O2 Power problem

SGI hardware problems, solutions, tips, hacks, etc.
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
zizban
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1373
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2003 5:59 pm
Location: Cheshire, MA
Contact:

O2 Power problem

Unread postby zizban » Mon Jul 02, 2007 6:37 pm

In the last couple of days, I've noticed a problem with my O2. I shut it down normally, no problem but now when I try to start it up the power light turns yellow but nothing else happens. No display, nothing. It'll stay yellow for hours if I let it. Do I have a bad power supply?

anotheradamdickson
Posts: 240
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2007 11:19 pm

Re: O2 Power problem

Unread postby anotheradamdickson » Mon Jul 02, 2007 8:58 pm

zizban wrote:In the last couple of days, I've noticed a problem with my O2. I shut it down normally, no problem but now when I try to start it up the power light turns yellow but nothing else happens. No display, nothing. It'll stay yellow for hours if I let it. Do I have a bad power supply?


For me it was 'always' the main board when that happened, when it was the PS would stay red or nothing
(however in total around 8 O2's have passed through my passed, about half with PS/mainboard problems)
I think often with bad mainboards the O2 (or maybe Octane it's 'been awhile') would also sometimes power up right away
and act stoned thereafter

The LED changing color would imply the CPU is at least doing something, and then halting on error or crashing

Right guys ????
Or is it that the light turns orange on power good, and then the CPU changes it from there

Welp, either way a bad PS never kept the light orange for me, my I've only played with a little more then a half dozen

Also, I've gone through way more boards then PS's

User avatar
recondas
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5441
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 5:55 pm
Location: NC - USA

Re: O2 Power problem

Unread postby recondas » Tue Jul 03, 2007 3:54 am

zizban wrote:In the last couple of days, I've noticed a problem with my O2. I shut it down normally, no problem but now when I try to start it up the power light turns yellow but nothing else happens. No display, nothing. It'll stay yellow for hours if I let it. Do I have a bad power supply?


Have you tried to jumpstart it? <see Shadeof Blue's post for details>
***********************************************************************
Welcome to ARMLand - 0/0x0d00
running...(sherwood-root 0607201829)
* InfiniteReality/Reality Software, IRIX 6.5 Release *
***********************************************************************

User avatar
zizban
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1373
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2003 5:59 pm
Location: Cheshire, MA
Contact:

Re: O2 Power problem

Unread postby zizban » Tue Jul 03, 2007 3:05 pm

Have you tried placing that little jumper in front of the Dallas chip into ON position?


Color me an idiot. Where do I find it?

User avatar
recondas
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5441
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 5:55 pm
Location: NC - USA

Re: O2 Power problem

Unread postby recondas » Tue Jul 03, 2007 3:39 pm

zizban wrote:
Have you tried placing that little jumper in front of the Dallas chip into ON position?


Color me an idiot. Where do I find it?

If you hold the logic board and carrier in the same position it would be in if installed, and look straight down past the memory slots towards the PCI riser slot, the Dallas chip is the black rectangle that runs parallel to the riser slot. The jumper is between you and the Dallas chip, *right* next to the Dallas chip.

If you remove the PCI riser and lay the carrier down with the logic board facing up <with the memory slots to the left and the i/o panel facing you>, the Dallas chip is right behind the serial ports but before the Adaptec chip. The jumper is immediately to the left of the Dallas chip. On the logic boards I have, the words "PWR-UP" are silkscreened on the logic board next to the jumper.

You can see it in this photo from the nekochan O2 gallery - the jumper is on the bottom left just to the right of the the Dallas chip:
PWR-UP_jumper.jpg
***********************************************************************
Welcome to ARMLand - 0/0x0d00
running...(sherwood-root 0607201829)
* InfiniteReality/Reality Software, IRIX 6.5 Release *
***********************************************************************

User avatar
zizban
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1373
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2003 5:59 pm
Location: Cheshire, MA
Contact:

Re: O2 Power problem

Unread postby zizban » Tue Jul 03, 2007 4:17 pm

One of the jumpers was covered, the other not. After I do the rebooting do I put the jumper back on that one pin or leave it off?

User avatar
zizban
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1373
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2003 5:59 pm
Location: Cheshire, MA
Contact:

Re: O2 Power problem

Unread postby zizban » Tue Jul 03, 2007 4:31 pm

Hmm, can't jump start it. Took out the jumper, rebooted, still just the yellow light.

SAQ
Posts: 5871
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 8:37 am
Location: Renton, WA

Re: O2 Power problem

Unread postby SAQ » Tue Jul 03, 2007 6:17 pm

At this point I'd say check to make sure that your PSU is on-spec for all channels. If one rail is up, but another isn't where it's supposed to be you can get odd behavior like this, with some parts "not on" but others obviously running. Does your O2 come up with green first and then change to yellow or does it go to yellow straightaway? (never worked with IP32).
"Brakes??? What Brakes???"

"I am O SH-- the Great and Powerful"

:Indigo: :Octane: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :PI: :O3x0: :ChallengeL: :O2000R: (single-CM)

User avatar
zizban
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1373
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2003 5:59 pm
Location: Cheshire, MA
Contact:

Re: O2 Power problem

Unread postby zizban » Tue Jul 03, 2007 6:24 pm

Just goes to yellow.

User avatar
recondas
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5441
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 5:55 pm
Location: NC - USA

Re: O2 Power problem

Unread postby recondas » Tue Jul 03, 2007 6:28 pm

zizban wrote:Hmm, can't jump start it.

It might not work, but -

zizban wrote:Took out the jumper, rebooted, still just the yellow light.

The jumper should not be placed over both pins of the header for normal operation.

To jumpstart the system:
*Disconnect the power cord* - Then remove the logic board carrier.
Place the jumper across both pins.
Re-install the logic board carrier assembly into the O2.
Plug in the power cord - the system should power up as soon as power is connected.
Stop in the PROM command monitor - type off <enter> -the system should power down.
*Disconnect the power cord* - Then remove the logic board carrier.
Remove the jumper and place it on only one of the two header pins.
Re-install the logic board carrier assembly into the O2.
Reconnect the power cord and test for normal start up.
***********************************************************************
Welcome to ARMLand - 0/0x0d00
running...(sherwood-root 0607201829)
* InfiniteReality/Reality Software, IRIX 6.5 Release *
***********************************************************************

User avatar
zizban
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1373
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2003 5:59 pm
Location: Cheshire, MA
Contact:

Re: O2 Power problem

Unread postby zizban » Tue Jul 03, 2007 6:32 pm

Ah a step by step...let me try it (I just put the O2 up in a shelf for storage)

User avatar
zizban
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1373
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2003 5:59 pm
Location: Cheshire, MA
Contact:

Re: O2 Power problem

Unread postby zizban » Tue Jul 03, 2007 6:47 pm

Still only a yellow light..bummer.

SAQ
Posts: 5871
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 8:37 am
Location: Renton, WA

Re: O2 Power problem

Unread postby SAQ » Wed Jul 04, 2007 10:35 am

Grab your meter and make sure you have at least the +5v and +3.3v in spec. The way all of my SGIs (IP12, 20, 22, 24, 28, 30) work is that on powerup the front LED goes green and then the CPU switches it over to yellow when it starts running the POSTs.
"Brakes??? What Brakes???"

"I am O SH-- the Great and Powerful"

:Indigo: :Octane: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :PI: :O3x0: :ChallengeL: :O2000R: (single-CM)


Return to “SGI: Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests