Onyx 2 IR3 Resolution Issue with 2 RM's installed

SGI hardware problems, solutions, tips, hacks, etc.
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
jebmayers
Posts: 107
Joined: Tue May 10, 2016 11:13 pm
Location: Oxfordshire, UK

Re: Onyx 2 IR3 dual pipe Resolution Issue

Unread postby jebmayers » Sat Aug 12, 2017 9:26 am

I am not sure the thread description is correct at the moment to be honest, I think it is a dual raster manager issue not a dual pipe issue. As I understand it, a single graphics pipe is 1xGE, 1-4xRMs and a DG. A second pipe would consist of another GE,1-4xRMs and DG.

I am sure someone will correct me if I am wrong, I have never seen a dual pipe setup before. Presumably this could run in an SLIesque AFR configuration.

Jeb

User avatar
Irinikus
Posts: 207
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2016 4:25 am
Location: Cape Town, South Africa

Re: Onyx 2 IR3 Resolution Issue with 2 RM's installed

Unread postby Irinikus » Sat Aug 12, 2017 9:31 am

You have a point there, I will correct it.
:Onyx2: Quad R14K 500MHz, IR3 :Tezro: Quad R16K 700MHz, 8MB, V12, DCD, DM3 :Octane2: Dual R14K 600MHz, V12 :O2: R12K 400MHz :Indigo: R4400SC 150MHz, ELAN
:320: Dual 1GHz PIII :Indigo2: R4400SC 200MHz, Extreme :Indy: R4400SC 200MHz, XZ :Indy: R5000SC 150MHz, 24Bit XL.
SUN: JavaStation-10 (Krups), XVR-4000.
DEC: AlphaStation 255/300MHz.
Cray: Cray1: Memory Module, Cray2: Memory Module (complete stack of eight boards) and a power supply module, Cray3: ECL Module.
Apple: G3 Clamshell, G4 Sawtooth, G4 Quicksilver, G4 Mirror Doors, G5, Mac Pro 2013 (Trash can), 27 inch Cinema Display.
IBM: 486 DX-4 100MHz, 32Mb RAM, Creative Soundblaster 16-Bit, 1.44 Mb Disk drive, Creative 4X CD-ROM, 520Mb HDD.
Alienware: Aurora 7500.
Gaming Rig: Coolermaster Cosmos II, Coolermaster Ultimate 1100W Power supply, Asus Rampage III extreme, I7 980X, Corsair H100, 24Gb Corsair Dominator DDR3, EVGA GTX Titan X Super Clocked Edition, OCZ revodrive 3 x2 240gb, Velociraptor 600GB, Corsair 128GB SSD, Creative X-fi Fatality Pro.

jebmayers
Posts: 107
Joined: Tue May 10, 2016 11:13 pm
Location: Oxfordshire, UK

Re: Onyx 2 IR3 Resolution Issue with 2 RM's installed

Unread postby jebmayers » Sat Aug 12, 2017 10:00 am

I am hoping to get a dual pipe Onyx2 rack soon - I have been trying to get one shipped for a while now, I have a nice place for it all organised next to my Onyx rack. I can't wait to see what 2 pipes can do!

User avatar
Irinikus
Posts: 207
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2016 4:25 am
Location: Cape Town, South Africa

Re: Onyx 2 IR3 Resolution Issue with 2 RM's installed

Unread postby Irinikus » Sat Aug 12, 2017 10:07 am

That sounds awesome!

Those Onyx2 racks are awesome looking pieces of equipment!

I will also be interested to now exactly how those systems work with their dual DG's? (how are they configured?)
:Onyx2: Quad R14K 500MHz, IR3 :Tezro: Quad R16K 700MHz, 8MB, V12, DCD, DM3 :Octane2: Dual R14K 600MHz, V12 :O2: R12K 400MHz :Indigo: R4400SC 150MHz, ELAN
:320: Dual 1GHz PIII :Indigo2: R4400SC 200MHz, Extreme :Indy: R4400SC 200MHz, XZ :Indy: R5000SC 150MHz, 24Bit XL.
SUN: JavaStation-10 (Krups), XVR-4000.
DEC: AlphaStation 255/300MHz.
Cray: Cray1: Memory Module, Cray2: Memory Module (complete stack of eight boards) and a power supply module, Cray3: ECL Module.
Apple: G3 Clamshell, G4 Sawtooth, G4 Quicksilver, G4 Mirror Doors, G5, Mac Pro 2013 (Trash can), 27 inch Cinema Display.
IBM: 486 DX-4 100MHz, 32Mb RAM, Creative Soundblaster 16-Bit, 1.44 Mb Disk drive, Creative 4X CD-ROM, 520Mb HDD.
Alienware: Aurora 7500.
Gaming Rig: Coolermaster Cosmos II, Coolermaster Ultimate 1100W Power supply, Asus Rampage III extreme, I7 980X, Corsair H100, 24Gb Corsair Dominator DDR3, EVGA GTX Titan X Super Clocked Edition, OCZ revodrive 3 x2 240gb, Velociraptor 600GB, Corsair 128GB SSD, Creative X-fi Fatality Pro.

jebmayers
Posts: 107
Joined: Tue May 10, 2016 11:13 pm
Location: Oxfordshire, UK

Re: Onyx 2 IR3 Resolution Issue with 2 RM's installed

Unread postby jebmayers » Sat Aug 12, 2017 10:13 am

Irinikus wrote:I will also be interested to now exactly how those systems work with their dual DG's? (how are they configured?)


Yeah, me too!


Return to “SGI: Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest