Nekochan Net

Official Chat Channel: #nekochan // irc.nekochan.net
It is currently Thu Jul 31, 2014 5:43 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Forum rules


Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 129 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 5, 6, 7, 8, 9
Author Message
Unread postPosted: Wed May 16, 2012 6:05 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2010 1:47 pm
Posts: 347
Location: Texas
kubatyszko wrote:
Found it - Xdmx - http://dmx.sourceforge.net/
Note I've never tested that, I only remember I was researching for some alternative to synergy (not allowed at work for security reasons), and found Xdmx (which I don't use anyway).
The only trick - I'm not sure if it's available under ARM...


Very interesting. ARM support, resolutions and lack of current development might be an issue. But very cool project!

One thought though; it's not just about remoting the apps from a single nodes and viewing them on displays connected to the other nodes. We actually want to spread the computational load also and leverage all the nodes properly. I guess one could do both things; have the control node use Xdmx and then still employ the load balancer to run tasks on different nodes but have them redirected back to the master. When they show up they could be moved around the large virtual desktop, but they would not be using the control node's CPU. Hmmm....

_________________
--
:Octane2: :O2: :O2: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Fuel: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP:


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Wed May 16, 2012 7:22 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 3:18 am
Posts: 330
Location: Tokyo
What you really need is hot code migration to another machine while the app is running (provided you don't want to kill it) - as much as awesome would that be - I think this is available only in the very high-end cluster solutions/mainframes...

_________________
[click for links to hinv] JP: :Fuel: |:Octane2: |:O2: | :Indy: || PL: [ :Fuel: :O2: :O2+: :Indy: ]


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Wed May 16, 2012 7:24 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2010 1:47 pm
Posts: 347
Location: Texas
kubatyszko wrote:
What you really need is hot code migration to another machine while the app is running (provided you don't want to kill it) - as much as awesome would that be - I think this is available only in the very high-end cluster solutions/mainframes...


Or VMotion... and by the way, XenServer is being ported to ARM with Pandaboard support. Don't know ETA though.

Xen's xm migrate would do it too. But now we're getting into issues of hypervisor overhead on a relatively modest processor...

_________________
--
:Octane2: :O2: :O2: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Fuel: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP:


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Wed May 16, 2012 1:31 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 7:54 pm
Posts: 1243
Location: Berkeley, CA, USA, NA, Earth, Sol
sgifanatic wrote:
kubatyszko wrote:
What you really need is hot code migration to another machine while the app is running...

Or VMotion... and by the way, XenServer is being ported to ARM with Pandaboard support. Don't know ETA though.

Xen's xm migrate would do it too. But now we're getting into issues of hypervisor overhead on a relatively modest processor...

That's not what you want. What you want is transparent UNIX process migration from one host to another. It's been done on commodity workstations*, but (so far as I know) only on research operating systems. Though MOSIX might've had something like this, which I guess goes back to the cluster comment...


* Just a handy way to refer to "pizza box" workstations like the early SPARCstations, MIPS DECstations, etc.

_________________
Then? :IRIS3130: ... Now? :O3x02L: :A3504L:- :A3502L: :1600SW:+MLA :Fuel: :Octane2: :Octane: :Indigo2IMP: ... Other: DEC :BA213: :BA123: Sun, DG AViiON, NeXT :Cube:


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Wed May 16, 2012 2:33 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2003 1:07 am
Posts: 4226
Location: Rosario / Santa Fe / República Argentina
sgifanatic wrote:
Would love to hear your thoughts!


Very impressive!, and I like it a lot!
You know that some people heres bites his lips to keep from screaming, "-Build it in series!" :)

Performance looks very well. Is that an Inventor View session, for the hypercube 3D logo? Any chance to look at it doing anything 2D/3D CAD related? What kind of apps are readily built for ARM? Are Ubuntu's repos same of standard for the ARM platform than for AMD64 and i386? (Sorry, never tried anything ARM related at all.)

If you happen to run short of ideas at any rate :P, I would suggest something like Blender, FreeCAD, or even AOI (Art Of Illusion), K3D, Misfit, etc. doing some interactive modelling!

So, summarizing, looks wonderful!

_________________
Oh!, let me write that!

https://www.facebook.com/GeekTronix
https://geekli.st/GeekTronixShop
https://www.rebelmouse.com/GeekTronixShop/
http://twitter.com/GeekTronixShop
http://www.youtube.com/GeekTronixStream


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Wed May 16, 2012 2:42 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2010 1:47 pm
Posts: 347
Location: Texas
GeneratriX wrote:

Very impressive!, and I like it a lot!
You know that some people heres bites his lips to keep from screaming, "-Build it in series!" :)


I am planning on building 10 more units. I have received some interest on PM from a few nekochanners. If anyone would like to sign up to get one, please let me know. You can PM me if you like.

GeneratriX wrote:
Performance looks very well. Is that an Inventor View session, for the hypercube 3D logo? Any chance to look at it doing anything 2D/3D CAD related? What kind of apps are readily built for ARM? Are Ubuntu's repos same of standard for the ARM platform than for AMD64 and i386? (Sorry, never tried anything ARM related at all.)


That SGI logo was a video, but I will be running CAD sw and doing another video with a lot more software demos and also views of the case from different angles etc.

Actually Ubuntu support for ARM is pretty darn good and there are a ton of apps available for it. The best part is that the Ubuntu software repository works, so you can simply browse for apps appstore style and double click to install most of them. For stuff in the Canonical sw repository, there's no need to build or cross compile or anything painful like that.


GeneratriX wrote:
If you happen to run short of ideas at any rate :P, I would suggest something like Blender, FreeCAD, or even AOI (Art Of Illusion), K3D, Misfit, etc. doing some interactive modelling!


I'll see what CAD sw I can find and will run it to verify.

GeneratriX wrote:
So, summarizing, looks wonderful!


That means a lot! Thank you!

_________________
--
:Octane2: :O2: :O2: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Fuel: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP:


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Thu May 17, 2012 12:52 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 11:32 am
Posts: 353
Location: Finland
sgifanatic wrote:
Thanks! Sure if you can make the image for the Pandaboard ES available for download, I'll give it another shot...


I used SDcreate to make this image, and used the files from the zip that should work with PandaBoard ES. I can not make claims it works though, as have no way to test myself.

Edit: removed as did not work either...


Last edited by theinonen on Sat May 19, 2012 11:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sat May 19, 2012 4:04 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2003 1:07 am
Posts: 4226
Location: Rosario / Santa Fe / República Argentina
sgifanatic wrote:
I'll see what CAD sw I can find and will run it to verify.


Very nice, have a good week end!
All the best,
Diego

_________________
Oh!, let me write that!

https://www.facebook.com/GeekTronix
https://geekli.st/GeekTronixShop
https://www.rebelmouse.com/GeekTronixShop/
http://twitter.com/GeekTronixShop
http://www.youtube.com/GeekTronixStream


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sat May 19, 2012 5:39 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2010 1:47 pm
Posts: 347
Location: Texas
theinonen wrote:
sgifanatic wrote:
Thanks! Sure if you can make the image for the Pandaboard ES available for download, I'll give it another shot...


I used SDcreate to make this image, and used the files from the zip that should work with PandaBoard ES. I can not make claims it works though, as have no way to test myself.

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/79874145/SDimage.zip


Sadly, this did not work either. I think I am giving up on RiscOS.

_________________
--
:Octane2: :O2: :O2: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Fuel: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP:


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 129 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 5, 6, 7, 8, 9

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group