N.I.C. (number in a can) modual

SGI hardware problems, solutions, tips, hacks, etc.
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
bjames
Posts: 108
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2007 10:09 am
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

N.I.C. (number in a can) modual

Unread postby bjames » Fri Nov 30, 2007 1:11 pm

Anyone know if you can transfer the NIC from an octane into a Fuel?
:O2: :Octane: :1600SW:

User avatar
pinball_0
Posts: 206
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2007 3:06 am
Location: North Liberty, IA

Re: M.I.C. (number in a can) modual

Unread postby pinball_0 » Sun Dec 02, 2007 6:29 am

well I answered my own question and have yours too...

first it is on a 8 pin plug in DIP ic at j301 next to the DALLAS RAM and it is socketed

second here s the data sheet... you cant reprogram it :(

http://www.atmel.com/dyn/resources/prod ... /2022s.pdf

but if one gets a "new" one and follows the programming info and knows exactly what data needs to be there... there you go.

and here is a photo of the one from my fuel that is reporting sn 123456789ABC
snchip.JPG






SO the answer is NO - not with the DALLAS sn chip in the octane.. FUEL is different.
:Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Fuel: :Fuel: :Fuel: :320: :PI: :PI: <- PFile:Indy:
:O2: :1600SW: :O2: :1600SW: :Octane2: :Octane: :Octane: :Octane: :Onyx2: :O2000R:

Amiga 4000 060 & PPC HiFlyer with toaster/flyer
Amiga 1200HD40
Mac Intel imac 24inch (dual 3 G), MacG4 Quicksilver 2002 w Dual 1.8G (LEOPARD)
MacBook Pro 17 C2D, MacBook 13 unibody
G4 GigE Dual 500 (TIGER/OS9), imac G3 (PANTHER)

Sun Ultra 60, SunBlade 2000 Dual 1G (SOLARIS 10)

PC Gateway DualCore, and other lowly PC's (laptops)
Qube3, RaQ4's,Audiotron,Magnia

User avatar
tillin9
Posts: 591
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2007 8:39 pm
Location: New York, NY / Westport, CT / #mupen64plus on freenode

Re: M.I.C. (number in a can) modual

Unread postby tillin9 » Sun Dec 02, 2007 7:17 am

Wow, that cryptomemory is some neat stuff. My first instinct was that you could get a 2K SEEPROM and fake it, but I don't think thats possible since the chip doesn't use I2C protocol. A small PIC probably could work as an easier to implement stand-in.

Assuming SGI didn't just use it as PROM and uses the encrypted ATR protocol, you'd need to at least need to log the datastream sent to the module and do some cracking to figure out what the right bits are to send. The encryption seems to be 64-bit, which could be rather painful (DES is only 56) depending on the implementation.

Probably best to call the company and ask for relicensing, if possible.

User avatar
hamei
Posts: 10433
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 4:10 pm
Location: over the rainbow

Re: M.I.C. (number in a can) modual

Unread postby hamei » Sun Dec 02, 2007 11:00 am

tillin9 wrote:Probably best to call the company and ask for relicensing, if possible.

tillin, some times you crack me up :D :D :D

User avatar
pinball_0
Posts: 206
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2007 3:06 am
Location: North Liberty, IA

Re: M.I.C. (number in a can) modual

Unread postby pinball_0 » Sat Jan 12, 2008 8:57 am

I've aborted trying to "crack" this on the fuel as it also turns out to have a protection system that diasbles the chip if too many attempts to modify without "proper" authorization.

so---- there ya go
:Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Fuel: :Fuel: :Fuel: :320: :PI: :PI: <- PFile:Indy:
:O2: :1600SW: :O2: :1600SW: :Octane2: :Octane: :Octane: :Octane: :Onyx2: :O2000R:

Amiga 4000 060 & PPC HiFlyer with toaster/flyer
Amiga 1200HD40
Mac Intel imac 24inch (dual 3 G), MacG4 Quicksilver 2002 w Dual 1.8G (LEOPARD)
MacBook Pro 17 C2D, MacBook 13 unibody
G4 GigE Dual 500 (TIGER/OS9), imac G3 (PANTHER)

Sun Ultra 60, SunBlade 2000 Dual 1G (SOLARIS 10)

PC Gateway DualCore, and other lowly PC's (laptops)
Qube3, RaQ4's,Audiotron,Magnia


Return to “SGI: Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 2 guests