'enableall', 'update', and reboot to see if anything is re-enabled.

_________________
Now this is a deep dark secret, so everybody keep it quiet :)
It turns out that when reset, the WD33C93 defaults to a SCSI ID of 0, and it was simpler to leave it that way... -- Dave Olson, in comp.sys.sgi

Currently in commercial service: Image :Onyx2:(2x) :O3x02L:
In the museum: almost every MIPS/IRIX system.
Wanted: GM1 board for Professional Series GT graphics (030-0076-003, 030-0076-004)


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Tue Oct 14, 2008 5:50 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 3:06 am
Posts: 13
this is after i removed 3 boards


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Tue Oct 14, 2008 6:16 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 4:55 pm
Posts: 5199
Location: NC - USA
CDCA wrote:
this is after i removed 3 boards
That might well be your issue. 8xR10000 implies a rack system. The XIO slots in the compute module are enabled by the presence of XIO nodeboards - what XIO slot houses your Xtown?

To enable all 12 XIO slots you need a minimum of two nodeboards installed in slots N1 and N2.

N1 controls XIO slots 1 through 6; when present, N2 controls 7 through 12. Since it looks like the three you removed were N1, N3 and N4,
CDCA wrote:
Code:
Global master is /hw/module/1/slot/n2
your Xtown would need to be located in one of the XIO slots <numercially> higher than 7.

BTW, any particular reason placing for the nodeboard in N2? If possible I'd suggest running a single nodeboard in N1. If there are problems with your compute module I'd also recommend solving those first - your graphics issues may well be a secondary symptom.

_________________
***********************************************************************
Welcome to ARMLand - 0/0x0d00
running...(sherwood-root 0607201829)
* InfiniteReality/Reality Software, IRIX 6.5 Release *
***********************************************************************


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Tue Oct 14, 2008 4:11 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 3:06 am
Posts: 13
How i will reset the PROM from the hardware because it is not possible to type anything the system hangs .. After

Installing Graphics Console


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Tue Oct 14, 2008 5:32 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 4:55 pm
Posts: 5199
Location: NC - USA
CDCA wrote:
How i will reset the PROM from the hardware because it is not possible to type anything the system hangs ..
While it's possible resetting the PROM environment might help, I don't get the impression that's the root cause of your issue. It would appear there are/were problems that preceded the system hanging while attempting to load the graphics console. What occurred that caused you to remove three of the nodeboards <and did any error messages appear then>? What is displayed on the MSC when the system hangs? <and what XIO slot is the Xtown in?>

If there were problem that occurred before those you've addressed in this topic, I'd strongly recommend you examine their potential impact before preceding. Again, my suggestion would be to resolve any issues with the compute module before attempting to diagnose graphics problems.

If you'd prefer to continue, you can attempt to boot directly into POD <power on diagnostics> mode. You already mentioned setting MSC dip switch 6 to on. Setting dip switch 6 "on" should cause the PROM to ignore any variables stored in the PROM log and cause the system to use the default settings. You could also try changing the boot process by means of dip switch 5 <but reset 6 to "off" first>.

The default position for switch 5 is off <which allows the boot process to proceed to the point it attempts to load IRIX>. Setting switch 5 to "on" diverts the boot process at the point where it diverts to the BaseIO PROM and instead switches to cached POD mode. If the problem will allow the process to continue as far as loading POD mode, you could try the following commands:
Code:
initialllogs <enter>
clearalllogs <enter>
clear <enter>
flush <enter>
reset <enter>
Since your Onyx2 seems to hang after the systems switches to the BaseIO PROM:
CDCA wrote:
Code:
BASEIO PROM Monitor SGI Version 6.103  built 10:06:29 AM Feb 26, 2002 (BE64)
2 CPUs on 1 nodes found.
Installing PROM Device drivers ............
Installing Graphics Console...
flushing the POD logs will probably not resolve your issue.

_________________
***********************************************************************
Welcome to ARMLand - 0/0x0d00
running...(sherwood-root 0607201829)
* InfiniteReality/Reality Software, IRIX 6.5 Release *
***********************************************************************


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Wed Oct 15, 2008 6:12 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 3:06 am
Posts: 13
After i put dip switch in Position 5 on the CPU Module , and on POD mode i executed the clearalllogs, flush reset,etc

still i get the same error

Code:
IP27 PROM SGI Version 6.94  built 04:00:43 PM Dec  5, 2001
Testing/Initializing memory ...............             DONE
Copying PROM code to memory ...............             DONE
Discovering local IO ......................             WARNING: xbow_base: 0x9200000000000000 link: 13 Widget present, but link not alive!
WARNING: xbow_base: 0x9200000000000000 link: 13 Widget present, but link not alive!   DONE
Discovering NUMAlink connectivity .........             DONE
Found 6 objects (4 hubs, 2 routers) in 66450 usec
Waiting for peers to complete discovery....             DONE
Recognized 390 MHz midplane
Global master is /hw/module/1/slot/n1                                                 
Testing/Initializing all memory ...........         DONE
waiting for node with nic 345bf5 at module 1 slot 2 at global barrier.......             
Checking partitioning information .........              DONE                             
Loading BASEIO prom .......................              DONE

BASEIO PROM Monitor SGI Version 6.80  built 11:10:35 AM Aug 30, 2001 (BE64)
8 CPUs on 4 nodes found.
Installing PROM Device drivers ............
Installing Graphics Console...


and after computer hangs.


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Wed Oct 15, 2008 6:30 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 4:55 pm
Posts: 5199
Location: NC - USA
CDCA wrote:
After i put dip switch in Position 5 on the CPU Module , and on POD mode i executed the clearalllogs, flush reset,etc
still i get the same error


FWIW, I don't think your issues are going to be solved by resetting the PROM:
Quote:
BTW, any particular reason placing for the nodeboard in N2? If possible I'd suggest running a single nodeboard in N1. If there are problems with your compute module I'd also recommend solving those first - your graphics issues may well be a secondary symptom.


Quote:
While it's possible resetting the PROM environment might help, I don't get the impression that's the root cause of your issue. It would appear there are/were problems that preceded the system hanging while attempting to load the graphics console. What occurred that caused you to remove three of the nodeboards <and did any error messages appear then>? What is displayed on the MSC when the system hangs? <and what XIO slot is the Xtown in?>

If there were problem that occurred before those you've addressed in this topic, I'd strongly recommend you examine their potential impact before preceding. Again, my suggestion would be to resolve any issues with the compute module before attempting to diagnose graphics problems.

_________________
***********************************************************************
Welcome to ARMLand - 0/0x0d00
running...(sherwood-root 0607201829)
* InfiniteReality/Reality Software, IRIX 6.5 Release *
***********************************************************************


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Wed Oct 15, 2008 1:29 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 3:06 am
Posts: 13
after setting the dip switch (3) in Heavy diagnostic mode i take the following :

2A 001: ENTRY 1: ROUTER(166743)
3A 002: Port status: NF
4A 003: ENTRY 1: ROUTER(1603d7)
2A 001: METAID=-1 (-1) Slot=1 Flags=0x20 Route=0x0
3A 002: ENTRY 1: ROUTER(1603d7)
4A 003: METAID=-1 (-1) Slot=2 Flags=0x20 Route=0x0
2A 001: MODULE=0 PARTITION=0 SPACE=RESET
3A 002: METAID=-1 (-1) Slot=2 Flags=0x20 Route=0x0
4A 003: MODULE=0 PARTITION=0 SPACE=RESET
2A 001: Port 1 connection: Not connected
3A 002: MODULE=0 PARTITION=0 SPACE=RESET
4A 003: Port 1 connection: Not connected
2A 001: Port 1 status: DN FE
3A 002: Port 1 connection: Not connected
4A 003: Port 1 status: DN FE
2A 001: Port 2 connection: Not connected
3A 002: Port 1 status: DN FE
4A 003: Port 2 connection: Not connected
2A 001: Port 2 status: DN FE
3A 002: Port 2 connection: Not connected
4A 003: Port 2 status: DN FE
2A 001: Port 3 connection: Not connected
3A 002: Port 2 status: DN FE
4A 003: Port 3 connection: Not connected
2A 001: Port 3 status: DN FE
3A 002: Port 3 connection: Not connected
4A 003: Port 3 status: DN FE
2A 001: Port 4 connection: Entry 0 Hub 345bf5
3A 002: Port 3 status: DN FE
4A 003: Port 4 connection: Entry 0 Hub 349fd0
2A 001: Port 4 status: UP NF
3A 002: Port 4 connection: Entry 2 Hub 349fd0
4A 003: Port 4 status: UP NF
2A 001: Port 5 connection: Entry 2 Hub 33ece4
3A 002: Port 4 status: UP NF
4A 003: Port 5 connection: Entry 2 Hub 384718
2A 001: Port 5 status: UP NF
3A 002: Port 5 connection: Entry 0 Hub 384718
4A 003: Port 5 status: UP NF
2A 001: Port 6 connection: Entry 3 Router 1603d7 port 6
3A 002: Port 5 status: UP NF
4A 003: Port 6 connection: Entry 3 Router 166743 port 6
2A 001: Port 6 status: UP NF
3A 002: Port 6 connection: Entry 3 Router 166743 port 6
4A 003: Port 6 status: UP NF
2A 001: ENTRY 2: HUB(33ece4)
3A 002: Port 6 status: UP NF
4A 003: ENTRY 2: HUB(384718)
2A 001: NASID=0 Mod=1 Slot=1 Flg=0x100000 PROM=6.94 Route=0x5
3A 002: ENTRY 2: HUB(349fd0)
4A 003: NASID=2 Mod=1 Slot=3 Flg=0x0 PROM=6.94 Route=0x5
2A 001: MODULE=1 PARTITION=0 SPACE=RESET
3A 002: NASID=3 Mod=1 Slot=4 Flg=0x400000 PROM=6.94 Route=0x4
4A 003: MODULE=1 PARTITION=0 SPACE=RESET
2A 001: Port 1 connection: Entry 1 Router 166743 port 5
3A 002: MODULE=1 PARTITION=0 SPACE=RESET
4A 003: Port 1 connection: Entry 1 Router 1603d7 port 5
2A 001: Port status: NF
3A 002: Port 1 connection: Entry 1 Router 1603d7 port 4
4A 003: Port status: NF
2A 001: ENTRY 3: ROUTER(1603d7)
3A 002: Port status: NF
4A 003: ENTRY 3: ROUTER(166743)
2A 001: METAID=-1 (-1) Slot=2 Flags=0x20 Route=0x6
3A 002: ENTRY 3: ROUTER(166743)
4A 003: METAID=-1 (-1) Slot=1 Flags=0x20 Route=0x6
2A 001: MODULE=0 PARTITION=0 SPACE=RESET
3A 002: METAID=-1 (-1) Slot=1 Flags=0x20 Route=0x6
4A 003: MODULE=0 PARTITION=0 SPACE=RESET
2A 001: Port 1 connection: Not connected
3A 002: MODULE=0 PARTITION=0 SPACE=RESET
4A 003: Port 1 connection: Not connected
2A 001: Port 1 status: DN FE
3A 002: Port 1 connection: Not connected
4A 003: Port 1 status: DN FE
2A 001: Port 2 connection: Not connected
3A 002: Port 1 status: DN FE
4A 003: Port 2 connection: Not connected
2A 001: Port 2 status: DN FE
3A 002: Port 2 connection: Not connected
4A 003: Port 2 status: DN FE
2A 001: Port 3 connection: Not connected
3A 002: Port 2 status: DN FE
4A 003: Port 3 connection: Not connected
1B 000: CPU B flushing cache
2A 001: Port 3 status: DN FE
3A 002: Port 3 connection: Not connected
4A 003: Port 3 status: DN FE
2A 001: Port 4 connection: Entry 4 Hub 349fd0
3A 002: Port 3 status: DN FE
4A 003: Port 4 connection: Entry 4 Hub 345bf5
2A 001: Port 4 status: UP NF
3A 002: Port 4 connection: Entry 4 Hub 345bf5
4A 003: Port 4 status: UP NF
2A 001: Port 5 connection: Entry 5 Hub 384718
3A 002: Port 4 status: UP NF
4A 003: Port 5 connection: Entry 5 Hub 33ece4
2A 001: Port 5 status: UP NF
3A 002: Port 5 connection: Entry 5 Hub 33ece4
4A 003: Port 5 status: UP NF
2A 001: Port 6 connection: Entry 1 Router 166743 port 6
3A 002: Port 5 status: UP NF
4A 003: Port 6 connection: Entry 1 Router 1603d7 port 6
2A 001: Port 6 status: UP NF
3A 002: Port 6 connection: Entry 1 Router 1603d7 port 6
4A 003: Port 6 status: UP NF
2A 001: ENTRY 4: HUB(349fd0)
3A 002: Port 6 status: UP NF
4A 003: ENTRY 4: HUB(345bf5)
2A 001: NASID=3 Mod=1 Slot=4 Flg=0x400000 PROM=6.94 Route=0x46
3A 002: ENTRY 4: HUB(345bf5)
4A 003: NASID=1 Mod=1 Slot=2 Flg=0x0 PROM=6.94 Route=0x46
2A 001: MODULE=1 PARTITION=0 SPACE=RESET
3A 002: NASID=1 Mod=1 Slot=2 Flg=0x0 PROM=6.94 Route=0x46
4A 003: MODULE=1 PARTITION=0 SPACE=RESET
2A 001: Port 1 connection: Entry 3 Router 1603d7 port 4
3A 002: MODULE=1 PARTITION=0 SPACE=RESET
4A 003: Port 1 connection: Entry 3 Router 166743 port 4
2A 001: Port status: NF
3A 002: Port 1 connection: Entry 3 Router 166743 port 4
4A 003: Port status: NF
2A 001: ENTRY 5: HUB(384718)
3A 002: Port status: NF
4A 003: ENTRY 5: HUB(33ece4)
2A 001: NASID=2 Mod=1 Slot=3 Flg=0x0 PROM=6.94 Route=0x56
3A 002: ENTRY 5: HUB(33ece4)
4A 003: NASID=0 Mod=1 Slot=1 Flg=0x100000 PROM=6.94 Route=0x56
2A 001: MODULE=1 PARTITION=0 SPACE=RESET
3A 002: NASID=0 Mod=1 Slot=1 Flg=0x100000 PROM=6.94 Route=0x56
4A 003: MODULE=1 PARTITION=0 SPACE=RESET
2A 001: Port 1 connection: Entry 3 Router 1603d7 port 5
3A 002: MODULE=1 PARTITION=0 SPACE=RESET
4A 003: Port 1 connection: Entry 3 Router 166743 port 5
2A 001: Port status: NF
3A 002: Port 1 connection: Entry 3 Router 166743 port 5
4A 003: Port status: NF
2A 001: nasid 1 Reading peer hub nasid: 0x9200000121600000
3A 002: Port status: NF
4A 003: nasid 3 Reading peer hub nasid: 0x9200000321600000
2A 001: xbow_update: slave xbow 0x9600000100004bf0 master xbow 0x9600000300004bf0
3A 002: nasid 2 Reading peer hub nasid: 0x9200000221600000
4A 003: xbow_update: updating slave nasid 1 on link 10
2B 001: CPU B flushing cache
3A 002: xbow_update: slave xbow 0x9600000200004bf0 master xbow 0x9600000000004bf0
4B 003: CPU B flushing cache
2A 001: CPU A flushing cache
4A 003: CPU A flushing cache
2A 001: Global barrier (line 5337) > Waiting for master set: index 2, nic 0x33ece4,
4A 003: Global barrier (line 5337) > Waiting for master set: index 5, nic 0x33ece4,
2A 001: nasid 0
4A 003: nasid 0
3A 002: *** ROUTER MFG NIC Part:030-0841-002;Name:ROUTER-IR1;Serial:ESH639;Revision:
3A 002: H;Group:ff;Capability:ffffffff;Variety:ff;Laser:0000001603d7;
3B 002: CPU B flushing cache
3A 002: CPU A flushing cache
3A 002: Global barrier (line 5337) > Waiting for master set: index 5, nic 0x33ece4,
3A 002: nasid 0
4A 003: > Waiting for master clear: index 5, nic 0x33ece4, nasid 0
2A 001: > Waiting for master clear: index 2, nic 0x33ece4, nasid 0
3A 002: > Waiting for master clear: index 5, nic 0x33ece4, nasid 0
3A 002:Global barrier passed.
3B 002: Local slave entering slave loop
3A 002: Local master entering slave loop
4A 003:Global barrier passed.
2A 001:Global barrier passed.
4B 003: Local slave entering slave loop
2B 001: Local slave entering slave loop
4A 003: Local master entering slave loop
1B 000: Local slave entering slave loop
2A 001: Local master entering slave loop


what mean Local master entering slave loop ?
There is located the problem


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Thu Oct 16, 2008 12:14 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2004 10:35 am
Posts: 3867
Location: Wijchen, The Netherlands
CDCA wrote:
Code:
WARNING: xbow_base: 0x9200000000000000 link: 13 Widget present, but link not alive!

I've seen this once or twice, and I it was due to a bad compression connector. Compression connectors are incredibly fragile, even touching them can damage them beyond repair.

If you've got 4 nodeboards talking to each other, but no graphics, the likely suspect would be the compression connector of the Ktown board. But it's probably a good idea to look up which XIO slot corresponds to link 13 before jumping to conclusions.

Fortunately, it's possible to replace these connectors. All you need is the cheapest XIO option you can find, like an XIO scsi board or an Octane SI / SE graphics board.

_________________
Now this is a deep dark secret, so everybody keep it quiet :)
It turns out that when reset, the WD33C93 defaults to a SCSI ID of 0, and it was simpler to leave it that way... -- Dave Olson, in comp.sys.sgi

Currently in commercial service: Image :Onyx2:(2x) :O3x02L:
In the museum: almost every MIPS/IRIX system.
Wanted: GM1 board for Professional Series GT graphics (030-0076-003, 030-0076-004)


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Thu Oct 16, 2008 3:50 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 3:06 am
Posts: 13
In this moment when i received the following message the IR was closed.


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Thu Oct 16, 2008 5:33 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2004 10:35 am
Posts: 3867
Location: Wijchen, The Netherlands
Well, for one thing, that trace you posted shows a lot of output from nodeboard 2 .. 4 (prefixed 2A .. 4A), but nothing from 1A, and only one message from 1B, which isn't normal. If you swap nodeboards 1 and 4, do you get output from 1A .. 3A, but not 4A (i.e. does the error move with the nodeboard)?

Quote:
what mean Local master entering slave loop ?
There is located the problem

With nodeboard #1 down, #2 will become the local master. It doesn't have the console though, so it goes into slave loop. If you had another compute module craylinked to this one you could (probably) still access your working nodeboards.

For reference, here's a trace of another Onyx2, a deskside with 2 good nodeboards but a broken IO6G. Here too you end up with a headless node:
Code:
1A 000: Starting PROM Boot process
2A 000: Starting PROM Boot process
1A 000:
1A 000:
1A 000: IP27 PROM SGI Version 6.156  built 11:27:56 AM Nov 18, 2003
2A 000: WARNING: xbow_base: 0x9200000000000000 link: 15 Widget present, but link not
1A 000: *** Warning: MSC debug (dbg) switches are non-zero
2A 000:  alive!
1A 000: *** Diag level set to None (2)
2A 000: WARNING: xbow_base: 0x9200000000000000 link: 15 Widget present, but link not
2A 000:  alive!
2A 000:
2A 000:
2A 000: IP27 PROM SGI Version 6.156  built 11:27:56 AM Nov 18, 2003
2A 000: *** Warning: MSC debug (dbg) switches are non-zero
2A 000: *** Diag level set to None (2)
1A 000: Testing/Initializing memory ...............             DONE
1B 000: Testing/Initializing memory ...............             DONE
2A 000: Testing/Initializing memory ...............             DONE
2B 000: Testing/Initializing memory ...............             DONE
1A 000: Copying PROM code to memory ...............             DONE
2A 000: Copying PROM code to memory ...............             DONE
1A 000: Discovering local IO ......................             WARNING: xbow_base: 0x920000000
1A 000: 0000000 link: 15 Widget present, but link not alive!
1A 000: DONE
2A 000: Discovering local IO ......................             WARNING: xbow_base: 0x920000000
1A 000: Discovering NUMAlink connectivity .........             DONE
2A 000: 0000000 link: 15 Widget present, but link not alive!
1A 000: Found 3 objects (2 hubs, 1 routers) in 66354 usec
2A 000: WARNING: xbow_base: 0x9200000000000000 link: 15 Widget present, but link not
2A 000:  alive!
2A 000: DONE
2A 000: Discovering NUMAlink connectivity .........             DONE
2A 000: Found 3 objects (2 hubs, 1 routers) in 1781 usec
2A 000: Waiting for peers to complete discovery....             DONE
2A 000: Recognized 390 MHz midplane
2A 000: *** Global master /hw/module/1/slot/n2 does not have a console
2A 000: Global master is /hw/module/1/slot/n2
1A 000: Waiting for peers to complete discovery....             DONE
1A 000: Recognized 390 MHz midplane
1A 000: *** Global master /hw/module/1/slot/n2 does not have a console
1A 000: Global master is /hw/module/1/slot/n2
2A 0001A 0Testing/Initializing all memory ...........           DONE
2A 001:Testing/Initializing all memory ...........              DONE
1A 000:Checking partitioning information .........              DONE
1A 000: *** Partition master /hw/module/1/slot/n2 does not have a console
2A 001:Checking partitioning information .........              DONE
2A 001: *** Partition master /hw/module/1/slot/n2 does not have a console
1A 000: nic_read_mfg: invalid crc16 reading redirection map page 3
1B 000: Local slave entering slave loop
1A 000:Local master entering slave loop
2B 001: Local slave entering slave loop
2A 001:*** No console found. Searching for console...
2A 001: *** No console found. You need a console to proceed.
2A 001: *** To recover: Add a BASEIO board and reset.
2A 001:
2A 001: *** Entering POD mode on node 1
2A 001: POD MSC Cac>



Also not good, but probably not the cause of your problems: you've got firmware rev 6.94 on your nodeboards, and your base I/O had rev 6.103 first and 6.80 later. Those are old (6.156 is current) and don't match so apparently you've been swapping parts. Anything else you wish to share with us that could help?

_________________
Now this is a deep dark secret, so everybody keep it quiet :)
It turns out that when reset, the WD33C93 defaults to a SCSI ID of 0, and it was simpler to leave it that way... -- Dave Olson, in comp.sys.sgi

Currently in commercial service: Image :Onyx2:(2x) :O3x02L:
In the museum: almost every MIPS/IRIX system.
Wanted: GM1 board for Professional Series GT graphics (030-0076-003, 030-0076-004)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: ONYX 2 Reset PROM
Unread postPosted: Mon Oct 20, 2008 5:15 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 3:06 am
Posts: 13
HELLO

how i will reset the PROM on my SGI ONYX 2 machine , and to clear all the data (regarding Console e.t.c).

For sure i cannot enter to the PROM Monitor.

Any ideas?

:Onyx2R: :Indy: :Fuel: :Indy: :Indigo2: :0300:


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Wed Oct 22, 2008 6:13 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 21, 2004 3:47 am
Posts: 426
Location: Flynn's Arcade
hmmm....didnt you recognize that the former posters told you that clearing the prom will NOT solve your problem.

_________________
no plan


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group